Jump to content


Photo

Making Xbmc Your Dashboard On A Softmoded Xbox


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 08 June 2005 - 08:06 PM

This is for those who have used one of Krayzie´s UXE/NDURE installers.

The once covered here are:

* Krayzie_007_UXE_Installer_Dutch-English_v2.8

* Krayzie_MA_UXE_Installer_Dutch-English_v2.8

and

* Krayzie_SC_UXE_Installer_Dutch-English_v2.8

(The same goes for the NDURE installers)


When you used this, or the one who softmoded the box for you, there where a option to install either Evo-X or Unleash-X.

But you know feel that you want to use XBMC as your dashboard...

What todo?!

This is actually very very simple! smile.gif
Gain ftp/network access to the XBox, there are some lovly tutorials HERE

So...


Way one todo it:

FTP in to the XBox and goto E:\dashboard
In there you will see either a file named config.xml (Unleash-X) or evox.ini (Evo-X)
Ftp them to the pc as a backup and then just ftp over your build of XBMC from the pc to the xbox, (use a untouched xboxmediacenter.xml the first time), to E:\dashboard

You dont need to edit the <home> tag if anyone wonders about that, and when done reboot the XBox.

Way two of doing it: (c&p from blackdirs post from this thread)

Copy your e:\dashboard content to e:\apps\unleashx (this way you can still run unleashx as an app), then upload rename_me.xbe to e:\dashboard\default.xbe (Rename the rename_me.xbe to default.xbe)

Next upload the xbmc folder to e:\apps\xbmc


Congrats! You have just made XBMC into your dashboard!

Now edit the xboxmediacenter.xml to your likings, add smbshares etc etc.

Edited by JayDee, 19 January 2006 - 05:01 PM.


#2 TheMerk

TheMerk

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 09 June 2005 - 12:17 AM

Really if you have any dashboard ("eVox, etc.") on there. All you have to do is just delete the old evoxdash.xbe and put in the Xbox Media Center one and rename it to evoxdash.

Seems ezer to mee.

#3 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 09 June 2005 - 07:20 AM

Diffrent installers put files in different places., and sometimes in the same folder as the fonts, nkpatcher etc etc..

If you have a small tut to write for a installer or manual softmod then please do, but just replacing files without knowing if they are the right once isn´t what this is meant for...

#4 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 09 June 2005 - 06:12 PM

i'll also like to add that the old ltools installer (which many still use) puts the dash in E:\Dashboard.

if you want i could maybe write some softmod tuts that relate to xbmc.

#5 Zanzang

Zanzang

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 July 2005 - 10:12 PM

Thank you!

I've been looking everywhere for a tutorial exactly like this one.

#6 BoRG915

BoRG915

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2005 - 06:41 PM

Should be done before you install the softmod?


BoRG915

#7 BoRG915

BoRG915

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2005 - 06:48 PM

OPs, nevermind I see.

BoRG915

#8 viperoni

viperoni

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 July 2005 - 07:28 AM

when I ftp my build over to E:/Dashboard, do I ftp the entire folder so it will end up being E:/Dashboard/XBMC, or do I just ftp the contents of the XBMC folder into the Dashboard folder? Also, once I ftp evox.ini to my PC and delete everything else inside E:/Dashboard (backup, skin, trainers, default.xbe), what will be my backup dashboard if XBMC fails? And what do I do with evox.ini and how to restore it?

#9 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 09:38 AM

Common sense say that you put the new files where the old files where, so just do that.

And what backup dashboard? If you have a 2 xbe setup where one boots with the tray open and the other with it closed then only the first will change as it is your primary one...

And as for restoring evo-x, well, you ftped the files to the pc, so just delete the xbmc files and ftp back the once from evo-x.

Edited by JayDee, 24 July 2005 - 09:38 AM.


#10 sonickilla

sonickilla

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 08:08 PM

well my uxe installer names my evox or unleashx dash as default.xbe in e:\dashboard folder so all i do is edit the home tag in the xbmc xml file and rename the default.xbe to evoxdash.xbe then upload xbox media centre xml file and default.xbe file and jobs done then if ya wanna change back jus rename ya evoxdash back to default and delete the xbmc files piece a p**s

#11 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 26 July 2005 - 08:50 PM

1: Goto to e:\dashboard and ftp them to a folder (name it to whatever you want) on the pc.

2: Delete the files in e:\dashboard

3: Ftp all xbmc files there.

4: No, you do not need to change the home tag as nkpatcher makes the xbox look in e:\dashboard for a default.xbe and it will find it there if you follow the tutorial i wrote.

5: Then if you want to put back evo-x/unleash-x then just delete the xbmc files in e:\dashboard and ftp the files from the folder you made on the pc.

#12 Spykon

Spykon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 05:37 PM

Why does it have to be an untouched XboxMediaCenter.xml? Can't I just use my modified one?

I might wanna do this one, sick of that ugly UnleashX. The only thing is that XBMC doesn't see San Andreas on my hard drive. If I look up E:\Games he doesn't find a map where my game is located in. Can I solve that?

Edited by Spykon, 27 July 2005 - 05:38 PM.


#13 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 27 July 2005 - 06:29 PM

Where do i say that is has to be a untouched xml all the time?

I say you should use it the first time to get things working, then do whatever you please with it.

#14 Spykon

Spykon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE(JayDee @ Jul 27 2005, 08:40 PM)
Where do i say that is has to be a untouched xml all the time?

I say you should use it the first time to get things working, then do whatever you please with it.

 



Did I say all the time? beerchug.gif
I'll try this out tomorrow smile.gif
With using I didn't meant whole the time, only from in the beginning, directly. Sorry if you took it the wrong way, English aint that good yet smile.gif.

Edited by Spykon, 27 July 2005 - 08:22 PM.


#15 Spykon

Spykon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 06:20 PM

Thanks. Works like a charm smile.gif.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users