Jump to content


Photo

What Do I Do?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 fatfonzi

fatfonzi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 01:24 AM

I have modded my xbox in the past, now I wanna try it again on my friends xbox. It's been so long I can't remember if I need to flash the bios right after installing the chip (xecuter 2.6 ce lite) or will the slayers auto installer do it for me. I have v.4981 bios with dummy file on cd-rw and I have Slayer auto installer (older version, from about 1 year ago) on cd-rw disc. I can't remember ever using that bios disc though.

Basically what I am asking is, can I install the chip and then just boot up the slayers disc ...or is there something I need to do in between, like flash the bios.

By the way, I am NOT replacing the original xbox hard drive.

Thank you guys for all your help, now and in the past.


#2 Rylinkus

Rylinkus

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 November 2005 - 01:27 AM

Youre going to want to flash the bios first.

#3 fatfonzi

fatfonzi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 05:25 AM

Thank you for the help!


#4 Rylinkus

Rylinkus

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 November 2005 - 05:45 AM

basically make sure it's sized right
named bios.bin
burn it to a basic data cd with any other files to make the disc "more full"
Theres dummy file generators to make files that take up space. I think I have plenty of crap on my pc so as not to need a 300 meg garbage file. Generally I justback up a bunch of mp3s and also put the bios file on there. Flashes my bios and also backs up a bunch of mp3s for me.

#5 IAmCanadian

IAmCanadian

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,932 posts
  • Location:Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 November 2005 - 05:50 AM

Actually, he'll want to make an XISO with the bios.bin and the dummy.bin file and burn it as an ISO disk... tongue.gif

#6 Rylinkus

Rylinkus

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 09 November 2005 - 05:54 AM

QUOTE(IAmCanadian @ Nov 9 2005, 05:57 AM)
Actually, he'll want to make an XISO with the bios.bin and the dummy.bin file and burn it as an ISO disk... tongue.gif

View Post




Bios discs are data discs, nothing more. Maybe an XISO will work, but every bios disc Ive made has been done using XPs drag and drop burning. Far from XISOs.

#7 fatfonzi

fatfonzi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 08:40 AM

Thanks guys, I already have the Bios/dummy file burned to a cd-rw disc that I used last time...Just wasn't sure if I ever used it on the last mod. I think I just burned is as a data file along with the dummy file and I remember I renamed it correctly.



But...
After installing chip, I turn xbox on, then insert bios disc close tray, then it'll flash bios automatically? Then turn off xbox and turn back on, then insert slayers(2.6)iso disc and close tray, then click "rebuild retail hd" and that's it??????
Is that what I'm supposed to do or is there something i'm missing?

Thanks again guys

#8 Idunnosht

Idunnosht

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 07:40 PM

After you put the Slayer's CD in, you will want to click the option Save Bios/Eeprom. Then be sure to make a backup of your C and E drive before you install Evox. Just check out the Slayer's pdf file that come with the iso. It should answer the rest of your questions.

#9 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 09 November 2005 - 08:43 PM

QUOTE
Bios discs are data discs, nothing more.

Absolutely correct.
QUOTE
Actually, he'll want to make an XISO with the bios.bin and the dummy.bin file and burn it as an ISO disk.

Absolutely incorrect


#10 fatfonzi

fatfonzi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts

Posted 09 November 2005 - 11:41 PM

Idunnosht,

I re-read the pdf file again and I see that. I will do that first. But after that do I shut down the xbox or do I leave it on and build retail hd...or will it shut down automatically?

I just want to know exactly what to expect when I start the process.

Thanks again for all your help





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users