Jump to content


Photo

FAQ: Xbox 360 Audio/Video


  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#16 Carlo210

Carlo210

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,220 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 August 2005 - 05:04 AM

Yeah, they are taking the monitor guys into consideration. It's not going to be the sloppy vga stuff we see with the current gen xbox.

#17 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 August 2005 - 09:07 AM

True, but the xbox was never supposed to support vga. It is all done through 3rd parties via a transcoder, or hacked vga bios.

That being said, the xbox still looks damn good on my 19" sony crt flatscreen.

#18 Shaddow2005

Shaddow2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 August 2005 - 06:00 AM


Does anyone know if the XBOX 360 will support the Native resolution of many of the new HD LCD TV's ? = 1366x768.

The main problem with this resolution is that it is not 720p or 1080i and also does not match any standard PC resolution!

I am about to purchase a 37" set but I am worried that the Xbox 360 will not support it. (I dont want the TV to have to scale up from 720p! yuck!)



#19 Mr M Crowley

Mr M Crowley

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 20 August 2005 - 06:02 AM

Does this picture answer any questions for the 50Hz vs. 60Hz guy? Look at the fourth picture down.

Xbox 360 news

Edited by Mr M Crowley, 20 August 2005 - 06:10 AM.


#20 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 August 2005 - 11:08 AM

QUOTE(twistedsymphony @ Aug 9 2005, 07:53 PM)
Though recent reports site that with the Xbox360's VGA adapter the video encoder will be able to scale the game's resolution to any standard resolution from 640x480 all the way to 1920x1080.

So if your monitor supports 1280 x 1024 and you have the 360's VGA cable you'll be able to output at that resolution. Also much like the current gen Xbox (except now supported throughout ALL games, not just select games) you'll be able to choose fullscreen, widescreen, or letterbox for your output.

View Post


Any references for this, twisted; particularly the 360 scaling to different res's on a computer monitor? That would be awesome if it upscaled 720p to 1280 x 1024 or 1920 x 1080. I would just like to read more about this.

#21 fahrenheit

fahrenheit

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,166 posts

Posted 24 August 2005 - 11:54 AM

All of the official documentation released so far with the VGA cable only lists 480p/720p/1080i.
At a guess, the VGA is nothing more than transcoded component. The signal could be sent from the graphics chip as component and go through built in transcoding if an appropriate cable is connected, ie. the VGA cable. We'll have to compare the pins and wiring on the HD and VGA cables. So I'm thinking, no need for me to ditch my VD-Z3 just yet?

#22 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 24 August 2005 - 12:14 PM

QUOTE(fahrenheit @ Aug 24 2005, 07:05 AM)
All of the official documentation released so far with the VGA cable only lists 480p/720p/1080i.
At a guess, the VGA is nothing more than transcoded component. The signal could be sent from the graphics chip as component and go through built in transcoding if an appropriate cable is connected, ie. the VGA cable. We'll have to compare the pins and wiring on the HD and VGA cables. So I'm thinking, no need for me to ditch my VD-Z3 just yet?

View Post


Not true... the WebTV video encoder can scale the image to whatever VGA rez you want... (just like it can scale to any TV res you want)... All VGA resolutions come out at 50Hz or 60Hz (depending on what you want) meaning that they're all TRUE VGA signals.

The info we have so far says it can provide any standard 4:3 or 16:9 resolution between 640x480 all the way through 1920x1080. Early info on the VGA cable (like the link a few posts up with the slides from the show in Spain) specifically point out a resolution of 1024x768.... so we know that it will DEFINITELY support 640x480, 1024x768, and 1920x1080. I'm sure there are many many more supported resolutions between those and I think MS would be foolish NOT to include 1280x1024, considering when letterboxed it works perfectly with the 720p most games are built around.

Most of those details were released in an interview I'll post the link if I can find it.

#23 fahrenheit

fahrenheit

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,166 posts

Posted 24 August 2005 - 12:24 PM

Well that would make the VGA cable well worth having then. beerchug.gif

#24 Zeal Tha MC

Zeal Tha MC

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 01 September 2005 - 05:51 PM

im gonna need a Standard A/V CAble for the Xbox 360 when it comes out.duz any1 know if its gonna come in the $399 package?or do i have to buy it?(if i do have to buy it,how much is it gon cost me?)someone that knows tell me. biggrin.gif

#25 LowProfileWurm

LowProfileWurm

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 September 2005 - 06:11 PM

I'd harp on you for asking that question, but you did manage to get it in the FAQ without starting a new thread so...

The premium package will come with HD cables that have SD cables on them. It's like a hybrid. I dont' know why they don't just include these in ALL packages, but I don't run MS.

And Twisted, this FAQ needs a bit of updating. There need to be distinctions between the Core and Premium packages.

beerchug.gif

#26 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 01 September 2005 - 06:34 PM

updated!

beerchug.gif thanks for reminding me pop.gif

#27 Mr_Shiver

Mr_Shiver

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 07:26 PM

QUOTE(fahrenheit @ Aug 24 2005, 07:35 AM)
Well that would make the VGA cable well worth having then. beerchug.gif

View Post




VGA is what i'll be using.. cool.gif




#28 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 14 September 2005 - 11:34 PM

VGA is a good option for a lot of people. Not many people have HDTVs but almost everyone has a PC monitor beerchug.gif

I'm tempted to get a VGA adapter as an alternative to Component for connecting to my projector because it's a better quality signal.

Either that or Hack the VGA output (cheaper and prettier that way) tongue.gif

#29 nuzzy

nuzzy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5

Posted 11 October 2005 - 08:44 AM

any support of SACD's? I see that DVD-A is supported...

#30 IvanŽ

IvanŽ

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 October 2005 - 10:42 AM

QUOTE(Mr_Shiver @ Sep 14 2005, 08:37 PM)
VGA is what i'll be using.. cool.gif

View Post



Than useing sxga resolution will be the bestoption for me too smile.gif

and in future, it'll be much cheaper to upgrade monitor than to upgrade a big expensive HDTV....

for example, when OLED or SED displays come out, i can just replace my monitor with one of those....which i cannot say for big HDTV....





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users