Jump to content


Photo

F.a.q.: General Av Formats/cables/resolutions Etc.


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#16 BadNinja3

BadNinja3

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Location:Stockton, CA 95210
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 24 December 2005 - 07:09 AM

great guide. gotta give u some props for this one.

#17 erichot

erichot

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 January 2006 - 04:33 PM

I got a xbox360 for a while and had played games, HD video down loads, etc with a VGA cable for the XBOX360. The resolution was pretty much controlled by the setting on the console and the ability of the monitor in scaling. The experience was mixed in that the screen was flickling and noisy. When I played with KingKong, the LCD screen is only used half and the video images is distorted a great deal. I have also an opportunity to have the MS XBOX360 test team to work with me but in vain. I now have to use a box I purchased in the CES to overcome the deficiency. The corrected results were great! The device I used is a box takes in the VGA input and output as a DVI. It is not a conversion box but rather is a box with complete video processing. I am curious how many people out there have the same experience. Do they just put up with it or everybody can afford a HDTV to play XBOX360 with.

#18 WhiteshooZ

WhiteshooZ

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2006 - 12:48 PM

First off, let me say your A/V faq is outstanding </buttkissing>

That being said, I have a quick question. You said
QUOTE
Component - ... This cable supports SDTV, EDTV, and HDTV.


Does that mean that by using the OEM component cables, I can get a 1080i signal to my HD TV from my 360?

I was under the impression that the best signal component could give my TV was 480i.

I went and ordered a VGA Connector under the assumption that this would give me the best possible picture. Did I just waste a bunch of money?

Thanks,
Ben

NM: I think I found my answer:

Component: High-definition gaming output of 720p or 1080i

Edited by WhiteshooZ, 21 January 2006 - 12:51 PM.


#19 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 21 January 2006 - 03:12 PM

QUOTE(WhiteshooZ @ Jan 21 2006, 06:55 AM) View Post

First off, let me say your A/V faq is outstanding </buttkissing>

That being said, I have a quick question. You said

Does that mean that by using the OEM component cables, I can get a 1080i signal to my HD TV from my 360?

I was under the impression that the best signal component could give my TV was 480i.

I went and ordered a VGA Connector under the assumption that this would give me the best possible picture. Did I just waste a bunch of money?

Thanks,
Ben

NM: I think I found my answer:

Component: High-definition gaming output of 720p or 1080i

I think you're confusing composite (single yellow wire) with component (red green blue wires)

And while VGA is theoretically superior to component, I've heard nothing but complaint from people who have purchased them. You may want to consider sending back that cable you just ordered. read this thread: http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=471233

#20 WhiteshooZ

WhiteshooZ

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 January 2006 - 05:44 AM

For some reason I can't get anything better than 480i out of my component (RGB / 3 "RCA's") and it comes in a 4:3 ratio. :boggle:

I'm completely stumped.

I have the 2 audio and 3 video connections hooked up to my TV (Sony KDS-R50XBR1) yet the display still claims the picture is 480i.

Shame gettting the video to work wasn't as easy as the 5.1 DTS audio. =(

I'll probably keep my VGA connection since the shipping was almost as much as the product. Plus, I'd like to see if I can take advantage of the 1920 x 1080 resolution the TV has.


#21 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 27 January 2006 - 04:28 PM

QUOTE(WhiteshooZ @ Jan 21 2006, 11:51 PM) View Post

For some reason I can't get anything better than 480i out of my component (RGB / 3 "RCA's") and it comes in a 4:3 ratio. :boggle:

I'm completely stumped.

I have the 2 audio and 3 video connections hooked up to my TV (Sony KDS-R50XBR1) yet the display still claims the picture is 480i.

Shame gettting the video to work wasn't as easy as the 5.1 DTS audio. =(

I'll probably keep my VGA connection since the shipping was almost as much as the product. Plus, I'd like to see if I can take advantage of the 1920 x 1080 resolution the TV has.


I don't believe the 360 RGB cables support anything above 480i 4:3, if it does support anything better you'll be able to change the settings on the system blade in the dashboard (so check there).

the 360 VGA doesn't support 1920x1080

#22 wolrahnaes

wolrahnaes

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 21 February 2006 - 06:05 AM

Good guide, but one point.
4.1 is generally used to refer to a computer 4.1 setup, which is two front, two rear, and a sub. 4.0 is pretty much only seen in Dolby Pro Logic form, in which case you are right in saying 3 front + 1 rear. (though some could argue it's a 3.1 system since the mono rear channel is limited in frequency range, just like the LFE channel in 5.1 and up setups)

also, on that subject, have you ever actually seen a 3.0 or 3.1 setup as you describe in use? Personally I've never heard of it. If you're going to bother with more than two speakers and a sub, you might as well do it right and get at least 5 satellites.

QUOTE(WhiteshooZ @ Jan 21 2006, 11:51 PM) View Post

For some reason I can't get anything better than 480i out of my component (RGB / 3 "RCA's") and it comes in a 4:3 ratio. :boggle:

Just a thought: did you flip the switch on the 360 end of the plug to HDTV mode?

#23 cosism

cosism

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 April 2006 - 09:18 PM

Wow, very informative. This read answered most of the questions that I had initially. Thats said, I still have a question. I use the HD pack and an optical audio cable. Will HDMI( which you stated processes the same information in the same way as a component(HD) pack and a optical audio together) eliminate the need for using a optical audio cable? I am leaning towards yes, but wanted to make sure I interpreted the information correctly.

