Jump to content


Photo

Crashed Hdd ( I Think)


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 awal

awal

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • Location:████████████
  • Interests:XBOX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 October 2005 - 07:43 PM

My friend has an xbox that will not play games and boots to the "call 1-800-4my-xbox" screen. He cant remimber the error number but he says it is the hdd.
The only thing I can think is a crashed hdd, so I want to replace the hdd by softmodding it. This xbox is not modded, so he doesnt have the eeprom.
Is there a way to replace the hdd without the eeprom by softmodding it? (Im thinking there isnt but maybe there is)

Otherwise I guess I could get a modchip.

Thanks in advance.

#2 greenday54261

greenday54261

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 844 posts
  • Location:MA, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 October 2005 - 07:49 PM

You need to get his error code so we can determine the true problem. If his box can't boot games, there's no way to softmod it. As such, you will most likely need a modchip, but I have no experience with them so I don't know what, if any, help it will be.

#3 awal

awal

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • Location:████████████
  • Interests:XBOX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 October 2005 - 08:01 PM

Yea, but since it is not modded I think it is probably the hdd. Anyways a modchip would allow to swap hdds. It just hit me that I could just put a solderless hdd in and put a new hdd in and then lock it. Now I just need to find someone with a solderless modchip.

#4 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 October 2005 - 08:01 PM

Just put a modchip in it, install a new hdd, get slayer's to recover the stock partitions and files, and he'll be ok. (assuming the hard drive died like said).

Just saw your response. I have an xapter 1.6 if you decide to go the xecuter route and hes got a 1.6.

Edited by Statecowboy, 15 October 2005 - 08:02 PM.


#5 awal

awal

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • Location:████████████
  • Interests:XBOX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 October 2005 - 09:30 PM

Thanks for the help. A friend of an aquintance of mine has one, I help the aquintance fix his xbox with it. Possible I can use his, I might need to just buy one tongue.gif


off topic: Stillwater is a great town. I went there for OSU wrestling camp two summers in a row. Eskimo Joes is really good smile.gif

#6 Statecowboy

Statecowboy

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 855 posts
  • Location:Stillwater
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 October 2005 - 10:19 PM

Yes sir...big wrestling town too (national wrestling hall of fame-the real wrestling, not the soap opera wrestling)

QUOTE(awal @ Oct 15 2005, 04:41 PM)
Thanks for the help. A friend of an aquintance of mine has one, I help the aquintance fix his xbox with it. Possible I can use his, I might need to just buy one  tongue.gif
off topic: Stillwater is a great town. I went there for OSU wrestling camp two summers in a row. Eskimo Joes is really good smile.gif

View Post




#7 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 16 October 2005 - 09:40 AM

QUOTE
Yea, but since it is not modded I think it is probably the hdd

There is a lot more can go wrong with a non modded box than just the HDD.
By all means chip it and fit a new one and see but I would try get the error code first.
Shame to fit something only to find out something else is the cause.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users