Jump to content


Photo

New Hard Drive + Softmod + Xbox Live


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Trumpetrhapsody

Trumpetrhapsody

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 03:44 PM

Ok I've been reading around and I think the best thing for me (i'm cheap so money is an issue) would be to close the stock hard drive onto a bigger (say 160GB) hard drive. Then I could softmod the new larger hard drive to do whatever I want to, and coldboot Xbox Live games. The problem is, I've already set up my 12 month Xlive account. I've read a little about people changing their hard drive serial, but I don't know if that was a rumor or how to do it if it works.

- Can someone tell me how to change my hard drive's serial to match my stock xbox hard drive
- If I match the serial to the one I signed up my xlive account with, will I not get banned from xlive
- Is changing the serial more trouble than its worth? Should I just buy a new EEPROM and match it to the new hard drive?

Thanks!

Edited by Trumpetrhapsody, 30 June 2005 - 03:51 PM.


#2 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 03:50 PM

You need to flash a new virgin eeprom to ur xbox, then build the new hdd and lock it with the new eeprom...then u won't have a problem on live.

#3 Trumpetrhapsody

Trumpetrhapsody

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 03:54 PM

That's what I was afraid of. I guess $10 isn't so bad for adding 100 gigs to my stock x-box and having the ability to back up my games and not cary the disks!

#4 mor911

mor911

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2005 - 04:52 PM

I just did a soft mod on my box. Used a lockable 120gb hd, and XBL works fine. I love my xbox more than ever.

love.gif

#5 Trumpetrhapsody

Trumpetrhapsody

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 05:36 PM

Lockable? Can not all hard drives be locked?

#6 mor911

mor911

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2005 - 06:11 PM

QUOTE(Trumpetrhapsody @ Jun 30 2005, 01:47 PM)
Lockable? Can not all hard drives be locked?

View Post


No actually. biggrin.gif

There's actually a list of lockable HDs. It's a pretty long list though.

#7 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 06:15 PM

Here's the list...Make sure u get a new eeprom, u cant just get a new lockable hdd put it in and get on live, since u've already been on, u need a new eeprom, period.

#8 Trumpetrhapsody

Trumpetrhapsody

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 30 June 2005 - 08:12 PM

Thanks, that helps a bunch. I'll be sure to get a lockable 120gig hard drive and a new EEPROM, do the softmod, and be sure to coldboot games when i want to use live. Thanks for the help!

Edited by Trumpetrhapsody, 30 June 2005 - 08:12 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users