Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial : Completely Uninstall A Softmod.


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 Soullar

Soullar

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 12:18 PM

Tutorial : Completely uninstall a softmod.

So you're scared by the Bungie boys and gals (or other source) and you decided to get rid of you softmod.

This is the place to be!

As you're modded now, you should still have FTP access. If you don't :

http://www.chefelf.c.../networking.php (I won't be answering questions on networking!)

There will be 4 parts:

1) I used an autoinstaller.

2) I used a 'virtual c:', used an exploitable game + gamesave/installer. (or 'What is virtual c? What are you talking about? But I did use a game to mod')

3) I didn't use a game.

4) I don't have FTP access, I hotswapped.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



1) I used an autoinstaller.

# Things needed : exploitable game, exploited savegame on HDD

* Colboot using your exploitable game.
* Load the gamesave you used to mod.
* Choose : uninstall, follow the onscreen directions.
* Done.



2) I used a 'virtual c:', used an exploitable game + gamesave/installer.

# Things needed : exploitable game, original MS dash (from backup or Slayers (xbins)), PC + FTP COnnection.

* Colboot using your exploitable game
* Load the gamesave you used to mod
--> You should now have FTP access.
* connect to your xbox through FTP.
* Delete everything on C:
* Delete everything on E: , except E:\Tdata en E:\Udata
* FTP your original MS dash to C:
* Reboot
--> Your xbox boots now to original dash.
* DONE


3) I didn't use a game, I don't have a virtual c:

# Things needed : original MS dash (from backup or Slayers (xbins)), PC + FTP COnnection.

* connect to your xbox through FTP.
* Delete everything on C:
* Delete everything on E: , except E:\Tdata en E:\Udata
* FTP your original MS dash to C:
* Reboot
--> Your xbox boots now to original dash.
* DONE


4) I don't have FTP access, I hotswapped.

# Things needed : original MS dash (from backup or Slayers (xbins)), PC, xboxhdm.

* Make a new xboxhdm boot disk, this time just put the original MS Dash in /linux/c , follow this tutorial

on creating a xboxhdm boot disk : http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=244043
* Hotswap your hdd to PC. If you forgot how to: http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=332179
* Follow the xboxhdm tut.
* Reboot
--> Your xbox boots now to original dash.
* DONE


BONUS INSTRUCTIONS : For the ultra-paranoid and Halo2 cheaters fearing to get banned :

Follow the instructions above, but also :

* Delete The folders : E:\TDATA\4d530064 and E:\UDATA\4d530064 (these are the H2 folders)
* Delete The folder : E\udata\xxxxxxxx (where the x'a represent the unique number for the exploitable game you used.
* Delete everything in E:\cache , X: , Y: and Z:
* FTP your original MS dash to C:
* Reboot
--> Your xbox boots now to original dash. Not even a single softmod trace will be there.
* DONE


Thanks, once again, to :

* Daddy J for the hotswapping tutorial.
* Kingroach for the xboxhdm tutorial.
- All other 'softmod' regulars who contributed in either code or answers!

#2 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2005 - 12:31 PM

Also nice. Should save a few of the constantly repeated posts asked lately.

#3 DaddyJ

DaddyJ

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,919 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 28 July 2005 - 02:13 PM

Excellent Soullar, hope you will post them over @ REF as well.

Edited by DaddyJ, 28 July 2005 - 02:13 PM.


#4 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 05:03 PM

Can I get the MS dash files from the usual places?

#5 Horscht

Horscht

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,412 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 05:15 PM

Not directly, no. But you should stop by there anyways. Check for Slayers in the usual place. You'll get a useful torrent there......

Edited by Horscht, 04 September 2005 - 05:15 PM.


#6 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 05:19 PM

OH, so if I put put the slayers disk has the normal dash files?

#7 Horscht

Horscht

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,412 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 05:28 PM

If you read the tutorial, you'd know.

#8 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 05:58 PM

Do I have to burn slayer with a cd-rw?

#9 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 06:28 PM

Ok, mission succesfull! My DVD ROM drive reads the disk but what option do I use to put the original MS dash files back?

#10 RiceCake

RiceCake

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Interests:Wait, what the hell?<br />Your interested in what I do?<br />None of your damn buisness!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 06:56 PM

You can get the MS dash off Slayer's ISO by extracting the ISO with a tool like Quix, then head into /System/All/C/.

For me uninstalling my exploit has almost become routine. Grab boXplorer, delete everything in X:\, Y:\, Z:\, E:\CACHE\, check C:\, D:\, UDATA, and TDATA for stray files, reboot Xbox, open memory window in MS dash, delete all homebrew related gamesaves...

Since you can delete the EvoX XBE as EvoX is running, don't reboot after you've deleted stuff before double-checking that everything is clean and sane (especially C:\!), or else you could be hotswapping. Actually if your smart and you grabbed your EEPROM and backed it up to your PC! you can coldswap!

Edited by RiceCake, 15 September 2005 - 10:24 PM.


#11 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 08:20 PM

I see the filese in c but I cant transfer them to my pc, I can only view them.

#12 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 08:40 PM

Alright, everything is deleted and I got my original Xbox dash now beerchug.gif

One last question, I have an alladin xt modchip and I was just wondering if I am allowed to go on live with the hard drive with the chip not activated.

#13 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 September 2005 - 10:08 PM

uhh.gif

#14 Cio

Cio

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,377 posts
  • Location:Lelygat NL
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 September 2005 - 11:31 AM

Technically, no, your not allowed to go on live when you have done anything to ur box.

Read all the crap about the marriage theory (XBL, hard drives and eeproms) then ull know. This aint your personal help thread here. Just bout removing the softmod.

#15 xalvalt

xalvalt

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Location:Madison, SD
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 January 2006 - 06:49 AM

Oh wow, thanks a lot for this thread. I have 2 hdds, my 8gb, which was softmodded, and a 200gb and I swap back and forth when I want to play on Live. Awesome tut.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users