• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 DougWykstra

DougWykstra

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 October 2005 - 07:59 PM

Okay, I'm a complete newbie that knows nothing about how to set my Xbox to DHCP or even if that will help my problem. I have a regular unmodded Xbox, and the only thing I've done to it is get the old Thompson drive swapped out for a Samsung drive. My internet connection is over the dorm's LAN, and the school network is secure. I have put my computer's MAC address on my Xbox, so it should be able to get onto the network. I've also added the IP Address, Subnet Mask, and Gateway of my computer onto the Xbox, as well as a primary and alternate DNS. When I try to connect to Xbox Live, I simply take the network cable out of the back of my computer and plug it into my Xbox. Whenever I try to connect, it says that it couldn't connect to Xbox Live, and the troubleshooter tells me to check my cables. This is crazy, because the cable I use for Xbox Live is the same one that's connecting me to the internet as I type this. What is the problem with my Xbox?

#2 DougWykstra

DougWykstra

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 October 2005 - 02:23 AM

Hey, could someone help me with above problem? I really don't know what to do.

#3 bigbrd222

bigbrd222

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 October 2005 - 02:57 AM

School firewall?

#4 StepsAscend

StepsAscend

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 October 2005 - 03:08 AM

A. The network could be not allowing the xbox access because the MAC Address is a duplicate. Set it back to default.

B. Turn on your xbox, find network settings, and set everything to automatic.