Jump to content


Photo

Mod Idea!


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 soupy_31

soupy_31

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,178 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Hockey, XBOX, GFX..
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 July 2005 - 06:41 AM

I just recently had this idea when i saw small hand held speakers at radio shack.. i was wondering if i could somehow wire these speakers into my xbox and have a built in sound system.. any ideas or comments?

Edited by soupy_31, 24 July 2005 - 06:45 AM.


#2 Zeusydude

Zeusydude

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2

Posted 24 July 2005 - 06:45 AM

QUOTE(soupy_31 @ Jul 24 2005, 07:52 AM)
I just recently had this idea when i saw small hand held speakers at radio shack.. i was wondering if i could somehow wire in these speakers into my xbox and have a built in sound system.. any ideas or comments?

View Post


how about you put jacks so you can hook up surround sound speakers?
what im thinking is so hard to explain because i cant afford one so i wont say it at all uhh.gif

#3 ReRuss

ReRuss

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 547 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 07:09 AM

yes you can do that

#4 MickRaider

MickRaider

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,880 posts
  • Interests:I have no interests
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 08:11 AM

Very do-able. Just be sure they have a built in amp and runs off either 12, 7, or 5v DV.

#5 lareamond

lareamond

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 July 2005 - 08:13 AM

and make sure they're heavily shielded. don't wanna magnetize that hdd and dvdrom do ya? smile.gif

#6 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 09:29 AM

QUOTE(lareamond @ Jul 24 2005, 06:24 PM)
and make sure they're heavily shielded. don't wanna magnetize that hdd and dvdrom do ya? smile.gif

View Post



speakers and magnetic devices dont match at all. lots of alluminum foil for you my friend

#7 Zeusydude

Zeusydude

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2

Posted 24 July 2005 - 09:52 AM

ok lemme give this a try, you know that thing that comes with the surround sound? that big counsole that controls volume n such, what if you take that and flush mount that to the top of the xbox? take it outa the case a put it on the top and bondo it in, and wire it all up and everything?

#8 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 10:45 AM

QUOTE(Zeusydude @ Jul 24 2005, 08:03 PM)
ok lemme give this a try, you know that thing that comes with the surround sound? that big counsole that controls volume n such, what if you take that and flush mount that to the top of the xbox? take it outa the case a put it on the top and bondo it in, and wire it all up and everything?

View Post



well that unit is the amplifier.

and its big, and creates a shit laod of heat (like as much as the cpu).

it wont fit inside the xbox, and if you try to stick it on top, you end up with an xbox with a box on top of it,


#9 GoP-Demon

GoP-Demon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 24 July 2005 - 12:22 PM

If you had an amplifier inside the xbox wouldn't it have to be plugged in? And Also where the hell is there space inside the xbox fora speaker?

#10 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 02:43 PM

QUOTE(GoP-Demon @ Jul 24 2005, 10:33 PM)
If you had an amplifier inside the xbox wouldn't it have to be plugged in? And Also where the hell is  there space inside the xbox fora  speaker?

View Post



you probably ould run it off the xbox power supply, but it would be very touch and go with whether or not the psu could supply that much power

and there is some room that you could mount speakers, but i think there would be a lot of bondoing going on.

#11 leijae

leijae

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 490 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Interests:i like.... girls.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 July 2005 - 03:59 PM

Blockbuster carries small speaker sets that connect to psp's, ipods, and just about any other portable sound device. create an internal jack, then dismantle the sound system. i would put the speakers on the left and right sides where the ribs are.

#12 lostboyz

lostboyz

    Mr. Knowitall

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,188 posts
  • Location:The D
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 July 2005 - 04:10 PM

i know this isnt a very "modders" idea. but i think most tvs speakers are a shitton better than any handheld ones from radio shack. just a thought

#13 soupy_31

soupy_31

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,178 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Hockey, XBOX, GFX..
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 July 2005 - 07:32 PM

lol but whats the fun in that? i was thinkin.. could u have the amp outside the xbox.. then wire the speakers in and be able to control it from the outside but still have the speakers themselves on the inside? i think its do-able.

#14 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 July 2005 - 07:30 AM

QUOTE(soupy_31 @ Jul 25 2005, 05:43 AM)
lol but whats the fun in that? i was thinkin.. could u have the amp outside the xbox.. then wire the speakers in and be able to control it from the outside but still have the speakers themselves on the inside? i think its do-able.

View Post



thats do able, definitley. as logn as you know where and hwo your going to mount the speaskers




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users