8 replies to this topic

#1 MothXz

MothXz

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 75 posts

Posted 16 April 2003 - 05:53 AM

I have been looking at the tutorials and it's getting me confused being I'm new to soldering. I have the Xecuter Lite and question is what do I touch the soldering iron with? Do I place it on the holes on the motherboard and wait for those holes to melt and then place the wire on top of it and let it dry? I saw this method on one of the tutorials and if this is correct, then where does the solder come in? Or, do I put some solder on the iron and then place it on the motherboard along with the wire? I don't know what the correct procedure is. I need some help. Anyone out there that has pics or step by step instructions. Thanks in advance.

#2 DaShiZNiT

DaShiZNiT

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,267 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 April 2003 - 06:44 AM

Hi there, i would do just as you suggested...

Heat up the solder-filled holes and dip your wire in there, it will cool and stay. As for d0, the REALLY difficult part, i would 'tin' the wire by adding some of your own solder and letting it dry, then stick it in that tiny little hole, then heat the wire, the solder will melt, and stick into place.

YOU DONT NEED MUCH on d0
also the underside d0 is relatively easier, you just need to make the grey wire longer and youll have to take out the MB, naturally...
Good Luck and have fun!

#3 MothXz

MothXz

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 75 posts

Posted 16 April 2003 - 08:13 AM

Just to be clear, the silver holes on the motherboard that the wires are supposed to be placed on are already filled with solder? In other words, the only time that I will have to use my own solder is for the d0?

#4 Byrdclaw

Byrdclaw

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 422 posts

Posted 16 April 2003 - 12:07 PM

If you are installing via a wire method then yes, the only time you will need your own solder is for the d0 point.