Jump to content


Photo

Will This Lcd Work In My Xbox?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:13 AM

hi,

I have done a bit of googling for how to conect lcd's to the xbox and which are compatible and which arent. Through searching pages i only ever find XLCD's and thats about it, always having to be connected to a modchip of some sort.

Well, i had an old computer laying around which has an lcd display for fan speed, hdd activity, hdd/cpu temp, time and power consumption etc.

I took a few pictures of it just to show you what it looks like and was wondering if there is anyway i could get this hooked up to my xbox.

Ok, apologies, i had my digital camera about 20 mins ago and put it down somewhere. Now i can't find it so i took some pics with the phone. Once i find my digital camera i will take better ones.

This is the behind, half of it anyway.
user posted image

Here is the front of it
user posted image

Anyone with a bit of knowledge on LCd's could be of help here lol. I dont know much about LCD's but i will continue doing some googling.

Also the brand of the lcd is sunvertex (www.sunvertex.com) just japanese shit comes up in google when you search "sunvertex"

Cheers,
eminvil

#2 Masterkizz

Masterkizz

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:18 AM

If you could get a pinout diagram of this screen , and your chip had lcd support - You would just need to match it all up to the corresponding ins/outs and it should work fine.

Sounds simple but finding the pinouts of the lcd will be very hard...

#3 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:20 AM

ok, teh first thing is is it like a normal dot display, or does it display set images?

i asssume it will work is it is just a standard lcd dot display.

have a look on the board, and try to find the wire(s) that feed it the info

#4 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:33 AM

QUOTE(Masterkizz @ Jul 17 2005, 02:29 PM)
If you could get a pinout diagram of this screen , and your chip had lcd support - You would just need to match it all up to the corresponding ins/outs and it should work fine.

Sounds simple but finding the pinouts of the lcd will be very hard...

View Post



hmmm, i dont think i will be able to do that lol. i have no idea.

QUOTE(ferrari_rulz_02 @ Jul 17 2005, 02:31 PM)
ok, teh first thing is is it like a normal dot display, or does it display set images?

i asssume it will work is it is just a standard lcd dot display.

have a look on the board, and try to find the wire(s) that feed it the info

View Post



and i dont think i will beable to find the wires to feed the info. all it has are wires coming off which each plug into the hdd led, and molex wires. also alotta other wires for VGA, CPU etc

#5 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 July 2005 - 05:03 AM

QUOTE(eminvil_12 @ Jul 17 2005, 02:44 PM)
hmmm, i dont think i will be able to do that lol. i have no idea.
and i dont think i will beable to find the wires to feed the info.  all it has are wires coming off which each plug into the hdd led, and molex wires. also alotta other wires for VGA, CPU etc

View Post



well cam you give us a close up high res pic of the pcb (both sides) and what wires it has?

that might help out a bit

#6 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 06:21 AM

QUOTE(ferrari_rulz_02 @ Jul 17 2005, 03:14 PM)
well cam you give us a close up high res pic of the pcb (both sides) and what wires it has?

that might help out a bit

View Post



Still searching for the digi cam, will be a pic soon if i find it smile.gif
And the pic is only 3MP sad.gif

EDIT: Found digi cam and will take a few pics now.

Edited by eminvil_12, 17 July 2005 - 06:25 AM.


#7 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 July 2005 - 06:27 AM

QUOTE(eminvil_12 @ Jul 17 2005, 04:32 PM)
Still searching for the digi cam, will be a pic soon if i find it smile.gif
And the pic is only 3MP sad.gif

EDIT: Found digi cam and will take a few pics now.

View Post



im a waiting biggrin.gif

3mp is enough though

#8 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 06:35 AM

most are bloody blurrry, not a crystal clear photo at all. why. whyy. i will posty the best i have
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

hope that helps a bit. i will try get even better fotos, any tips for getting better photos?
my phone pic is better than these :@

Edited by eminvil_12, 17 July 2005 - 06:44 AM.


#9 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 06:54 AM

ok, those pics were shit. heres some from my phone lol i cant beleive my phone is better, or i just dont know how to use a camera. anyways.

user posted image
user posted image

GOD DAMN THERE SLOW LOADERS>

http://photobucket.c...469/eminvil_12/

theres a link to my album, you can see them all there with quicker loading times wink.gif

Edited by eminvil_12, 17 July 2005 - 07:08 AM.


#10 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 July 2005 - 08:51 AM

can you isolate the power vs the rest of the cables? that would be a start

#11 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 08:58 AM

QUOTE(ferrari_rulz_02 @ Jul 17 2005, 07:02 PM)
can you isolate the power vs the rest of the cables? that would be a start

View Post



huh, i dont get it?
what would you like me to do?


#12 Masterkizz

Masterkizz

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 17 July 2005 - 11:25 AM

Try to find a serial/model number of the board itself.

Email to sunvertex and tell them that you need a circuit diagram/spec sheet to fix one of these units.

Sometimes companies will oblige and send you the info directly , Or you may not be so lucky.

Isolating the power just means - Finding and seperating what leads are used to power the unit itself.


#13 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 July 2005 - 11:34 AM

QUOTE(Masterkizz @ Jul 17 2005, 09:36 PM)
Try to find a serial/model number of the board itself.

Email to sunvertex and tell them that you need a circuit diagram/spec sheet to fix one of these units.

Sometimes companies will oblige and send you the info directly , Or you may not be so lucky.

Isolating the power just means - Finding and seperating what leads are used to power the unit itself.

View Post



ok well this is a jap company, they wont understand me.
anyone here can speak and read chinese or japanese pm me tongue.gif

#14 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 July 2005 - 11:48 AM

QUOTE(Masterkizz @ Jul 17 2005, 09:36 PM)
Isolating the power just means - Finding and seperating what leads are used to power the unit itself.

View Post



what i wanted to know was how many wires are there other then the power ones, and do they all go into the board at the same place?

and try emailign them (if you can find their email address). with a bit of luck, their email settings will do the language conversion. i know some asian people who do it like that, it generally works well if you use general terms.

#15 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 18 July 2005 - 03:06 AM

QUOTE(ferrari_rulz_02 @ Jul 17 2005, 09:59 PM)
what i wanted to know was how many wires are there other then the power ones, and do they all go into the board at the same place?

and try emailign them (if you can find their email address). with a bit of luck, their email settings will do the language conversion. i know some asian people who do it like that, it generally works well if you use general terms.

View Post



Ok, here is a picture with all the wires labeled. Pretty easy to understand.

user posted image

PS: I also emailed www.sunvertex.co.jp (y-saru@sunvertex.co.jp) I stated i bought an LCD from them and would like to be provided with a pinout diagram. LOL i translated what i wrote into japanese with google translator so im hoping its the right company, and the right language tongue.gif

Thanks for the help ferrari and masterkizz. i really want to get this working in the xbox, its a nice blue one smile.gif and i dont want to pay $30 for a new one + an LCD converter.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users