Jump to content


Photo

Complete VGA Mod Guide (Diagrams, Hex Edits)


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#31 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 05:05 AM

Can anyone tell me how I can create a fail proof vga, without playing around with bios or finding some sort of software on the web and is easy for a newb like me to follow? Pictures would be nice also happy.gif.

#32 leeloo5

leeloo5

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Location:East Coast USA
  • Interests:Xbox, BT, dvdshrink, messing with electronics, Half.com selling.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 08 November 2005 - 05:57 AM

my guide has pictures. It sounds like you're interested in buying one though. no need to mess around with anything or do any thinking, just lay down that money. go with the x2vga. or vdigi or whatever.

#33 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 06:15 AM

Buy one..... naw. I just don't want to deal with tampering with bios (have a bad past with flashing bios) and finding software on the web (unless you can point out the torrent). I just can't find it and I hate using anything that's not a simple click to download. Other than that, if it's just get a chip and solder then I'm ok with it.

BTW I ran into this: http://photobucket.c...Def_AV_Pack.gif
Will this do the job or is it flawed?


----edit--------
Just noticed something about bios. Do I have to tamper with it in this case?

Edited by angerynewb, 08 November 2005 - 06:17 AM.


#34 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 06:01 AM

Anyone going to help? Whats "vga" BIOS? A chip I have to add or something I have to put into the xbox bios????

#35 leeloo5

leeloo5

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Location:East Coast USA
  • Interests:Xbox, BT, dvdshrink, messing with electronics, Half.com selling.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 November 2005 - 06:42 AM

did you read through this thread, or the tutorial that it points to?

if you want to run a vga (to pc monitor) cable, you will need to solder together a circuit in a audio/video cable.

then you will need to install a vga bios on your modchip. this outputs the video signal in the correct colors RGB.

dl the bios from the usual places, thats the only place to get it.

i should really just say to read, i'm not answering any more questions that are contained in the begining of this thread.

#36 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 07:42 AM

Sorry, I was just looking for a way to bypass the bios modding (I realy have a bad time with them, almost killed my computer a few times)

#37 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 08:56 AM

Thanks for helping me get those files leeloo5.

BTW make sure to answer those PMs and is TATX_Debug_Dual_VGA_LameOne_beta trust worthy? I have 1.0 Should I go with that diagram I showed ya? rolleyes.gif

Edited by angerynewb, 09 November 2005 - 08:57 AM.


#38 Jameson42

Jameson42

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Location:Kenosha, Wisconson
  • Interests:Xbox Modding (of course),<br />Juggling,<br />D&amp;D (3rd edition - so sue me),<br />Working at EB Games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 November 2005 - 06:36 PM

Use iND-BiOS 5001 VGA, the others aren't very good at all.

#39 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:07 AM

Should I install it prior to the vga mod or will i screw up the current video mode. I not doing it anytime soon, but I'd like to have it installed early.

BTW: If I somehow screw it up, how to I go about recovering it. For my PC its a jumper change and floppy recovery. If the bios screws up what will happen. Also I've been hearing thing about some chips being """clones""'' and that they can't be flashed properly. I have a Duo X2. Or are clones not that big of a deal.



#40 angerynewb

angerynewb

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:36 AM

I just got banned sleep.gif...... hmmmm.. I only downloaded three files...... >>>Anyway is it considered more than one penalty if I try to reconnect.<<<< It took me some time to realize I was banned. This is first time to do this.

#41 ephesith

ephesith

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 November 2005 - 08:02 PM

1 680kO resistor

I'm haveing trouble finding one of these. dry.gif

Radio Shack, nor the local computer store has them. Can I use a larger resistor or will that screw things up? I know NOTHING about circuitry.


#42 leeloo5

leeloo5

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Location:East Coast USA
  • Interests:Xbox, BT, dvdshrink, messing with electronics, Half.com selling.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 22 November 2005 - 06:14 AM

you could chain them together, or you could buy a ton on ebay for a total of about $3-$5 after shipping.

#43 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 December 2005 - 10:29 PM

So, does this only output in 480p? What would I need to do to get it running at say, 1024x768? Would a YPbPr adapter be what I'm looking for, or would this do the job?

#44 life-less

life-less

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 December 2005 - 10:44 PM

I believe your drawings of the plastic piece of the end of your scart are wrong/backwards... looking at mine from the top oriented the same direction as your drawings... my pins go from small to tall '|'|'|'|'|'|
so are the schematics still the same, or are they backwards too???

please help.... thank you

Edited by life-less, 05 December 2005 - 10:46 PM.


#45 X_Gamer7

X_Gamer7

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 December 2005 - 07:40 PM

life-less, yes they are wrong. Go by the numbers, not the drawing. In the meantime, leeloo5, you should change the drawings so there is no future confusion. The xbox scart cable pins should be flipped around. As life-less said, the first one is small, then the second is tall. You have the drawings showing tall then small. Good tutorial though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users