Jump to content


Photo

Ethernet Port Is Broken


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 10:12 PM

Hello, after weeks of trying to ftp my xbox, ive concluded that my ethernet port is not reactive. Ive reinstalled it also, to no avail. So will something like (http://cgi.ebay.com/...1QQcmdZViewItem) allow me to network my xbox and pc with flash fxp?

#2 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 08 November 2005 - 10:14 PM

plugging that into the xbox? no, it wouldnt have the right drivers (no theres no way to make it have the right drivers unless you use linux)

plugging that into your PC would work if its the PC nic that broken

#3 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 November 2005 - 10:17 PM

If its the Xbox side thats gone . perplexer repairs these or can supply the chip I believe.
Just because you can't get ftp to work does not mean the NIC is the problem though so make sure.

#4 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 10:41 PM

Its the nic on my pc. Yesterday i ftp'ed my box at my friends house, so my xbox is fine...

#5 LepPpeR

LepPpeR

    Author of Craxtion

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,388 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Westchester, New York
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 November 2005 - 11:13 PM

buy and install a new nic card. They are cheap. How do you go online via your comp?

#6 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 11:21 PM

I have a usb modem, so the ethernet is not needed. Is buying and installing a new nic really nessesary? Thanks leppper

#7 ROM666

ROM666

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts

Posted 08 November 2005 - 11:29 PM

Since you are using a USB modem, have you made sure that your NIC is enabled? Are you also using a crossover cable or connecting through a router/hub/switch? Have you assigned an IP address to the NIC? To the XBOX?

Edited by ROM666, 08 November 2005 - 11:31 PM.


#8 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 12:38 AM

Yes i have tried a crossover cable. In fact, i cant even install my router because my web browser can't detect it. Im not that experienced with computers, but i think the ethernet port is the bluetooth device protocol??? Under status it says: The device cannot start.

Edited by matt987, 09 November 2005 - 12:41 AM.


#9 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 12:40 AM

double post sry

Edited by matt987, 09 November 2005 - 12:41 AM.


#10 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 10 November 2005 - 12:57 AM

Will the usb adapter work? Just to skip the complications of the nic card(past video card did not install correctly)

#11 StepsAscend

StepsAscend

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Location:Athens Ga
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2005 - 01:02 AM

You'll probably get better speed with a new NIC card. I've got one sitting around that's never been installed.

#12 matt987

matt987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 13 November 2005 - 05:21 AM

Im not really looking to transfer big files, so will the usb adapter work?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users