Jump to content


Photo

Sharing Data from PC to Xbox 360


  • Please log in to reply
153 replies to this topic

#1 Infamous_One

Infamous_One

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 June 2005 - 09:27 AM

I have seen this question around , on how will the X360 connect to your PC and Share the Compatible data. I heard some say that you must have a Windows Media Center PC , thats false , you can use any Windows XP based PC.

Facts Sheet

QUOTE
Ability to stream media from portable music devices, digital cameras and Windows XP-based PCs


And if you have all the updates including SP2 on WinXP Pro or Home editions , you might notice an Icon called Windows Media Connect located in your Control Panel.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

So i guess this will also be used with XBox360 and be able to share your data with the console. huh.gif


#2 q3autraven

q3autraven

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Behind you... Nice porn BTW.
  • Interests:long walks on the beach
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 June 2005 - 10:21 AM

I think you could use that or depending on how the xbox will interface with the pc you might be able to pulll using explorer(if USB is an option). I'm sure that it will use etho to transfer the files. Hell M$ might even give us a special program for us to use, and I bet they will try to limit the types of files we can transfer with said program(one week after we would get this app, we would figure out how to work around the file restrictions).

#3 Ozy

Ozy

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Location:Uk
  • Interests:Gamming,<br />Women,<br />Films,<br />Fine Food,<br />Drinking With My Mates<br /> - Not In That Order.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 June 2005 - 04:12 PM

Brilliant! Cheers for the info? I was get worried. I have lots of data but nowhere to put it on the xbox 360, no I can finally stream video on the xbox 360 wirelessly.

#4 CattyKid

CattyKid

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Great Continental 48
  • Interests:Everything
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 June 2005 - 08:16 PM

even if it was only MediaCenter PCs, we'd just get an XP patch, but thanks for clearing that up.

File Restrictions?

I'd really like to see them try!

#5 durbancic

durbancic

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 June 2005 - 08:18 AM

thank you for the excellent post, now I do not have to look up this question, you answered it for me! jester.gif

#6 Andy51

Andy51

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts
  • Location:I don't know... In Canada... I think?
  • Xbox Version:v1.5

Posted 19 June 2005 - 11:26 PM

Thanks for the information, I was wondering about that, if it was true.

Damn, my small pets are going crazy...

#7 Dalpura

Dalpura

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Interests:I have many interests, but writing about them isn't one.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 June 2005 - 12:02 PM

Hope I don't have to upgrade to SP2 to use this, love my SP1. But it's a great idea in my opinion, guess it saves you setting up XBMC. But good information there, cheers.

#8 Andy51

Andy51

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,044 posts
  • Location:I don't know... In Canada... I think?
  • Xbox Version:v1.5

Posted 25 June 2005 - 06:25 PM

Holy Damn, Dalpura.. I used to use that avatar.. for this site.. but it was faster.

#9 MrBones

MrBones

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 June 2005 - 08:34 PM

Does anybody know if there is a way to make WMC recognize the xbox as a DMR?

#10 UGCREBEL6

UGCREBEL6

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Plymouth, Minnesota
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 June 2005 - 03:05 AM

They might include software for a new program compatible with any OS. Like an FTP program for Windows Media Player?

#11 v8azlin

v8azlin

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Australia.
  • Interests:(+ [ ]:)<br />White 1002K 3.02 OE<br />Black 1002K 2.71 SE-B<br />
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:28 AM

Hey All,
Some if not Most SP2 users may not have this, as i dont. but sure as hell, M$ does.
Available for download here: http://www.MS.com/do...&displaylang=en

Regards
Jack

#12 corridon

corridon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:37 AM

Thanks for that V8.

For those who find the link doesnt work just copy and paste this right click and go to Copy Link Location then after you paste it into your browser replace the MS with MS.

Edited by corridon, 29 June 2005 - 05:38 AM.


#13 Infamous_One

Infamous_One

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 29 June 2005 - 09:23 PM

QUOTE(corridon @ Jun 29 2005, 06:48 AM)
Thanks for that V8.

For those who find the link doesnt work just copy and paste this right click and go to Copy Link Location then after you paste it into your browser replace the MS with MS.

View Post



lol replace MS with MICROS0FT

#14 mirx999

mirx999

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 05:46 PM

Microuser posted imagesoft.

#15 Infamous_One

Infamous_One

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,646 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 17 August 2005 - 06:03 AM

biggrin.gif I was right baby , woo!

http://www.tomshardw...816_174728.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users