Jump to content


Photo

Lcd Support


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 11:50 AM

hey there guys. i am planning on making up a new case for my xbox, and i thought while im at it, i may as well include an lcd screen.

what sort of screen is needed usually? (i.e. parallel or serial, lines, column's ect...)?

i know i have an alladin xt modchip in my xbox.....and i know that alladins can support lcd screens. so how do i figure out if my chip supports an lcd screen?

thanks in advance
cheers
beerchug.gif

#2 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY &quot;HEY R U THERE?&quot;
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 12:14 PM

Some alladins don't support LCD, some do. The XT 4064 does. I believe the standard is 4x20 lines, or 2x20.

#3 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 12:19 PM

QUOTE(SICKdimension @ Aug 10 2005, 10:25 PM)
Some alladins don't support LCD, some do. The XT 4064 does. I believe the standard is 4x20 lines, or 2x20.

View Post



ok then. is the number written on the chip somewhere?

#4 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY &quot;HEY R U THERE?&quot;
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 12:29 PM

I don't think so. I think what determines it is if there is a pot on the chip or not. Check google for a pic of what the 4064 looks like, vs. a 4032, to see which one you have.

#5 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 12:31 PM

QUOTE(SICKdimension @ Aug 10 2005, 10:40 PM)
I don't think so. I think what determines it is if there is a pot on the chip or not. Check google for a pic of what the 4064 looks like, vs. a 4032, to see which one you have.

View Post



ok, ill give google a whizz and see what i can dig up

thanks heaps
cheers
beerchug.gif

#6 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 12:40 PM

ok, so i have found these pics:

4064 pic
4032
these right?

so i have a 4032......what can i do so i can get lcd support?

#7 michaelhaynes110

michaelhaynes110

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Qld, Australia
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 August 2005 - 01:44 PM

1. New Chip
2. Addon Board
3. Hippad type install

I would personally go the new chip as the addon boards are expensive and I dunno if they sell them in Australia (I think Quantronics might). The hippad wont give the same effect as a character lcd so I would go the character and its cheaper.

#8 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY &quot;HEY R U THERE?&quot;
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 01:49 PM

Ya, you'll have to upgrade the chip to the 4064 or one of the bigger chips like smartxx or x3.

#9 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2005 - 01:54 PM

QUOTE(SICKdimension @ Aug 11 2005, 12:00 AM)
Ya, you'll have to upgrade the chip to the 4064 or one of the bigger chips like smartxx or x3.

View Post



ok, thanks for all your help. me dads mate knows the bloke who imports the chips, so ill talk to him and see what i can arrage....(its grate being the son of a chip installer, who buys direct from the importer)

thanks all again, i really apprecite it

cheers
beerchug.gif

#10 madsci1016

madsci1016

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Location:Tallahassee, Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 August 2005 - 02:32 PM

this is what i had, i just didnt feel like buying a new chip and redoing everything. if you get their lcd and connectors too it all just plugs into each other and makes the install easier.

http://www.gamefreax...&product=lcdmod


#11 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 August 2005 - 07:37 AM

QUOTE(madsci1016 @ Aug 11 2005, 12:43 AM)
this is what i had, i just didnt feel like buying a new chip and redoing everything. if you get their lcd and connectors too it all just plugs into each other and makes the install easier.

http://www.gamefreax...&product=lcdmod

View Post



thanks for the link. ill talk to the guys, and see what i can get from them




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users