Photo

Several Questions Covering A Range Of Topics.

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Bo33b

Bo33b

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 July 2005 - 02:16 PM

Hi all, just another noob here with a slew of multi-topic questions. I've been trying to understand the xbox mod scene for several months now, and I'm hoping a seasoned vet could give me some feedback here. If you'd please provide the corresponding Q# in your post, it'd be a great help. I'm sure a bunch of noobs have these same questions, so you'd be helping a lot of us. Please feel free to expand on any of the Yes/No questions. I do realize that some of these may be answered elsewhere in the forums; if it aggrivates you that I'm asking 'em, just skip 'em or, better yet, humor me with your response. Thanks in advance.

CODE

Q#  Type        Question (In no particular order)
       ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
       1   Short Ans.  What would happen if I opened my Xbox and hooked its DVD drive
                       up to the IDE connector on a PC? Would my PC be able to use it
                       as a regular DVD-ROM? Would it read game discs? Would a PC BIOS
                       even detect it? Can the power connector be adapted to work with a
                       4-pin PC power connector? Any recent developments in this area?
       2   Yes/No      Can a PC DVD drive serve as an Xbox DVD drive replacement?
       3   Y/N         If yes above, would it read game discs?
       4   Y/N         If I run a homebrew dash on my modded box, does it remain in memory
                       if I launch a game from it?
       5   Y/N         If I have EvoX and UnleashX installed, and repeatedly launch one
                       from the other, will my system's resources be consumed? (Extension
                       of the previous question)