Jump to content


Photo

Cabextract Release 1


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 July 2005 - 02:21 PM

I released a 'WORKING' utility that will extract from .CAB and .CA2 archives used in Forza Motorsport unlike MultiEx's 'supposed' support for the formats.
DOWNLOAD: Here or at ForzaCustoms.info

Comments/Problems/Suggestions/DeathThreats can be posted here.

Forza CabExtract Release 1 by Angerwound
'Source Included'
ForzaCustoms.info


Description:
  • This command line utility will input any of the supported archives
    and output their contents.

Formats Currently Supported:
  • .CAB Forza Archive
  • .CA2 Forza Archive
Usage:
  • 'CabExtract [filename.ca*]'
Version History:
  • V1.0 - First Release
Future Goals:
There exists one more archive in the Forza Game Software that
is yet to be supported. It holds all the models, images, and
data for the tracks themselves. Support for the archive should
be in the near future.
I also hope to get a GUI/Explorer Shell version of this app
sometime in the near future available for ease of use as
well as a REBUILD option so you can test your changes to the
archives.

Bugs:
None that I am currently aware of. If you find any please report
them to 'angerwound@gmail.com' or ForzaCustoms.info Forums.

Greets:

Thanks to all who helped or gave some kind of input on this.

And of course my good friends...
PedrosPad, Sniperkil, Devz3ro, Roofus, BrienJ

Edited by Angerwound, 01 July 2005 - 02:22 PM.


#2 ZPaul2Fresh8

ZPaul2Fresh8

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Millbury, Ohio
  • Interests:CamaroZ28.com, my Camaro SS(Gone now ZX6-R :-), programming, Xbox, my Son and Daughter.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:12 PM

You guys rock, nice work beerchug.gif

When will an injection release come? <- Nevermind, finally read the whole post...

Edited by ZPaul2Fresh8, 01 July 2005 - 08:19 PM.


#3 MrHard2Handle

MrHard2Handle

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 29 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 02 July 2005 - 10:47 AM

Dude thank you soo much. You guys are doing a awsome job with Forza.. I just need some help blink.gif . How do I use the commands.. I went to run on my windows xp then I typed cmd..A command prompt came up.. I then type cd/. I think thats to get the c:/> thing.. So then I tried to type cabextract car_nissan350z.cab. but nothing happend.. I got some message saying is not a command or somthing..Can somone please give me some steps to take to extract the cab please

Edited by MrHard2Handle, 02 July 2005 - 10:57 AM.


#4 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2005 - 12:15 PM

QUOTE(MrHard2Handle @ Jul 2 2005, 04:58 AM)
Dude thank you soo much. You guys are doing a awsome job with Forza.. I just need some help blink.gif . How do I use the commands.. I went to run on my windows xp then I typed cmd..A command prompt came up.. I then type cd/. I think thats to get the c:/> thing.. So then I tried to type cabextract car_nissan350z.cab. but nothing happend.. I got some message saying is not a command or somthing..Can somone please give me some steps to take to extract the cab please

View Post



You need to navigate to the folder where Cabextract is sitting. You were trying to run it from the root of your C Drive.

#5 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2005 - 12:17 PM

UPDATED TO RELEASE 2

Forza CabExtract Release 2 by Angerwound
'Source Included'
ForzaCustoms.info

Whats New:
Added support for the track archives within Forza.

Description:
This command line utility will input any of the supported archives
and output their contents.

Formats Currently Supported:
.CAB Forza Archive
.CA2 Forza Archive
.XB2 Forza Track Archive

Usage:
'CabExtract [filename.***]'

Version History:

V2.0 - .XB2 Track Archive Support
V1.0 - First Release

Future Goals:
Still hoping to get a GUI/Explorer shell built for
easier use and rebuild options.

Bugs:
None that I am currently aware of. If you find any please report
them to 'angerwound@gmail.com' or ForzaCustoms.info Forums.

