Jump to content


Photo

Pgr3 Running At 60 Fps?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 KAGE360

KAGE360

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2005 - 04:50 PM

i know it has been reported in the past to be running at 30fps on unfinished hardware but this new preview states its running at 60fps. he was playing the build with the developers so maybe there is some truth here.

QUOTE
Wired took the 360 for a test-drive with Gareth Wilson, design manager for Bizarre Creations, which developed the Project Gotham Racing franchise. PGR2 showed off the original Xbox's graphical muscle. PGR3, optimized for Xbox 360, approaches photorealism. Here's what upgrading gets you.


QUOTE
6) Anti-aliasing
As seen above (and in all the images here), the 360's graphics processor uses 4X anti-aliasing to smooth out the jagged, stair-step edges that plague older platforms. Each frame is scrubbed four times to erase jaggies, and PGR3 still runs at 60 frames per second - twice the rate of TV.


http://www.wired.com.../play.html?pg=4

#2 nightwulf28

nightwulf28

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Location:Duluth, MN
  • Interests:ummmmm Video Games?
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 05:07 PM

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

I pray this is true. As I am sure we all do .

#3 Mandalore

Mandalore

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 128 posts

Posted 04 November 2005 - 05:21 PM

I never doubted that they would achieve this but good find. beerchug.gif

#4 KAGE360

KAGE360

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2005 - 05:32 PM

well it seems more then possible. just think about how much of a huge jump all the games have gotten when switching from the beta kits to the final dev kits. GoW is the best example as they admitted to underestimating the 360's final power and are running that game better then ever on only one core.

#5 Deftech

Deftech

    X-S Transcendental

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,917 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 07:38 PM

so what happened to the whole "2x AA for 720p only" and "4x AA for 480p" frame buffer argument?




#6 KAGE360

KAGE360

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2005 - 07:55 PM

QUOTE(Deftech @ Nov 4 2005, 01:45 PM)
so what happened to the whole "2x AA for 720p only" and "4x AA for 480p" frame buffer argument?

View Post



i dont remember that specific argument, anyone that did say that is a moron. i do remember people saying that 4x AA at 720p wouldnt fit on the frame buffer but there was always that tiling method to use. if that stupid comment was true then MS wouldnt ever mention 4xMSAA because they have always said that their base requirements were 720p for the resolution.

#7 Ozy

Ozy

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Location:Uk
  • Interests:Gamming,<br />Women,<br />Films,<br />Fine Food,<br />Drinking With My Mates<br /> - Not In That Order.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 08:02 PM

QUOTE(KAGE360 @ Nov 4 2005, 07:02 PM)
i dont remember that specific argument, anyone that did say that is a moron.  i do remember people saying that 4x AA at 720p  wouldnt fit on the frame buffer but there was always that tiling method to use.  if that stupid comment was true then MS wouldnt ever mention 4xMSAA because they have always said that their base requirements were 720p for the resolution.

View Post



Do damn confusing....!

Is PGR3 good?

I want an updated video, which one do you guys sujest (why doesn't that spelling look right?)?

#8 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 08:59 PM

QUOTE(Ozy @ Nov 4 2005, 02:09 PM)
...sujest (why doesn't that spelling look right?)?

View Post



because it's suggest tongue.gif

#9 KAGE360

KAGE360

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2005 - 09:02 PM

QUOTE(Ozy @ Nov 4 2005, 02:09 PM)
Do damn confusing....!

Is PGR3 good?

I want an updated video, which one do you guys sujest (why doesn't that spelling look right?)?

View Post



whats confusing? we already know that the game is great, many writers and editors have played and agreed that the game is solid. the only question at hand here is if the game runs at 30 or 60 frames per second.

#10 Ozy

Ozy

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Location:Uk
  • Interests:Gamming,<br />Women,<br />Films,<br />Fine Food,<br />Drinking With My Mates<br /> - Not In That Order.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 09:27 PM

QUOTE(KAGE360 @ Nov 4 2005, 08:09 PM)
whats confusing?  we already know that the game is great, many writers and editors have played and agreed that the game is solid.  the only question at hand here is if the game runs at 30 or 60 frames per second.

View Post



could you answer my video question?

#11 Ozy

Ozy

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Location:Uk
  • Interests:Gamming,<br />Women,<br />Films,<br />Fine Food,<br />Drinking With My Mates<br /> - Not In That Order.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 11:01 PM

QUOTE(twistedsymphony @ Nov 4 2005, 08:06 PM)
because it's suggest  tongue.gif

View Post



Cheers beerchug.gif

#12 KAGE360

KAGE360

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,173 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2005 - 11:01 PM

QUOTE(Ozy @ Nov 4 2005, 03:34 PM)
could you answer my video question?

View Post



umm go to xboxyde and download the 3 latest vids, there is one vid i just saw a couple of days ago that mainly headlines about new pics but they have a vid added that seems to have framerate issues because of the camera not the vdeo game. i watched that vid and thought it was one of the most impressive vids yet. also i saw the new TV spot (commercial?) for PGR3 which looks impressive as well. hopefully that answers your question beerchug.gif

#13 Ozy

Ozy

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,794 posts
  • Location:Uk
  • Interests:Gamming,<br />Women,<br />Films,<br />Fine Food,<br />Drinking With My Mates<br /> - Not In That Order.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2005 - 11:04 PM

QUOTE(KAGE360 @ Nov 4 2005, 10:08 PM)
umm go to xboxyde and download the 3 latest vids, there is one vid i just saw a couple of days ago that mainly headlines about new pics but they have a vid added that seems to have framerate issues because of the camera not the vdeo game.  i watched that vid and thought it was one of the most impressive vids yet.  also i saw the new TV spot (commercial?) for PGR3 which looks impressive as well.  hopefully that answers your question  beerchug.gif

View Post



Yeah, thanks.

#14 110100100

110100100

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:12ft Underground
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 November 2005 - 01:03 AM

QUOTE(Deftech @ Nov 4 2005, 11:45 AM)
so what happened to the whole "2x AA for 720p only" and "4x AA for 480p" frame buffer argument?

View Post



If the game developers have implemented a proper tiled rendering technique they should be fine, seening very little (5%?) decrease in performance when using the proper 3 tiles per frame for 4xFSAA.
Also AFAIK, MSAA (hard on Z) should be fine too, if the devs utilize the "Z-only" pass in the XENOS.

beerchug.gif

#15 Deftech

Deftech

    X-S Transcendental

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,917 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 November 2005 - 01:13 AM

I assumed at this stage the devs wouldnt use the proper tiling. Good to see I was wrong beerchug.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users