Jump to content


Photo

Hotswap


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 [BR]TAD

[BR]TAD

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 September 2005 - 12:54 PM

Hi

I am thinking in a new idea for Hotswap, but I need tips if it will work or not.
So Please, help me.

I have on my PC:
- DVD-ROM
- DVD Recorder
- HD 40 GB

So the idea is:
If I take off the Xbox HD, and install in my PC with the PC HD, and backup the Xbox HD, install the softmods, install the dashboards that I want, directly using Windows Explorer and after I finish it, I take back the Xbox HD to the Xbox, it will work ???


Thanks

Edited by [BR]TAD, 07 September 2005 - 12:58 PM.


#2 winch69

winch69

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 September 2005 - 01:11 PM

as far as i know NO
the xbox hdd would first need to be unlocked whilst still in the xbox
then the xbox file system is different to fat and nt format and will not recognise the data stored on the hdd

ive heard of fatx but not really sure weather this would help you or not



#3 [BR]TAD

[BR]TAD

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 September 2005 - 02:26 PM

QUOTE(winch69 @ Sep 7 2005, 03:22 PM)
as far as i know NO
the xbox hdd would first need to be unlocked whilst still in the xbox
then the xbox file system is different to fat and nt format and will not recognise the data stored on the hdd

ive heard of fatx but not really sure weather this would help you or not

View Post



Hi

But my HD's partition of my PC is FAT32.
So if I bring a unlock tool for the Xbox HD and FatXbox Explorer, and use in DOS , may be it will work. Right ???


Thanks

#4 revengeismyfury

revengeismyfury

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Location:Greensboro, NC
  • Interests:Halo 3 Live, Anime, XBMC.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 September 2005 - 07:21 PM

its possible for it to work but, your in the wrong forum you need to be in a softmod forum. Oh yeah and for hotswapping leave ide cable unplugged from dvd drive and plugged into hdd. turn the xbox on wait to go to an error screen turn your computer on and hot swap it. tongue.gif btw good luck


#5 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 September 2005 - 07:56 PM

how is this hotswapping? sound smore like coldswapping to me

and if you can use an unlocker to unlock the HD then you must have the eeprom meaning the xbox is already modded so whats the point of all this?

#6 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:06 PM

Why do all that? All you have to do is put a save on your box, load it with an explotable game, install a softmod package from the save, setup FTP, copy the lot over, and you are done. A lot easier, and your HDD stays in the box. It's also a lot more reliable. FATX reading tools are often not that good. Now, if you compiled a custom FATX enabled Linux system that supported NTFS and FAT32 as well, you would have something very reliable that would be capable of transferring things that way. But I don't see why you would want to do that.

Just go FTP.

#7 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:13 PM

not everyone has an exploitable game or the ability to get a save from a PC to an unmodded xbox, HD hotswapping is a cheap alternative to tracking down exploitable games and spending money on ARs and memory cards

#8 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:20 PM

True, but I just think it's easier to make yourself a usb adapter, buy a jumpdrive on ebay, and pickup 007 from any online store. Also, I don't like putting my Xbox HDD in my pc, I think it may have had something to do with 150gb of my stuff getting corrupted on my PC drive.

#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 September 2005 - 08:23 PM

yeah, as for me ive had 007 sinc eday 1 (before i even heard of xbox modding) and picked up a mega-x-key shortly after, lol

#10 TheMasterChef

TheMasterChef

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Interests:The future of XBOX 360 modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 September 2005 - 10:33 PM

The Art of Hotswapping, the tutorial you'll want.

From what I've read, don't wait for an Error 12 screen (no DVD drive) before you pull the IDE cable, as the hdd is locked at this point, pull the plug earlier (see thread) or preferably, if you have a working dashboard (hacked or M$), pull the IDE cable out of the hdd when you're on your dashboard.

(Or when you're running any XBE, really.)

You should only disconnect your DVD drive (in order to get an Error 12) if your xbox's hdd is screwed and it doesn't boot a dashboard, if you can boot a dashboard that's better than any error number, as you don't have to worry about timing, just pull the cable whenever you want when you're on your dashboard.

Edited by TheMasterChef, 07 September 2005 - 10:35 PM.


#11 [BR]TAD

[BR]TAD

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:18 AM

Hi

I know everything you said above.
I know about the Hotswap topic too.
I am just asking if the way that I told will work or not ???

Also I dont have memory card, or a exploited game and dont want to make a usb cable.


Thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users