Jump to content


Photo

Remote Access To The Xbox?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Sabbathkicksass

Sabbathkicksass

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 08:33 AM

basically, one of my friends is really stupid when it comes to networking and anything to do with a PC. I was wondering if theres a way i could access his xbox through the internet and put whatever files he needs on his xbox?

#2 TB2ZI

TB2ZI

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 October 2005 - 08:36 AM

It's possible, but we need to know more about his set-up. Does he have a router connected to his modem? a hub/switch? etc...

#3 Sabbathkicksass

Sabbathkicksass

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 October 2005 - 05:55 PM

its all setup on a router

#4 EverestX

EverestX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Location:FunkyTown
  • Interests:PC Gamer, Console Collector, Raging Movie & Cartoon Addict, full time nerd.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 October 2005 - 06:13 PM

Alright man let me break it down for you... This is how I do it.
(back ground: I work IT and I use RDP and VNC on a daily basis to controll everything from p2's to brand new Xeon Servers.

At work I am really not supposed to on aim, Irc etc etc.. So I set up an RDP connection, now I also have wireless for inet and a nic card for cat 5 connection to my xbox. So this is a 2 nic set up)


Ok first off on my pc I enabled remote desktop and created a dummy account on the pc for my remote access for RDP you enable port forwarding to port 3889 to the pc on the network.

Now you can use vnc but you will need a vnc server on his pc, have to forward those ports (diff from rdp ports) and then have a vnc viewer installed on your pc.

I really do preffer using rdp casue i can manually map my local C: here at work to my home pc.

the xbox needs to be on and the nic card set up with a static ip on the xbox and the pc nic you use to connect to your xbox....

Now rdp into his machine.
Start up Flashfxp, or some other assorted client,
Ftp into the box
Start your transfers.
Now understnad if you are transferring something from your local c: over the internet into his xbox it will run much slower than if that drive was in his local computer...

Now You can sit in your underwear smoking a phattie while accessing his box and ftping in the nonsense he needs.

Excuse my horrid typing..

beerchug.gif

Edit: something you need to understand is that when you RDP into his machine he will not be able to watch what youare doing it will appear as if the machine is locked or not logged in from his side.
Also RDP is built into all XP machines, so no files to install. and it is relatively easy to install holler back at me on here for a more indepth means to set this shit up.

Edited by EverestX, 27 October 2005 - 06:15 PM.


#5 w2kj

w2kj

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Cowtown..."Where the West Begins."
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 October 2005 - 08:17 PM

QUOTE(EverestX @ Oct 27 2005, 01:24 PM)
Ok first off on my pc I enabled remote desktop and created a dummy account on the pc for my remote access for RDP you enable port forwarding to port 3889 to the pc on the network.

View Post



uhh.gif This may be totally wrong; so please correct if I am. blink.gif

You've seen my network at the house; right? (Linksys router and Linksys network adapter.) Can I use another network adaptor (using the USB port on my xbox) and connect my xbox to my pc to do the FTP thing without stringing a ethernet cable? Or am I just a totally uneducated n00b?

--w2kj

Edited by w2kj, 27 October 2005 - 08:18 PM.


#6 EverestX

EverestX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Location:FunkyTown
  • Interests:PC Gamer, Console Collector, Raging Movie & Cartoon Addict, full time nerd.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 October 2005 - 09:13 PM

QUOTE(w2kj @ Oct 27 2005, 03:28 PM)
uhh.gif This may be totally wrong; so please correct if I am.  blink.gif

You've seen my network at the house; right?  (Linksys router and Linksys network adapter.)  Can I use another network adaptor (using the USB port on my xbox) and connect my xbox to my pc to do the FTP thing without stringing a ethernet cable?  Or am I just a totally uneducated n00b?

--w2kj

View Post




Well basically you can buy the expensive ass wireless adapter from microshaft ot a product like that to convert from ethernet to wireless and then you could accomplish what you are lookng for without having to run a big ass wire.. Only wireless is a whole lot les reliable and you get more errors transfering files over a gig.

But to answer your question about the usb nic, nope.

#7 w2kj

w2kj

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Cowtown..."Where the West Begins."
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 October 2005 - 09:41 PM

So it won't work like "sharing a folder" between two pc's on my home based network. blink.gif

--w2kj


#8 EverestX

EverestX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Location:FunkyTown
  • Interests:PC Gamer, Console Collector, Raging Movie & Cartoon Addict, full time nerd.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 October 2005 - 09:43 PM

Sure wont.

#9 w2kj

w2kj

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Cowtown..."Where the West Begins."
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 October 2005 - 09:45 PM

Gotcha!

ThanX.

--w2kj


#10 TB2ZI

TB2ZI

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 October 2005 - 09:55 PM

OK, correct me if i'm wrong, but I didn't see anything saying that he has his xbox connected directly to his comp. What I do is forward port 21 to my xbox IP address (Xbox needs to be connected directly to router w/ xbox on). Then all I do is put in the IP address of his house (not the 192.168.x.x number) into my FTP program. Then it works.

#11 ItchyB

ItchyB

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,341 posts
  • Location:South Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 28 October 2005 - 12:08 AM

QUOTE(TB2ZI @ Oct 28 2005, 08:36 AM)
OK, correct me if i'm wrong, but I didn't see anything saying that he has his xbox connected directly to his comp. What I do is forward port 21 to my xbox IP address (Xbox needs to be connected directly to router w/ xbox on). Then all I do is put in the IP address of his house (not the 192.168.x.x number) into my FTP program. Then it works.

View Post



Agreed, if the xbox is connected to the router then this method works well, the only thing I change is the port used (from 21 to something in the 6000 range) which is only for security.


#12 EverestX

EverestX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Location:FunkyTown
  • Interests:PC Gamer, Console Collector, Raging Movie & Cartoon Addict, full time nerd.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 28 October 2005 - 01:47 AM

QUOTE(TB2ZI @ Oct 27 2005, 05:06 PM)
OK, correct me if i'm wrong, but I didn't see anything saying that he has his xbox connected directly to his comp. What I do is forward port 21 to my xbox IP address (Xbox needs to be connected directly to router w/ xbox on). Then all I do is put in the IP address of his house (not the 192.168.x.x number) into my FTP program. Then it works.

View Post




Yeah it is possible to do it that way, yes, but the majority of peopel taht I know personally jsut use a rollover and a nic in their pc. With that said the reason I use mine and suggested it is for exapmle say his friend had downloaded an emualtor (pretty damn easy) then it would be on his local pc so then dude could rdp in dump the shit and transfer all the music/videos/porn/etc from the local pc opnto it.

That is why I suggested doing it like I do. But yeah you are both correct it would be easier to do it to the xbox via port forwarding direct to the xbox but I was under the assumption that some files may be on that dudes pc. --That's what I get for assuming I suppose

#13 Sabbathkicksass

Sabbathkicksass

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 28 October 2005 - 07:48 AM

thanks for all the help guys, ill have to set it up next time i go to his house.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users