Jump to content


Photo

Firmware 1.5


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 June 2005 - 11:51 PM

Hey, does any1 still have their old 1.5 firmware (like still on their memstick, or stored on their pc)?? i'm lookin fo rthe eboot file?

thx

p.s.
i hope this is okay to ask for

#2 Flexmaster Frag

Flexmaster Frag

    X-S X-perience

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2005 - 12:15 AM

It's not ok to ask for, but there not any guidelines for this kinda stuff... expect a pinned faq in the future. But to answer your question, there isn't a eboot.pbp in the firmware dump... it just consists of flash0 and flash1 folders.... let me check on the legality of your request before I open this back up...

#3 Flexmaster Frag

Flexmaster Frag

    X-S X-perience

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2005 - 04:45 AM

I'm not sure what you're asking, but if someone does, then post here... thread is open again for now cool.gif

#4 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 June 2005 - 05:50 AM

i found what i'm looking for. i was looking for the v1.50 eboot.pbp file (the one that upgrades you from 1.0 to v1.5 . I am now in the works of hex editing it to appear to be a later version (past v1.52) so that the psp will think it is newer and update to it, but in reality it would be downgrading smile.gif

#5 leijae

leijae

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 490 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Interests:i like.... girls.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 June 2005 - 05:55 AM

my bad!

Edited by leijae, 26 June 2005 - 06:08 AM.


#6 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 June 2005 - 06:03 AM

lol, i already said i found what i'm looking for, but thx anyway. if anyone could mabe help me figure out how to downgrade, that'd be great. Anyone know any particular offsets (i'm talking about hex editing here) for important info in the psp firmware? when u put a firmware on ur MS and try to upgrade the psp checks to see what version the firmware is. i'm trying to find out what offsets it checks, then edit those offsets to an earlier update version and therefore tricking the psp to update to v1.50 (right now i am at v1.52) which would actually be downgrading smile.gif

#7 Flexmaster Frag

Flexmaster Frag

    X-S X-perience

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2005 - 08:13 AM

I'm assuming it's going to be harder to downgrade than just editing some offsets... but good luck to ya beerchug.gif

#8 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 June 2005 - 06:21 PM

I got it to run the update, but then when it begins to actually start installing it, it says the file is corrupt (a couple times i got an error number like 800....)

#9 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2005 - 08:01 PM

QUOTE(snake3k1 @ Jun 26 2005, 02:32 PM)
I got it to run the update, but then when it begins to actually start installing it, it says the file is corrupt (a couple times i got an error number like 800....)

View Post


my guess is that the installer uses a checksum to verify the firmware hasn't been tampered with

#10 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 June 2005 - 09:00 PM

is there any way to get around this? like make it look authenthic

#11 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2005 - 09:28 PM

QUOTE(snake3k1 @ Jun 26 2005, 05:11 PM)
is there any way to get around this? like make it look authenthic

View Post


my guess is that it's signed with a key that only sony has. however, i'm sure that in the future, a homebrew firmware flasher will exist. who knows, maybe the sony flasher will be hacked to allow any firmware to be flashed.

a flasher already exists to flash a portion of the firmware (PSPersonalize) so doing the whole thing is not far off IMO.

#12 snake3k1

snake3k1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 June 2005 - 09:58 PM

yay, i called up my local ebgames and they said that i can get a new one since it was within 14 days of purchase. i didnt mention anything about firmware upgrading/downgrading, i just said that the battery only lasts 30 mins when it is supposed to last 2 hrs+ (i lied to them, lol). so now i will get a good ol 1.5 instead and i wont upgrade like a moron this time

#13 forcelite

forcelite

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 334 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 04:55 AM

good man, thats the easy way to do it




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users