Jump to content


Photo

Complete VGA Mod Guide (Diagrams, Hex Edits)


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#76 beenieman4355

beenieman4355

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 145 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 12 March 2007 - 09:04 PM

Can this work with a soft modded XBox using AUto Installer Deluxe 3 and XBMC 2.01?

Are there any commercial product that use the LM1881.
I was thinking of desoldering it if it comes in a popular electronic I might have knocking around.

Edited by beenieman4355, 12 March 2007 - 09:08 PM.


#77 brilliantdonkey

brilliantdonkey

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 112 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 April 2007 - 07:25 PM

You can order samples from the National Semiconductor website.

#78 bobsupercow

bobsupercow

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 June 2007 - 11:39 PM

If anyone would be interested in building a cable for me for some extra $$$ drop me a PM.

#79 proverclocker

proverclocker

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 August 2007 - 01:53 PM


Hey guys,

after reading these interesting threads about the whole VGA thing, I just decided to build such a cable and try it by my own. So now after a long time of soldering its done, but I can't get no picture on one of my 3 screens except the flubber animation. I used the LM1881N and the other standart parts as in the guide...
The only way to get a picture is at the moment to switch the cable to standart VGA mode and after the flubber animation with a green tint its over...black screen. All other switch positions like HD or AV didn't work at all...
So please help me... I'm lost...

greetings from germany!

P.S. You are the best here, great work so far!


#80 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 August 2007 - 09:02 PM

1. Switch your console over to NTSC (using Enigmah's NTSC-PAL Switcher)

2. Switch your mode setting on your VGA cable to HDTV (2+3 Mode)

3. Enable 480p in your Microsoft Dashboard using an HDTV cable (or blindly using your VGA cable...)

4. Boot your XBOX with a VGA BIOS and your VGA cable, and you're set.

#81 Essenar

Essenar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 12 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 August 2007 - 12:41 AM

Be nice if this said specifically which .1 cap and 680kO resistor to get.

There's 1/4 watt, 1 watt, etc etc and NO search doesn't come up with results on which is best.

#82 proverclocker

proverclocker

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2007 - 02:13 PM

Hey there!

Thanks Frosty, my Pal xbox V 1.1 runs now properly at 2 of my 3 screens. You've done a very awesome work!
The only problem is with my IBM G74 screen. There are many dropouts (the screens goes blank very often). And the whole picture is very bright, when I have a picture smile.gif. I can't even go to the screen settings menu because the picture goes blank when I try to do this. Could the resistor I used be the trigger of this failures? I took a 470kΩ resistor.

Thanks for the support!

Greetings from germany

Proverclocker

P.S. Sorry when my english is a bit strange wink.gif Is it?

#83 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 November 2007 - 10:31 PM

I just got around to building one of these. Got some issues

I didnt have the exact componoents on hand, I used a 470kO and a 220kO in series for the 680k, and for the .1uF caps I used 2 .047uF in parallel. I think that part should be fine

I flashed my second bank on my duox2 with frostys x2 5035


Problem is i dont get anything on screen when i boot from either bios, on either of my monitors.

Do i have to enable 480p/720p/1080i before anything shows up? if so whats the easiest way to do so (I dont have a tv with component imputs around)

#84 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 November 2007 - 03:23 AM

My X2 5035 will actually boot into VGA on any XBOX v1.0-v1.5 regardless of whether or not the HDTV settings are on. happy.gif But you do need an HDTV cable to use it... no other mode setting will work at all with this BIOS except for HDTV (Mode 2+3). (no other cable of any kind will work with this BIOS)

What mode setting are you using on your cable? (some guides use Mode 1+3 which does not work with my X2 5035)

Follow this guide to build a cable that is compatible with my X2 5035:

http://www.360mods.n...cle/sid=32.html

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 13 November 2007 - 03:25 AM.


#85 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 November 2007 - 07:31 AM

I followed a different guide before that i messed up the wiring (box was being turned on by plugging in the cable)

used the guide you pointed to, wired perfectly, but I suppose the 1881 may have been damaged (doubtful), but I will try some things

Is there a site that says whether my monitor is SOG or not?

#86 smoke_screen_uk

smoke_screen_uk

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Plymouth, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 November 2007 - 08:53 PM

Here's a couple of links to pages that should help.

VGA Mod Tutorial on 360Mods.net

PS2-Linux Monitor Sync-on-Green Compatibility List

#87 richards30004

richards30004

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 03:59 AM

ok i got a question i have a moniter that the vgs end that connects to the computer is a hd15 pin male and it is bad or lose wires in it if i cut a end off of a old moniter that doesnt work can i splice the wires and it work and on the moniter cables there is a round thing about 3 to 5 inches away from the end what is that and does it need to be there or not i dont know if it is doing anything or just a straight throw thing
i would like to get this moniter working so any help that i can get on this will hopefully help
thanks so much

QUOTE(leeloo5 @ Jul 18 2005, 05:25 PM) View Post

http://antibeat.host.sk/vgaguide/

It took me a while to find various information about vga mods here. people were very helpful, but the tutorials were slightly old and some of the diagrams confusing. also, i only knew about hex editing after stumbling upon it.

To make it easier for someone to get into making a VGA mod to play xbox games on their PC monitors, i've brought together much of this information from the xs forums. I made my own diagrams i thought were more clear, and tried to make it all as simple as possible. Although i tried to keep it simple, i wanted to introduce someone with no information to the terms assosiated with doing the mod so that they could easily search this forum for relevant information.

Includes:
-HD vs s-video comparison with screenshots
-Guide with diagrams on wiring a vga cable
-Quick guide to hex editing the MS Dashboard and other non-HD games to work in 480p
-A list of games with the green-tint problem



#88 ldotsfan

ldotsfan

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,100 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 August 2008 - 04:08 AM

QUOTE(richards30004 @ Aug 3 2008, 11:35 AM) View Post

on the moniter cables there is a round thing about 3 to 5 inches away from the end what is that and does it need to be there or not i dont know if it is doing anything or just a straight throw thing

Ferrite core, http://en.wikipedia....ki/Ferrite_bead

#89 eleyan

eleyan

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 01 October 2008 - 05:11 AM

Hi guys, I'm new to this topic so my question may seem dumb. I tried to buy a component 2 VGA cable and use that with my component xbox connector to hook it up to my monitor. I don't get any picture on the screen and my monitor complains saying "Not Optimum Mode. Recommended Mode 1600x1200 60Hz"
My question is this, how different is the VGA connector hack described in this thread from an off the shelf component to VGA connector?
I tied holding the 2 triggers and pushing down the 2 sticks, but nothing happened. I have a moded XBOX running xecuter 2. I went to the system setting screen and tried both enabling the 480p,780p & 1080p and disabling them with the same results.

#90 jakejm79

jakejm79

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 389 posts

Posted 01 October 2008 - 03:57 PM

Do you know if your monitor supports Sync on Green (SOG, if you check the specs on the manufacturers website it should say). If it does then you shouldnt need anything other than a component to to VGA cable, if not you will have to build/buy one with the sync separator circuit. The other problem is some newer monitors dont like running at such a low resolution as 640x480 (480P) have you tried starting an app/setting your dash so it uses 720P and then plugging in the monitor and see if you get a picture in that mode?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users