Jump to content


Photo

Dirty Disc Error On New Phillips


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 T Ghost

T Ghost

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:http://gamercard.xbox.com/T%20Ghost.card
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 June 2005 - 01:38 AM

I have a V1.4 Halo SE NTSC xbox with the new phillips DVD. It always read anything you throw at it.

But recently 2 games had given me problemsL Conker and GTA SA. It gives dirty disk error always at the same point on both games.

Using DVD-R Maxell 8X (Ritek G05) burned at max speed (6.2X).

Using Memorex midia DVD+R burning at same max speed got the game running flawlessly on same Xbox.

The other copy (maxell) not running on the HALO edition Xbox runs perfectly on a normal Xbox V 1.4 with a Thompson drive.

Both Xboxes same chip and bios: Xecuter 2.3b lite + with X2 4983.06

Is my laser on the HALO Xbox fading or it's just dirty?

Any insight will be welcomed!

#2 Cold|Fusion

Cold|Fusion

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 17 June 2005 - 01:41 AM

Is it happening on other game discs, or just those particular two? Pop the cover, clean the lense, see if it improves things any. After that, time will tell.

#3 T Ghost

T Ghost

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:http://gamercard.xbox.com/T%20Ghost.card
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 June 2005 - 01:47 AM

Just on these 2 games. Both stream from dvd constantly. But never had problems with that media. I'll try to clean lenses. Any tip for lens cleaning on these drives? Cleaned PS2's lenses ans installed all my modchips my self but never cleaned xbox lenses.

#4 Cold|Fusion

Cold|Fusion

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 17 June 2005 - 01:51 AM

Weird. Yup, if you used to cleaning any type of lense, pretty much the same proceedure here to. But since it is only having trouble with those two titles, I do doubt it will make a difference, but it can't hurt.

#5 TKramka

TKramka

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Location:CT
  • Interests:Computer Technology, Xbox Hardware and Modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 17 June 2005 - 03:19 AM

If it keeps up, try knocking 50 ohms off the pot and see if that helps.

#6 T Ghost

T Ghost

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:http://gamercard.xbox.com/T%20Ghost.card
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 12:44 AM

QUOTE(TKramka @ Jun 16 2005, 11:30 PM)
If it keeps up, try knocking 50 ohms off the pot and see if that helps.

View Post




I dont know how to do that! blink.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users