Jump to content


Photo

360 Games And Xbox Live Will Not Require The Hd


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 MrPhunkee

MrPhunkee

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 12:44 PM

From the frontpage, Teamxbox intervieuw

Xbox360 games and Xbox live will NOT require the HDD or Memory Unit.

Dont games run faster with cache from hd?
So no checking on the HD eh?
Wich I think means dashbord isnt on the hd? But encrypted on system memory?

What u guys think bout this?

#2 quall

quall

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 903 posts
  • Location:OHIO
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 01:00 PM

i was thinking the same thing when i read that. I'd hate to have long or frequent loading times.

#3 pogopin

pogopin

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 75 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 01:06 PM

Maybe the xbox 360 OS is smart enough to use the hard drive when it is here.

if you don't have it, the OS knows it, and won't use any HD cache.
If you have it, the OS uses the HD cache in a sort of Plug and Play

It's certainly a good idea for selling more hard drive if it can reduce loading times, help in BC, replaces a memory card, and is able to store all your media.

Edited by pogopin, 24 June 2005 - 01:10 PM.


#4 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 01:15 PM

i think the more improtant issue is that the OS wont need an HD, so the idea of modding by replacing the HD i think is out of the window

#5 incognegro

incognegro

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 01:59 PM

It wont be that big of a deal because since the devs know that the 360 comes with the hdd they will still utilize it to the fullest. The difference is that they will allow the games to play without it. For example, faster load times with the hdd but slower when it is absent. BC can't work without the hdd though.

Edited by incognegro, 24 June 2005 - 02:01 PM.


#6 MrPhunkee

MrPhunkee

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:05 PM

What might be interesting, is that Live maybe wont check hd, since it doesn't need it? So even if there's homebrew and stuff on it, u wont get banned? Time will tell, but thats what I make out of it

#7 MrPhunkee

MrPhunkee

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:06 PM

QUOTE(incognegro @ Jun 24 2005, 03:10 PM)
It wont be that big of a deal because since the devs know that the 360 comes with the hdd they will still utilize it to the fullest. The difference is that they will allow the games to play without it. For example, faster load times with the hdd but slower when it is absent. BC can't work without the hdd though.

View Post



Yes, but since the hd is standard, why not using it? For maybe when it dies, u can still play or something? uhh.gif

#8 incognegro

incognegro

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:19 PM

QUOTE
Yes, but since the hd is standard, why not using it? For maybe when it dies, u can still play or something?


Im guessing thats the case. Since the Hdd is detachable then MS doesnt want any scenarios where ppl lose or destroy their hdd only to render their console useless.

#9 crobar

crobar

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
  • Location:NEW YORK
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:44 PM

maybe there is an onboard flash chip for game cache, the os will most likely run off one so why wouldnt the game cache be able to do the same?

#10 blackchild1101

blackchild1101

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 623 posts
  • Location:Malden MA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 03:00 PM

QUOTE(crobar @ Jun 24 2005, 03:55 PM)
maybe there is an onboard flash chip for game cache, the os will most likely run off one so why wouldnt the game cache be able to do the same?

View Post




You could be right but I didn't see this spec on the 360 spec sheet. Kinda funny, the kid who posted

QUOTE
Maybe the xbox 360 OS is smart enough to use the hard drive when it is here.
blink.gif

ALL it is, is a line of code to see weather or not a HDD is attached to the 360. That's all folks

#11 kezor

kezor

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Interests:http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?act=ST&f=29&t=306001
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 03:04 PM

i think the hd will be another memory card that is my guess

#12 incognegro

incognegro

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2005 - 03:10 PM

QUOTE
i think the hd will be another memory card that is my guess


Thats one expensive memory card to MS's expenses dry.gif

Ru serious? it will be more than that

#13 crobar

crobar

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
  • Location:NEW YORK
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 03:25 PM

yeah i can imagine the third party products to be released for the hard dive area...3.5 hard drive housing...ipod dock...ect

#14 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 03:47 PM

REDICULOUS amounts of LEDs and the like

#15 Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 385 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 04:24 PM

Guess you'll need the harddisk anyway for game patches and new levels on Xbox live (Like Halo 2 v1.1)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users