#24 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 12 April 2006 - 09:43 PM

QUOTE(cosism @ Apr 12 2006, 04:25 PM) View Post

Wow, very informative. This read answered most of the questions that I had initially. Thats said, I still have a question. I use the HD pack and an optical audio cable. Will HDMI( which you stated processes the same information in the same way as a component(HD) pack and a optical audio together) eliminate the need for using a optical audio cable? I am leaning towards yes, but wanted to make sure I interpreted the information correctly.


well HDMI combines DIGITAL video (like that of the digital portion of DVI) with digital audio. So yes it does eliminate the need for an optical audio cable. Bit it's a totally different signal type from component video.

The problem with the audio cable is that it plugs into your display. and I can't think of any displays (certainly only any with good sound) that offer built in surround sound. In most cases you'll want to use a stand alone surround sound system, at that point having the audio and video in one cable is rather pointless considering you'll need to use another cable anyway (to go from the display back to the surround sound decoder).

#25 cosism

cosism

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 April 2006 - 11:51 PM

Awesome, that makes a world of sense now. The HD(component) pack is analog, the HDMI is digital. That is where my confusion was. I understood that both the optical and HDMI audio were digital. I appreciate the clarification. I have a 5.1 setup made by Yahmaha, which I like. I am interested in the 55" Sony 3LCD display. Would you say that, the display in question and the surround sound setup would be good together when using HDMI? Or is there another set you recommend? I realize from your posts, the SXRD which utilizes 1080p and may be considered the wave of the future, but do you think the spend is justifiable for the SXRD right NOW, or should I hold out for when the display market is a little more saturated with this technology? Thanks again for your thorough replies. beerchug.gif

Edited by cosism, 12 April 2006 - 11:54 PM.


#26 bacardi/avt

bacardi/avt

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 April 2006 - 04:51 PM

Very good information, but I still wonder about HDMI?

Will the xbox360 send a signal with or without HDCP over HDMI? This is a question that I can't find any answer to.

My reason for asking is that a lot of older plasma screens and projectors can't handle HDCP.

My second question is : If there is HDCP protection will it be on all the trnsfer over HDMI or only when watching Video?


#27 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 17 April 2006 - 06:37 PM

QUOTE(cosism @ Apr 12 2006, 06:58 PM) View Post

Awesome, that makes a world of sense now. The HD(component) pack is analog, the HDMI is digital. That is where my confusion was. I understood that both the optical and HDMI audio were digital. I appreciate the clarification. I have a 5.1 setup made by Yahmaha, which I like. I am interested in the 55" Sony 3LCD display. Would you say that, the display in question and the surround sound setup would be good together when using HDMI? Or is there another set you recommend? I realize from your posts, the SXRD which utilizes 1080p and may be considered the wave of the future, but do you think the spend is justifiable for the SXRD right NOW, or should I hold out for when the display market is a little more saturated with this technology? Thanks again for your thorough replies. beerchug.gif

I have no idea how well those devices handle an HDMI connection or if they're even capable of. As for the 3LCD, I've seen it in stores and it looks nice but in all honesty I absolutly LOATHE rear projection based sets. They combine all the negative parts of front projection (bulb life, frequent calibration, dark picture, bad black levels) with all the negative parts of direct display (small(er) picture, big case, bad viewing angle). I'll admit the 3LCD looks nicer then most RPTVs but I try to avoid that tech on a whole.

There's also a ton of new techs coming out this next year. the next 5 or so years you'll see HUGE leaps and bounds in the tech and prices just dropping left and right. If you get something now, get something cheap that you wont mind replacing in a few years... because trust me you'll want to.


QUOTE(bacardi/avt @ Apr 17 2006, 11:58 AM) View Post

Very good information, but I still wonder about HDMI?

Will the xbox360 send a signal with or without HDCP over HDMI? This is a question that I can't find any answer to.

My reason for asking is that a lot of older plasma screens and projectors can't handle HDCP.

My second question is : If there is HDCP protection will it be on all the trnsfer over HDMI or only when watching Video?

We don't know, MS hasn't released any hard info on if the 360 is capable of HDMI or HDCP so it's anybody's guess. As for if HDCP is active all the time or just some of the time, it completely depends on the device, some do some don't.

#28 Timmymna

Timmymna

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:NE - UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2006 - 02:01 PM

Great read and some very useful info smile.gif

I'm still a little confussed though. I bought the Logitech Z-680 setup as I was under the impression that all the 360 games were in DD 5.1 but when I load up a game I only get the option for DD Pro Logic II Movie or Music as it would normally lock into DD Digtal if supplied.

I've played DVDs through the 360 and they come up as DD Digital so is something odd going on or am I just incorrect about the games being in 5.1?

Thanks for any replies biggrin.gif

Edited by Timmymna, 31 August 2006 - 02:01 PM.


#29 vanxman

vanxman

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 137 posts

Posted 08 September 2006 - 08:11 AM

Very interesting, but I still have a problem understanding something...

My TV only has DVI-i and VGA (via a VGA-DVI adapter) input , but NO component or HDMI.

My question: how do I get the XBOX component cable to work with the DVI-i input? Any cables or switches needed???

I need to do this so that I can get the 1080i (which the TV is capable of) option on the 360 set-up screen. The 360 works with the optional VGA cable, but using that the 360 won't (1) give me the HDTV (480p, 1080i) resolutions and (2) won't let me go above the 878x480 resolution.

#30 _iffy

_iffy

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:burlington ontario Best Country: Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 December 2006 - 06:28 PM

Great tut ts.

I barley knew any of that.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users