Jump to content


Photo

Power Issue


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 09:44 PM

ok, i have a temperature lcd on me. it takes 2 1.5 volt button cell batteries and they are hooked up in parralel. where in the xbox could i find a power scource for this or is it possible to get a resistor to hook up to the 5 voltor something so it works?

#2 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:13 PM

The batteries must be in series not paralell. This would mean the unit works from 3v. Use the 3v3 from the power supply and it should work fine.

Edited by Chancer, 06 August 2005 - 10:14 PM.


#3 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:25 PM

so try the 3.3 volt on only one of the 2 battery slots

#4 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:36 PM

The battery terminal wil be connected in series as there is no point in sticking 2x 1.5v batterries in paralell as you still only have 1.5v.
The baterries will be fitted like - + - + so you need to be ground to the - termeinal at one side and the 3v3 to the positive at the other like

3v3------------------ + Battery 1 positive terminal connection
-
+
Ground ------------- - Battery 2 negative Terminal Connection


Hope my crappy diagrams make some sense.

Edited by Chancer, 06 August 2005 - 10:39 PM.


#5 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:43 PM

when i look at it closely it is wired in parralel. positives are connected together and negatives together. maybe its for extra battery life? it also says 1.5 volts on the trace after the 2 are joined

#6 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:52 PM

If you are certain its 1.5v then 3v3 is too much to feed into it. Very strange for 2 batteries to be stuck in paralell.
There are some calculators here http://www.ifigure.c...ic/electric.htm so you could work out what to do. Wouldn't it be easier to just leave it running from batteries

#7 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 10:57 PM

well the batteries will drain in like a year or something and it will always be on, i want it on when the xbox is on, so then the 3.3 volt wouldnt evenbe sufficient

#8 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:03 PM

The problem is the voltage drop in a resistor is dependant on the current flow through it. The current source also needs to be stable, so sticking a resistor in to lower the voltage is not really a method that will work reliablly without knowing the current from the source and also being able to guarantee it will be stable.
If you feed more than double the voltage to the unit it will almost certainly do damage to it so you would need 1.5v

Edited by Chancer, 06 August 2005 - 11:04 PM.


#9 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:04 PM

are all the ground points in the xbox grounded when the xbox is off? if not, i could ground the batteries in the xbox so that its only on when my xbox is on

#10 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:06 PM

Yes ground is ground whatever. Fit a switch in the connection from the battery negative terminal to the PCB so you could switch off the batteries when they are not needed

#11 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:12 PM

hey what if i hooked the + to the 5 volt and grounded it to the 3.3 volt, would it be close enough?

#12 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:15 PM

Stop don't connect something accross 2 voltage rails in the Xbox. This will likley do damage to the Xbox depending on the load accross the rails.

#13 cyfi

cyfi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Location:CA
  • Interests:(Check my website)
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:20 PM

i thought it was ok to do that

can i hook up a AAA battery to it so the battery lasts much longer?

Edited by cyfi, 06 August 2005 - 11:24 PM.


#14 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 August 2005 - 11:27 PM

Yes you can safely hook up a 1.5v AAA battery with a larger capacity to it. that would be safer than risking damage to the box.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users