Jump to content


Photo

Error 21 With Modchip Only?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gto65l

gto65l

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 22 October 2005 - 10:17 PM

I have searched the forums but cannot find an answer to what is happening on this system.

I have modded an 1.0 with a xecuter 2.6. I flashed it with 4981 bios. Whenever I boot the system I get an error 21 message with the chip enabled and disabled. I cannot boot to a game or disc with the chip disabled, but I can with it enabled.

When I launch to my boot disc, I cannot connect to the drive via ftp. I get a pasv mode not implemented message.

I have modded several systems and have never had a problem like this before. I am at a loss as to what I can do here.

#2 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 October 2005 - 10:24 PM

its possible the HD is dead, ive had some weird things happen with dead HDs, very similar to what you describe

#3 gto65l

gto65l

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 22 October 2005 - 10:42 PM

I thought about that too. So I loaded up the larger hard drive I am going to replace the stock one with. I partitioned it and locked it with The evox boot disc. I still could not connect to the system. I get the exact same error.

#4 gto65l

gto65l

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 23 October 2005 - 06:44 PM

I read something that this could be caused by a bad ethernet controller??

#5 bigbubba7373

bigbubba7373

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Quincy Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 October 2005 - 07:07 PM

hello i just had this same problem with error 21 the otherday it was caused by a bad ics network chip.i replaced it and it whent away and everything works great now

Edited by bigbubba7373, 23 October 2005 - 07:09 PM.


#6 gto65l

gto65l

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 23 October 2005 - 08:19 PM

Thanks for the info bigbubba. I'll try replacing the chip. Did you do it yourself?

#7 bigbubba7373

bigbubba7373

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Quincy Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 October 2005 - 08:44 PM

yes i did it myself if you can solder good you should be fine

#8 gto65l

gto65l

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 01 November 2005 - 07:28 PM

Got the new chip put in today. Still have exactly the same problem. I had the chip put in by a pro so I don't think there is a problem with the install. Could there be a problem with a softmod that this person might have tried before me and not told me about? If so, how could I check?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users