Greets:
Thanks to all who helped or gave some kind of input on this.

And of course my good friends...
PedrosPad, Sniperkil, Devz3ro, Roofus, BrienJ


Available For Download At ForzaCustoms.info

Edited by Angerwound, 02 July 2005 - 12:17 PM.


#6 ZPaul2Fresh8

ZPaul2Fresh8

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Millbury, Ohio
  • Interests:CamaroZ28.com, my Camaro SS(Gone now ZX6-R :-), programming, Xbox, my Son and Daughter.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 02 July 2005 - 09:14 PM

Sweet! I would make you a gui, but only know vb and C#.... sad.gif

Shell integration would be nice, wouldn't that allow drag and drop of the files? Would be great so you won't have to unzip/zip the whole contents...

Thumbs Up to you guys!

Edited by ZPaul2Fresh8, 02 July 2005 - 09:14 PM.


#7 MrHard2Handle

MrHard2Handle

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 29 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 02 July 2005 - 10:42 PM

Ok, I just tried it but it wont work. I tried running it normally from the program and from the the command base. I got a error message both times . Somthing must be wrong with my computer cause it wont load that exe. Would anyone know whats wrong?


#8 natronjw

natronjw

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 July 2005 - 02:32 AM

QUOTE(MrHard2Handle @ Jul 2 2005, 05:53 PM)
I tried running it normally from the program and from the the command base. I got a error message both times

View Post



CODE
Usage:
'CabExtract [filename.***]'


you don't load the exe. as in nothing should come up on the screen (other than a flash of an error message) you run it with a parameter and it does stuff invisibly. so you type in cabextract then a .cab .ca2 or .xb2 file to extract. the program then puts it into the folder where both the program and and the archive(.cab...) are.

hope this helps



#9 ZPaul2Fresh8

ZPaul2Fresh8

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Millbury, Ohio
  • Interests:CamaroZ28.com, my Camaro SS(Gone now ZX6-R :-), programming, Xbox, my Son and Daughter.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 July 2005 - 02:42 AM

Well, you could always drag and drop the CAB file into the executable.

It will unzip the contents of the archive into the default directory.

I'm not sure how you find out what the default directory would be for you, but mine was c:\Documents and Settings\ZPaul2Fresh8\


That's just an option....

You can also do the shortcut method also...

#10 Cruzz

Cruzz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 June 2006 - 07:22 PM

Where can I download this file when ForzaCustoms.info is down? I've been searching for it but I can't find it. Thanx for ur help.

#11 PedrosPad

PedrosPad

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,859 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 June 2006 - 09:04 PM

QUOTE(Cruzz @ Jun 11 2006, 07:29 PM) View Post

Where can I download this file when ForzaCustoms.info is down? I've been searching for it but I can't find it. Thanx for ur help.

http://forzacustoms....abExtractR2.rar smile.gif

#12 Cruzz

Cruzz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 June 2006 - 06:29 PM

Thanx a lot biggrin.gif

Ok now I got the file, I've dropped the .cab file on to the .exe, and I can see how it extracts everything.
When it's done the program closes and the folder still only contains CabExtract.exe. Am I doing anything wrong? In that case what?

Thanx in advance.

Edited by Cruzz, 13 June 2006 - 06:45 PM.


#13 PedrosPad

PedrosPad

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,859 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 June 2006 - 09:44 PM

QUOTE(Cruzz @ Jun 13 2006, 06:36 PM) View Post

Ok now I got the file, I've dropped the .cab file on to the .exe, and I can see how it extracts everything.
When it's done the program closes and the folder still only contains CabExtract.exe. Am I doing anything wrong? In that case what?

Yup. It's a command line utility - designed to be run from the command line! What's happening to you is that the extracted files are being place somewhere else on your HDD - probably in C:\Documents and settings\my documents.

The correct usage is:

Start Button->Run...
"Cmd"
CD C:\Forza
CabExtract <CabName>

The exported files would then appear in C:\Forza.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users