Jump to content


Photo

1.6 Mobo In Different Case


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 August 2005 - 08:45 PM

Hey guys,

I just got done repairing a broken transistor on a 1.6 mobo that had been shorted out by putting it in the wrong case. I was wondering what I need to do to the case to ensure that it wont happen again. I'm not sure what version case it came out of, so if it matters I can try to find out.

Basically my question is where does it short out, and what do I need to tape over/ clip off of the case to make sure it doesnt happen again?

Thanks

Edited by Statecowboy, 13 August 2005 - 08:55 PM.


#2 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:24 PM

I took out a 1.6 mobo and power supply and put it into a crystal case. I tried powering up the xbox after about a month and found out it did not work. So xbox 1.6 do not work in other cases? could you please explain what might of shorted out. I was about to order a new power supply, but I bet i have the same problem as you.

#3 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:33 PM

http://www.llamma.co...ox_no_power.htm

#4 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:35 PM

I personally haven't done it yet, but from reading here it seems like there is an extra metal tab on the bottom shielding, near the LPC and under that transistor. Cut it off, and if you've already blown the transistor, you'll have to replace that too.

#5 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:45 PM

Thanks SickDimension, I already replaced mine and got it working, I was just trying to figure out how to get it back into the case without blowing it again. I was hoping someone had a guide or tut on how to. I guess Illl just clip off everything that is suspect.

Edited by Statecowboy, 13 August 2005 - 09:46 PM.


#6 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:48 PM

how can i tell what has blown and how do i fix it?

#7 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 August 2005 - 09:54 PM

It says in that tut I posted. you need to test the collector voltage with a multi meter.

Also to fix it you replace it. You could order one off of that site. Or you could try to find one at radio shack or somewhere else (digikey). I used one we had at work, it was a different package, but same number.

#8 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 August 2005 - 10:22 PM

ok does anyone have any of these resistors, lamma charges 7.00 to ship. Shipping should be $0.37

edit: would these work?
http://www.futurlec....MBT3906pr.shtml

Edited by OpenXbox, 13 August 2005 - 10:29 PM.


#9 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 August 2005 - 10:23 PM

I have the transistors at my shop for $1.

#10 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 August 2005 - 10:33 PM

do you get 2 of them for $1.00 like llama?
So can I get 4 for $2.00

#11 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 August 2005 - 11:24 PM

OK...just to clear things up, my question was...what have people done to modify their old cases to fit in a 1.6 mobo? Thread got a little off topic.

#12 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 14 August 2005 - 12:47 AM

do you just have to clip off the metal piece , or do you have to solder metal to the other plastic standoffs?

llama says to just clip the metal, but this site says different

http://www.paintedxbox.com/save1.6.htm

#13 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 August 2005 - 01:07 AM

Just clip that one tab. You don't need to have the other points touching the mobo. There's plenty of other tabs that will ground the shielding to the mobo. Clip the tab and you're done.

#14 OpenXbox

OpenXbox

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts

Posted 22 August 2005 - 10:34 PM

has anyone actually repaired their 1.6 board with these resistors? I just replaced the one and i still get no power. (anyone want to buy a board with some extra resistors?)

#15 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 September 2005 - 02:28 AM

QUOTE(OpenXbox @ Aug 22 2005, 05:45 PM)
has anyone actually repaired  their 1.6 board with these resistors?  I just replaced the one and i still get no power. (anyone want to buy a board with some extra resistors?)

View Post



They're actually transistors not resistors, and yes I did. (Sorry for the late reply)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users