Jump to content


Photo

Gaming Computer


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 01:44 AM

Ok i was looking at a Hp computer and i was wonderign if it would be good for gaming.
It has a:
AMD Athlon™ 64 3500+
250 gb hard drive
1gig of ram
and im going to add the Ati x800 xl card.

Tell me what you think.

#2 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 02:24 AM

nobody?

#3 DjO

DjO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Lawrence, KS
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 August 2005 - 03:06 AM

this post wasn't even up for 30 minutes and you had already bumped it?
this isn't n00b chat where hundreds of people are watching at any given time. Maybe a few people every hour come to this forum.
Next what kind of gaming do you want to do?
We can't help unless you're specific.

#4 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 03:11 AM

ill disreguard your last comment.....umm i just want to do normal gaming like hl2 css, bf2 etc... nothing extreme like doom3.

Edited by xb_xpmoder, 09 August 2005 - 03:12 AM.


#5 KDragon

KDragon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Interests:Anything About Technoligy
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 August 2005 - 04:56 AM

1. Do !!!NOT!!! get an hp for gaming cuz when you do want to play the more intence games like FEAR (the best game in the world IMHO) or Doom3 you will not as easly be able to upgrade.

2. Dont waist your money on an amd 64 bit chip unless you will be running windows XP 64 and i dont know many people that would at this point.

#6 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 11:03 AM

I heard teh amd64 is very good for gaming and besides what the hell else am i suppost to buy a p4? No way.. Also i dont really do intense gaming because i stick mostly to hl2 and css, bf2eatc..

#7 S0L4RUS

S0L4RUS

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 August 2005 - 04:41 PM

AMD pwns Intel. You can argue stability, but in pure power there is no contest.

dont EVEN bring GHz into it, cause it will not even matter. Power > GHz.

a 1.81GHz AMD 64bit chip can out-perform a 3.5-4 GHz Intel P4 chip.

The system you have picked out will run those games fine. I built my own system around an AMD 3500+ and i could not be happier with it.

While you could probably build your own system for way less than the price of that comp, that computer will do fine.

Personally, i wouldnt get an HP. I dont like how cramped their designs are, and like somebody else mentioned it will be hard to work in there. But, the answer to your question is yes

#8 S0L4RUS

S0L4RUS

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 August 2005 - 04:42 PM

oops, double posted!

Edited by S0L4RUS, 09 August 2005 - 04:43 PM.


#9 deftonesmx17

deftonesmx17

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,337 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 August 2005 - 06:52 PM

QUOTE(KDragon @ Aug 9 2005, 12:07 AM)
2. Dont waist your money on an amd 64 bit chip unless you will be running windows XP 64 and i dont know many people that would at this point.

You dont need Windows x64 to run an Athlon 64 CPU. Also, an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ is only about $150.


XB_xpmoder- I would build my own PC. Forget the HP. Another thing about the Athlon 64's is overclocking. For instance the AMD 64 3000+ runs at 1.81Ghz and outperforms any P4 under 3.4Ghz. Here is an example http://www.firingsqu...otout/page4.asp
Now remember how the AMD Athlon 64 is running at 1.81GHz? With nice ram and a nice motherboard, this sucker will fly. I have an Athlon 64 3000 that is clocked at 2.7Ghz. I ran benchmarks at that speed and it outperforms an AMD Athlon 64 FX-55. Not bad for a $150 chip, eh?

Edited by deftonesmx17, 09 August 2005 - 06:52 PM.


#10 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 08:04 PM

Thats it amd pwns all i just looked at that link, that kicks ass!!!



Edited by xb_xpmoder, 09 August 2005 - 08:04 PM.


#11 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 08:33 PM

Ok i found a computer combination that i can make a decent gaming computer out of, tell me if this is good.

Amd 3800+
1gig ram
X800 ati vid card

the only problem is that their is only 2 motherboards that support this processor
and it only has agp slot and i would like to have pci express since its faster.

Is there any other motherboards that will work with this processor??
This is the only thing that i can find http://www.newegg.co...=&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

Edited by xb_xpmoder, 09 August 2005 - 08:34 PM.


#12 deftonesmx17

deftonesmx17

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,337 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 August 2005 - 08:45 PM

Is the Athlon 64 3800+ A socket 939 or 754. I need to know or you can provide a link. I would get a S939 CPU as you can upgrade.

#13 SniperKilla

SniperKilla

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 August 2005 - 08:50 PM

QUOTE(xb_xpmoder @ Aug 9 2005, 03:44 PM)
Ok i found a computer combination that i can make a decent gaming computer out of, tell me if this is good.

Amd 3800+
1gig ram
X800 ati vid card

the only problem is that their is only 2 motherboards that support this processor
and it only has agp slot and i would like to have pci express since its faster.

Is there any other motherboards that will work with this processor??
This is the only thing that i can find http://www.newegg.co...=&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

View Post




you seem to be confused...

ANY s754 mobo works with ANY s754 processor, and ANY s939 mobo works with any s939 processor.. theres not certain mobos that work with certain speed a64's

and whatever socket you get.. i would defiently reccomend a DFI Lanparty NF3 250Gb for S754 and a DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D for S939, as they are the best mobos avail

#14 xb_xpmoder

xb_xpmoder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 August 2005 - 08:55 PM

It the 939
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103531

I just thought it only had 2 mobo's that supported it because on new egg there was a link that said "supported motherboards" and their was only 2 in it.
Also i checked the lan party motherboard and on a reveiw it says its not good for a first timer and i never built a pc is it that confusing?

Edited by xb_xpmoder, 09 August 2005 - 08:59 PM.


#15 SniperKilla

SniperKilla

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 August 2005 - 09:59 PM

QUOTE(xb_xpmoder @ Aug 9 2005, 04:06 PM)
It the 939
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103531

I just thought it only had 2 mobo's that supported it because on new egg there was a link that said "supported motherboards" and their was only 2 in it.
Also i checked the lan party motherboard and on a reveiw it says its not good for a first timer and i never built a pc is it that confusing?

View Post



i dont see how it cant be good for a "first timer" its not like its any more complicated then any other motherboard out there... the only reason i could think of is because it has more extensive overclocking settings.. which you really shouldent be messing with if your a "first timer" anyway wink.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users