Jump to content


Photo

I Know This Isint Windows... But..


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 JEB-101

JEB-101

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 16 August 2005 - 03:06 AM

ok..i've just read that MAC OSX has been cracked to run on any X86 machine... do you think this is gonna be doable either through linux or a standalone installer? this would kick ass... considering a 1.5GHZ with 256MB of ram on X86 OSX runs faster than any G5 chip on the market... woudnt the xbox and it's 64\128MB ram run pretty dam good OS X?

and please forgive me if that has been mentioned since the crack of mac OS. and if in the wrong place (dont know where els to put it..) please move or delete.

beerchug.gif
JEB

#2 the_devil73

the_devil73

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 16 August 2005 - 06:44 PM

I dont know if you know what your talking about. There are many G5 chips that beat that. and Mac OSX runs extremley slow on a 64 MByte memory system, especially a celorn 733 MHz. And its bein "emulated", and not "cracked", by pearpc which means it takes a chunk of whatever processor you have and emulates a G5 running at the same speed, reguardless of the processor. Dont expect people to answer you if u didnt study first.

If you look at the original post, u can see that people said nice job, but then they also said how slow it went.

Also this goes in the linux section.

#3 B1ZKIT

B1ZKIT

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 August 2005 - 04:03 AM

Actually its been installed nativley. But it would be extremely slow, and I doubt it would be even worth it to install. I'm doubt the xbox has a sse3 chip.

#4 JEB-101

JEB-101

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 August 2005 - 05:11 AM

QUOTE(B1ZKIT @ Aug 17 2005, 01:14 AM)
Actually its been installed nativley.  But it would be extremely slow, and I doubt it would be even worth it to install.  I'm doubt the xbox has a sse3 chip.

View Post




accauly it dont need one... it's been cracked not to look for it.. and it has been running faster than any mac OS out there.. it runs extremely fast on X86 CPU's... ill find some screenshots from a web site... to show the mac on PC ohmy.gif

beerchug.gif
JEB


#5 JEB-101

JEB-101

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Canada EH!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 August 2005 - 05:17 AM

user posted image
http://www.hardmac.c...2005-08-10#4354

Edited by JEB-101, 17 August 2005 - 05:17 AM.


#6 expert01

expert01

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 67 posts

Posted 21 August 2005 - 06:13 AM

He's right, it's running natively on x86 processors (minimum of SSE2 required though). I'm working on making myself a decent install DVD, it'll go good next to my official Vista and Longhorn DVDs.

#7 shakaru

shakaru

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 August 2005 - 08:11 AM

Im running the native osx86 and have been for a few days.
First. it wont run on ANY x86 machine. Infact, it wont run on most. For example. You must have a processor that support sse3 or at bare minimum sse2. You lose alot of funtion with sse2, so celeron user have issue.
Audio dosent relly work well and there are alot of issues.

As far as running it on an xbox, the answer is no.
The xbox does not have the sse2 or sse3 instruction set. Secondly you need to use the HFS file system. That would wipe the partion table and render the xbox useless. The install requires 4-6gb of space and there are so many reason why this wont work that its retarded.



#8 satans_banjo

satans_banjo

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 107 posts
  • Location:SE London, UK
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 August 2005 - 09:12 PM

QUOTE(expert01 @ Aug 21 2005, 07:24 AM)
He's right, it's running natively on x86 processors (minimum of SSE2 required though). I'm working on making myself a decent install DVD, it'll go good next to my official Vista and Longhorn DVDs.

View Post



if you do that could you share the ISO?

Edited by satans_banjo, 21 August 2005 - 09:18 PM.


#9 expert01

expert01

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 67 posts

Posted 22 August 2005 - 12:23 AM

I could, but not here, too illegal.

#10 epo12

epo12

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 29 August 2005 - 08:53 AM

Xbox is good Being Xbox!

If you wanted the xbox to run Apple mac the accesories would be:

1. AR Powerboard [The Keyboard]

2. A Controller [The mouse A for Left Mouse B for Right mouse, Analog to move mouse and analog click for middle mouse]

3. TV [ You should already have one]

4. Speakers [ You should already have one\more]

= Xbox Apple Mac

That would cost a load of money though!

Edited by epo12, 29 August 2005 - 08:53 AM.


#11 BuddyLeeX

BuddyLeeX

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Dallas, Tx
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 August 2005 - 10:07 PM

ya I think it has been installed natively already and has been unsuccessful because macox cant run on only 64mb ram, and runs shitty on 128mb.



#12 Millenia1x

Millenia1x

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2005 - 02:56 AM

MAC OSX DOES WORK ON XBOX

but its incredibly slow

if you google it you'll find it

#13 will1384

will1384

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 September 2005 - 07:51 PM

I had a Blue & White Macintosh it was a G3 350mhz with 512mb memory
and it ran slow with OS X - WindowsXP on a Intel P2 or P3 with that amount
of memory runs 10 times faster, - and I was using a older versoin that did
not use quartz as much - like 10.0

I could put XP on a computer Like a P1 233mhz with 256-512mb memory
and it run just as fast if not faster as the G3 350mhz system with OS X ,
usable but not zippy -

Now the new versions of OSX made for intel - need CPUs in the GHZ range
even if they did run on the Xbox it would be like trying to run up a sand dune

Why not make a fake OSX or windows - and make it a dash,
and have mouse and Keyboard, support - then put home brew
apps with it like notepad, calculator, webbrowser, paint, ect

I did see one dash that lookd like that dont remember what it was




#14 bitblaster

bitblaster

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 101 posts

Posted 05 September 2005 - 02:09 AM

dude can you hit me up on msn or AIM?

MSN: mitchell.barney@comcast.net
AIM: xblbitblaster05

I want to know more on how you did that. I just love Mac's but I cant afford one.

I would love to use that on my laptop, it has 1.5GB RAM and a Celeron M processor.

#15 Keo-Keo

Keo-Keo

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati Ohio
  • Interests:Modded.. Shell scripting all sorts of things.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 October 2005 - 05:39 AM

In order to get this thing to run we'd need access to the kernal.. Good thing is the kernal if i'm not mistaken in a hacked BSD kernal which we could possibly add patchs too from the BSD on the xbox project.. If someone could get their hands on the dev kit which was hacked it would be possibly to turn down alot of modules and stuff to drastically inscrease the speed for the xbox .. I'm no guru on this but it's quite possibly.. But is it probable i doubt it..




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users