Jump to content


Photo

Getting Banned Xbox Unbanned


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mojoe_24

mojoe_24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:03 AM

I have asked this question before, but I havehad mixed results. softmodded my xbox, but stupidly went onto live. I am now banned. I am not sure if my gt is banned but i can easily check.

SO comes to the question. I have been told that i need both a new HDD and a new eeprom and I have been told i only need a new eeprom. Which is true?


Thanks in advance.

#2 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:15 AM

HD and EEPROM

#3 mojoe_24

mojoe_24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:25 AM

and could i get both out of a friends xbox?

#4 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:27 AM

If they weren't banned and are together. In your original post everyone said you needed a new HD and EEPROM....seems pretty easy to understand to me.

http://forums.xbox-s...opic=445395&hl=

#5 mojoe_24

mojoe_24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:39 AM

i dnot know what you mean by together, but the hdd adn eeprom haven't been modified or anyting.

And i understand that they said i needed both, but i read a post that said that i would only need a eeprom to get unbaned if my gt wasn't banned.

so can i just use my friends hdd nad eeprom. also is it complicated. turorial?

#6 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:45 AM

No post in that thread says that. If a high level moderator (and xbox genius) like lordvader129 says something....take it as fact. It is not exactly easy....but load configmagic and have it flash the EEPROM with the EEPROM.BIN gotten from your friends xbox....make sure the EEPROM is from the same version xbox (1.0-1.1 use the same, so do 1.2-1.5, and then 1.6). The new HD should boot right up after you turn the box off and replace the HD. If you ever want to use the old HD the backup your old EEPROM and/or unlock the HD too.

#7 mojoe_24

mojoe_24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:47 AM

is there a tutorial on how to do it?

#8 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:54 AM

http://forums.xbox-s...act=Search&f=18

http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=335984

#9 mojoe_24

mojoe_24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:57 AM

thanks

#10 Fade Iczer GEast

Fade Iczer GEast

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 September 2005 - 07:55 AM

OK, To play on live with a modded Xbox..
You can buy new a EEPROM on ebay, and use config magic to load it.
But, this is what live checks for when you get caught on live,
A Mod Chip(of course)
An oversized F or G drive etc,
Your current eeprom.
Here's why you get caught with an oversized HDD,
On an xbox, certain volumes are a set size,
Nine times out of ten you get caught simply because of the drive structure.
Here is what I mean. I'll list the drives and give their meaning. This was taken from my Dev Kit Xbox. These are the only drives Live checks, and if you have any of these larger than normal, you will get caught.
(C:) Main Volume
(D:) Active Title Media (Your legitimate Xbox Disc)
(E:) Game Development Volume
(F:) Memory Unit 1A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(G:) Memory Unit 1B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(H:) Memory Unit 2A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(I:) Memory Unit 2B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(J:) Memory Unit 3A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(K:) Memory Unit 3B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(L:) Memory Unit 4A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(M:) Memory Unit 4B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(N:) Secondary Active Utility Drive
(O:) Volume (Never Used it, but it serves some purpose)
(X:) Saved Games - Alternate Title
(Y:) Xbox Dashboard Volume
(Z:) Active Utility Drive

Basicly, when you have a bigger than normal memory card (F-M drive) or any of the others listed, live says "oops, modded xbox" and gives you the finger. However, if when formatting your drive it is possible to mount a drive that is not searched, say for example, an R:\ drive and turning your chip off when you play Live. However, I go the KAI route and entirely circumvent the entire Live check. Besides, KAI is free, you can play with a modded xbox, and with a high speed Hard drive my backups load faster than the actual disk itself. This also saves you the trouble of making a specialized install disk, editing All of the *.INI's and *.XMLs for every app you have (which is very time consuming).
Besides, everytime you play you are just waiting for Micro$h!+ to update the way it checks for mods and boot your ass again. I may be wrong, so experiment if you want to.

#11 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,741 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 29 September 2005 - 04:27 PM

QUOTE(Fade Iczer GEast @ Sep 29 2005, 03:06 AM)
OK, To play on live with a modded Xbox..
You can buy new a EEPROM on ebay, and use config magic to load it.
But, this is what live checks for when you get caught on live,
A Mod Chip(of course)
An oversized F or G drive etc,
Your current eeprom.
Here's why you get caught with an oversized HDD,
On an xbox, certain volumes are a set size,
Nine times out of ten you get caught simply because of the drive structure.
Here is what I mean. I'll list the drives and give their meaning. This was taken from my Dev Kit Xbox. These are the only drives Live checks, and if you have any of these larger than normal, you will get caught.
(C:) Main Volume
(D:) Active Title Media (Your legitimate Xbox Disc)
(E:) Game Development Volume
(F:) Memory Unit 1A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(G:) Memory Unit 1B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(H:) Memory Unit 2A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(I:) Memory Unit 2B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(J:) Memory Unit 3A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(K:) Memory Unit 3B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(L:) Memory Unit 4A (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(M:) Memory Unit 4B (Your unmodified Xbox Mem Card)
(N:) Secondary Active Utility Drive
(O:) Volume (Never Used it, but it serves some purpose)
(X:) Saved Games - Alternate Title
(Y:) Xbox Dashboard Volume
(Z:) Active Utility Drive

Basicly, when you have a bigger than normal memory card (F-M drive) or any of the others listed, live says "oops, modded xbox" and gives you the finger. However, if when formatting your drive it is possible to mount a drive that is not searched, say for example, an R:\ drive and turning your chip off when you play Live. However, I go the KAI route and entirely circumvent the entire Live check. Besides, KAI is free, you can play with a modded xbox, and with a high speed Hard drive my backups load faster than the actual disk itself. This also saves you the trouble of making a specialized install disk, editing All of the *.INI's and *.XMLs for every app you have (which is very time consuming).
Besides, everytime you play you are just waiting for Micro$h!+ to update the way it checks for mods and boot your ass again. I may be wrong, so experiment if you want to.

View Post


what the hell are you talking about?

MS check two (2) things when you go on Live with a clean gamertag, three (3) things if you use a flagged gamertag

1: bios, is the bios your running a retail bios? if not, ban
2: marriage, are your HD and eeprom married? if the eeprom is married to another HD, ban, if its not married to anything it gets married to the HD you are using

3 (for flagged GTs): HD, is it a stock xbox HD? if no, then ban



just a little sidenote on your stuff, F and G are never mounted on the retail kernel, they arent memory cards, they arent anything, MS cannot check them becuase they dont exist, memory cards are mounted on drives H-O

X, Y and Z are all game cache, i dont knwo what you think they are

C is a system volume, conatins your MS dashboard

E is for gamesaves, downloaded content and ripped soundtracks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users