Jump to content


Photo

Hard Drive Clicks And Dies


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 childofthewired

childofthewired

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 September 2005 - 04:31 AM

Hi all,

I picked up a "broken" xbox on ebay, and it was working this morning. The hard drive failed, and started making clicking noises. Then it boots to the error 7 screen.

I know that I need to replace the hard drive, but because I do not have a backup, I am kind of lost.

Any help/links?

Thanks!

#2 CattyKid

CattyKid

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Great Continental 48
  • Interests:Everything
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 September 2005 - 04:44 AM

Well, there is a long shot. But, it is VERY risky and almost Guarantees data loss. You could get another Xbox HDD, take both of them apart, and swap the platters. However, one SPECK of dust could ruin the whole thing. Another option is to open up the HDD, again without dust, then move the head a little to "get it going." This may work just long enough for you to get the data off of it. Remeber, no dust!

No links, but try searching for "repainring broken Hard Drive" on ebay.

I realize I may get flamed for this, but it IS technically possible, and someone actually pulled something like this off. I remeber reading it a while ago.


#3 childofthewired

childofthewired

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 September 2005 - 05:02 AM

If I were to just buy a new hard drive, and a modchip, would I need anything off of my dead drive?

#4 ametalheart

ametalheart

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:HELL!!! sure is hot here
  • Interests:xbox,my modded rc tmaxx,getting fucked up!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 September 2005 - 05:20 AM

biggrin.gif i used to work in data recovery a while ago a little trick you can do
take your hard drive that is giving you the problem and put it in 3 antistatic bag's
and stick in your freezer over night 24 hrs then take it out and have your xbox
ready to go put drive back in you will only have 10 or 15 min to work with so work fast .that should give you plenty of time to copy files and eeprom. i have done this
a few times and it works every time. then when your done chuck the drive.
JUST MAKE SURE YOU WRAP THIS DRIVE REAL GOOD YOU WOULD NOT WANT
ANY WATER OR ICE TO COME IN TO CONTACT WIYH THE DRIVE!!!

#5 grimlock

grimlock

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 02 September 2005 - 11:02 AM

1. Nice trick metalheart. Have to remember this one.
2. I believe that if you install a modchip and a new HDD, and run an autoinstaller to partition and format the new drive, you don't really need anything else...
Since I have never done it on a fresh disk, I'm not 100% certain.

#6 Wild_Pencil

Wild_Pencil

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 September 2005 - 01:02 AM

Put the HD into a standard PC and start it up -- if the HD still clicks, it's dead... but if it spins up, your problem is probably the power supply. At this point, check your power supply voltages -- they should be within a half volt of either +5V or +12V. When the +12V is too low, the harddrive will do the clicking exactly as you describe.

#7 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 September 2005 - 01:25 AM

QUOTE(childofthewired @ Sep 2 2005, 12:13 AM)
If I were to just buy a new hard drive, and a modchip, would I need anything off of my dead drive?

View Post


NO

#8 childofthewired

childofthewired

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 September 2005 - 09:50 AM

Hard drive clicks when attached to pc. I also froze it, and that did not work. Hammer did not jar it loose either. I just ordered a modchip, and a new hard drive. This should fix it, but my big question is whether or not I need the dash board info off of the original xbox drive.



#9 ametalheart

ametalheart

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:HELL!!! sure is hot here
  • Interests:xbox,my modded rc tmaxx,getting fucked up!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 September 2005 - 05:33 AM

cool.gif to bad the freezer didnt work hard drive was on it's last leg i guess. only works
when the bearings are going about 97% of the time this is the case you were in the other 3% that sucks. no you will not need the dash info off other drive.
another question has this box been on xbl if it has you will need new eeprom
but if not mod away.

#10 childofthewired

childofthewired

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 September 2005 - 08:54 PM

It has been on live, but I think that it was on before they started comparing roms.

#11 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 September 2005 - 09:02 PM

If you want to go back on live, I suggest flashing a new eeprom just to be safe.

#12 childofthewired

childofthewired

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 September 2005 - 09:56 PM

And how do I go about that?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users