Jump to content


Photo

Wiring Dual Activity Leds


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OmegaX

OmegaX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Interests:halo 2, ddr, modding, work
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:15 AM

i want to make a dvd window and illuminate it w/ leds, superbright whites. i want it to eb like this (illuminated white when dvd activity is present) and when there is activity on the dvd drive have yellow super brights turn on while the whites turn off. then when there is no activity have it revert back to the white leds on and the yellow off (i'm gonna have a (silver/gold paintjob) i would probrably do the same for the hard drive. i know dvd activity is pin 8 and hdd activity is pin 39 (i have an led for that) how would i wire this?

#2 flashfreak

flashfreak

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,255 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:24 AM

With the DVD Activity, Pin 8 has 3-5 when active. Wiring too many LEDs to that would simply drain power from the LEDs and they would be dim. I can't remember whether you need a resistor for these or not.

You would need to setup a relay or transistor setup if you want 1 lot to turn off when the others come off. It will be a bit of work.

Running too many LEDs from the IDE pin 39 for the hard drive will kill the hard drive. 1 is ok, but any more than that is just putting ur hard drive at risk.

#3 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:26 AM

Give me a minute, and Ill draw you a schematic

#4 Arjun

Arjun

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:29 AM

are pins 39 and 8 grounds or power?

#5 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:44 AM

From what ive just read 39 is ground while 8 is 3-5v

#6 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 01:51 AM

Here you are. The chip in the middle is an LM324 (dual) or an LM741 (in which case you will need two). Check the datasheet for the chip to find out how many milliamps it will handle to know how many LEDs you can have.

user posted image

#7 finding nemos

finding nemos

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 26 posts
  • Location:K-Town wisconsin
  • Interests:girls, xbox, some psp, ect.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 August 2005 - 02:11 AM

insanity... your too smart for our time. go to the next generation where you will fit in.



tongue.gif ph34r.gif

#8 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 02:17 AM

QUOTE(finding nemos @ Aug 30 2005, 09:22 PM)
insanity... your too smart for our time. go to the next generation where you will fit in.
tongue.gif  ph34r.gif

Haha thanks man beerchug.gif The only reason I know any of this is because my family used to take long road trips when I was really young and I had one of those 200-in-1 project labs from R-S, and I made and understood every circuit in there, so something like this seems easy. For anyone who cares, this circuit is called a 'Window Comparator" ... I think thats how you spell it tongue.gif

#9 speed_racer88

speed_racer88

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Alberta
  • Interests:I enjoy shredding the gnar, hangin' with my bros and long walks on the beach.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 August 2005 - 03:37 AM

QUOTE
The only reason I know any of this is because my family used to take long road trips when I was really young and I had one of those 200-in-1 project labs from R-S
nice, i need to get me one of those lol

#10 OmegaX

OmegaX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Interests:halo 2, ddr, modding, work
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 August 2005 - 04:26 AM

wow pretty fast replies, just what i was looking for thanx alot

edit: this would work for the hdd activity also??

Edited by OmegaX, 31 August 2005 - 04:29 AM.


#11 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 August 2005 - 02:12 PM

QUOTE(OmegaX @ Aug 30 2005, 11:37 PM)
edit: this would work for the hdd activity also??

This exact circuit wouldnt because this one changes when the input is high or low (5v or 0v). Im pretty sure the IDE activity line is floating when no activity and low when there is activity (can anyone correct me on this?). If you go to my old thread here and go to the last page, there is a schematic that will work for you. Just connect the 'trigger' wire to pin 39. Let me know if you need a better schem drawn up.

#12 OmegaX

OmegaX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Interests:halo 2, ddr, modding, work
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 01 September 2005 - 02:41 AM

that schematic would work but i am using 2 separate led's a white and a yellow. how would i wire it into this circuit circuit

#13 AfterTheInsanity

AfterTheInsanity

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:North York, Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 September 2005 - 10:04 PM

Replace the bicolour LED with the two normal leds like this:
user posted image
Note that you might have to play around with the limiting resistors a bit (R1 and R2) because you are using white and yellow, not blue and yellow.

#14 OmegaX

OmegaX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts
  • Interests:halo 2, ddr, modding, work
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 September 2005 - 02:06 AM

aight thnx for the help




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users