Jump to content


Photo

Help What Is This Set Up?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 vtec236

vtec236

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:FTC, CO
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:10 AM

Hello all i got this box off the forums and need to know what kind of install it is. Also why is there a wire running to the P/E Board is this how you start the TSOP? it has unleashX and boxexplorer in the memory of the HDD any comments will help. Should i un solder the wires?
Here is the Head i guess not a pin header?
user posted image
Under looks like a LPC rebuild
user posted image
Wire Running to P/E Board wires
user posted image
Overview of underside
user posted image
Close up of P/E Board wire
user posted image


#2 Zanzang

Zanzang

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:12 AM

It looks like they had a chip installed and then took it out.
If you are getting a chip for it, then go ahead and leave it all in there.

If it has a hacked bios (usually indicated by it not having a green x on bootup), then it is a TSOP mod.

If it doesn't have a hacked bios, then it is softmodded.

Edited by Zanzang, 08 September 2005 - 12:14 AM.


#3 Gokussj5okazu

Gokussj5okazu

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:16 AM

That was either wired up for a really old chip, or a homebrew. If you're gonna TSOP it,I'd suggest just desolder it all and do a TSOP as normal. Since the TSOP isn't already bridged, it hasn't been TSOPed.

#4 vtec236

vtec236

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:FTC, CO
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:25 AM

Ok sorry for the dumb question but i have only worked with X3 chips so what is a "softmod" and why would a person do that?

#5 Gokussj5okazu

Gokussj5okazu

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:32 AM

It's basically modding your X-box w/o a chip. It doesn't have near as many features, but it's good enough for the average person. It looks like nothing has been done to the TSOP or anything else, so I'd just desolder everything, and install a X3 or another chip like normal. And yes that's a LPC rebuild, since that's a 1.6.

#6 m82a1

m82a1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Location:Toronto
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:43 AM

nice mouse to the topic starter smile.gif i got the same one smile.gif lol

#7 vtec236

vtec236

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:FTC, CO
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 01:21 AM

QUOTE(Gokussj5okazu @ Sep 7 2005, 05:43 PM)
It's basically modding your X-box w/o a chip. It doesn't have near as many features, but it's good enough for the average person. It looks like nothing has been done to the TSOP or anything else, so I'd just desolder everything, and install a X3 or another chip like normal. And yes that's a LPC rebuild, since that's a 1.6.

View Post


Cool thanks i will start the desoldering now

QUOTE(m82a1 @ Sep 7 2005, 05:54 PM)
nice mouse to the topic starter smile.gif i got the same one smile.gif lol

View Post


Yeah i have had it for like 2 years now i love wireless here is was i surf on
user posted image
Full Image
user posted image
Full Image #2
My Play Room it's Dirty right now 27" Sony Flat CRT Three xboxes love.gif
user posted image
Room

#8 Nakigara

Nakigara

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 September 2005 - 06:21 AM

Holy crap man. Doesn't your wife ever tell you to clean your room? unsure.gif

#9 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2005 - 08:26 AM

Don't know why nobody mentioned it, but there's no TSOP on a 1.6. That was a LPC rebuild for a modchip on a 1.6 mobo, and the wire is going to the eject button, so you can boot up in modded or un-modded mode, depending on which button you press, and depending on which chip you use.

#10 FallsInc

FallsInc

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 September 2005 - 08:34 AM

that is a pinheader block.. its for use with the xbit modchip... they reversed the header on their chip for some reason, i'l never under stand it... buy if you want to mod it, just get an xbit, it will be the easiest way.. even though xbits are a big pile of shit.. unless you are an experienced solderer.. i'd suggest you don't desolder anything on that board...and yes, as previously mentioned... that is a 1.6 with a rebuild.

EDIT:
haha, we have the same desk... mine is alot more scratched than yours is, but i do alot more work on my desk than you probably do.. its a trooper...

Edited by FallsInc, 08 September 2005 - 08:41 AM.


#11 Dano2k0

Dano2k0

    The Cooling King

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 September 2005 - 12:17 PM

QUOTE(SICKdimension @ Sep 8 2005, 08:37 AM)
Don't know why nobody mentioned it, but there's no TSOP on a 1.6. That was a LPC rebuild for a modchip on a 1.6 mobo, and the wire is going to the eject button, so you can boot up in modded or un-modded mode, depending on which button you press, and depending on which chip you use.

View Post



Agreed, i was just thinking the same thing and i had to read everyones post to make sure i didn't post the same thing as someone else had already said, its pretty simple to look at and know what board version it is, it has no RAM upgrade slots, it has 4 chips and no place to solder another 4. Obviously by looking under the board also its deffinatly a LPC rebuild which is a 1.6 board deffinatly.

I think a guy has already mentioned it coming from a XBIT chip, i think hes right in saying this also, although ive not had much to do with XBIT's i do belive this is what they use when using this chip.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users