Jump to content


Photo

Scsi Hdd Compatible?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Justincredibal

Justincredibal

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 05:53 PM

Can i use a scsi hdd in the xbox? Cause the xbox dosent have scsi cables in it so what would i change? I already have the scsi hdd

#2 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 03 October 2005 - 05:59 PM

Why not sell the drive and get a larger IDE drive...since SCSI drives typically are more expensive.

#3 Justincredibal

Justincredibal

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:03 PM

I dont wanna have to wait.

Do you know if there is any way to hook it up to the xbox?

I would just use my other ide drives but 1 is banned and the other one cannnot be locked, cause i play on live alot also

#4 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:06 PM

Did you already flash a new eeprom? I am not too familiar with SCSI drives, so I cannot help you out there, but how will you know if this one is lockable (probably is since scsi are usually server drives).

#5 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:10 PM

SCSI is a completely different standard. NO it can not be used. How exactly did you plan on physically hooking it up anyway?

#6 Justincredibal

Justincredibal

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:12 PM

QUOTE(jameswalter @ Oct 3 2005, 02:21 PM)
SCSI is a completely different standard.  NO it can not be used.  How exactly did you plan on physically hooking it up anyway?

View Post



thats what i wanted to know

i wanted to know if there was any moddification you could make so you could hook it up physically.

I already know what to do once it is hooked up physically

#7 47_M450N_47

47_M450N_47

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Location:North Alabama
  • Interests:Xbox modding, anything with computers and networking. Gaming. Shooting stuff, blowing up stuff.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:30 PM

the xbox is just like a small, weak computer, it takes IDE drives, IDE motherboards cannot accept SCSI drives, they require a completely different controller interface. the xbox cannot be configured to use SCSI drives without completely rebuilding the motherboard and attempting to rewrite the bios and solder a SCSI controller board onto it

#8 vingasoline

vingasoline

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 06:57 PM

QUOTE(Justincredibal @ Oct 3 2005, 11:14 AM)
I dont wanna have to wait.


I would just use my other ide drives but 1 is banned and the other one cannnot be locked, cause i play on live alot also

View Post



if your hd is banned, then your eeprom is also banned, so a new drive would be banned as soon as you go on live.. Unless you already flashed a new eeprom.

#9 vingasoline

vingasoline

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:00 PM

QUOTE(47_M450N_47 @ Oct 3 2005, 11:41 AM)
the xbox is just like a small, weak computer, it takes IDE drives, IDE motherboards cannot accept SCSI drives, they require a completely different controller interface. 

View Post



Actually there is a pci card that allows you to connect a scsi drive to a standard ide mb.

#10 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:03 PM

QUOTE(vingasoline @ Oct 3 2005, 11:11 AM)
Actually there is a pci card that allows you to connect a scsi drive to a standard ide mb.

View Post


Thats funny....I must have overlooked the extra PCI slot on the xbox motherboard.

#11 Large Dopant white

Large Dopant white

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:05 PM

Yea, but his biggest thing is not wanting to wait (bad decision). So, regardless if he sells this SCSI and buys an IDE (that'll most likely be at least 3 or 4 times larger than the SCI) or buys the SCSI to IDE bridge, he'll be waitin'.
Just turn it in for an IDE HDD, bro.

#12 vingasoline

vingasoline

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:09 PM

QUOTE(jameswalter @ Oct 3 2005, 12:14 PM)
Thats funny....I must have overlooked the extra PCI slot on the xbox motherboard.

View Post



I was just pointing out that ide mb's can accept scsi(in a pc, not xbox)..

#13 Justincredibal

Justincredibal

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:17 PM

how much more expensive are scsi hdd's?

#14 jameswalter

jameswalter

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,881 posts
  • Location:Camas, WA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:42 PM

QUOTE(vingasoline @ Oct 3 2005, 11:20 AM)
I was just pointing out that ide mb's can accept scsi(in a pc, not xbox)..

View Post




But that doesn't change the fact that the IDE motherboard doesn't accept the SCSI HD. Its a PCI card. Kinda like my old motherboard doesn't accept Firewire...but I can get a PCI card that does. Same goes for NIC, Soundcard, etc...

#15 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:49 PM

QUOTE(vingasoline @ Oct 3 2005, 02:20 PM)
I was just pointing out that ide mb's can accept scsi(in a pc, not xbox)..

View Post


the IDE in the motherbaord is essentially just a PCI IDE controller that happens to be built into the board, look at device manager and veiw "devices by connection" youll find the IDE controller listed in the same group with all your other PCI cards

i dont know why i felt the need to point that out....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users