Jump to content


Photo

Xbox360 Dashboard


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 sick_mate_xbox

sick_mate_xbox

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts
  • Location:Darwin, Australia
  • Interests:-Skateboarding<br />-My VT Commodore<br />-Xbox Modding<br />-Rachael :)<br />-Snakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 November 2005 - 11:16 AM

has anyone confirmed where the xbox360's dashboard executable is stored?

#2 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 November 2005 - 12:41 PM

They asume it's on a 128 Mb NAND flash device :
http://anandtech.com...aspx?i=2611&p=3



#3 Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 385 posts

Posted 20 November 2005 - 03:03 PM

QUOTE(krayzie @ Nov 20 2005, 12:48 PM)
They asume it's on a 128 Mb NAND flash device :
http://anandtech.com...aspx?i=2611&p=3

View Post



Indeed. Would just cost to much to put it somewhere else.
But it's possible the bootup code & kernel are in another place.

#4 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 November 2005 - 03:50 PM

Could it be an embedded XBE type BIOS, such as some of the new Xecuter BIOSes? That way, everything could be stored neatly on the one chip.

#5 BCfosheezy

BCfosheezy

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location:Southern Illinois
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 November 2005 - 06:22 PM

QUOTE(deadparrot @ Nov 20 2005, 09:57 AM)
Could it be an embedded XBE type BIOS, such as some of the new Xecuter BIOSes?  That way, everything could be stored neatly on the one chip.

View Post



more than likely not. I just don't see any chance of them placing the bios on the tsop at all. (But I'd be plenty willing to bet there's code that looks like it's initializing hardware on the tsop as a red herring) Also, there would be no way they would embed an xbe into the bios. There's just no reason to do that if you're designing a machine from the ground up.

#6 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 November 2005 - 09:10 PM

Yeah, the dashboard is on the flash. The dashboard's actually less than 3 megabytes, so I wonder what else is on that chip.

#7 TheSpecialist

TheSpecialist

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 289 posts

Posted 21 November 2005 - 09:46 PM

QUOTE(geniusalz @ Nov 20 2005, 09:17 PM)
Yeah, the dashboard is on the flash. The dashboard's actually less than 3 megabytes, so I wonder what else is on that chip.

View Post


How do you know this ?

#8 wolvorine4424

wolvorine4424

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Posted 22 November 2005 - 12:44 AM

How do you know this???

More info please, We all want to know this type of stuff...

PLEASE SHARE...

#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 23 November 2005 - 08:32 PM

QUOTE
Yeah, the dashboard is on the flash. The dashboard's actually less than 3 megabytes, so I wonder what else is on that chip

probably empty space for future updates, also this chip will probably contain your Live account info too

#10 Friggenhugeorc

Friggenhugeorc

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 24 November 2005 - 03:31 AM

Your Live acct. Info Is not stored on the chip

all your Live/Profile info needs to be stored on a HD or Memory card. Without those 2 pieces you can't even create a Profile.

#11 sick_mate_xbox

sick_mate_xbox

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts
  • Location:Darwin, Australia
  • Interests:-Skateboarding<br />-My VT Commodore<br />-Xbox Modding<br />-Rachael :)<br />-Snakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 November 2005 - 03:40 AM

QUOTE(geniusalz @ Nov 21 2005, 05:47 AM)
Yeah, the dashboard is on the flash. The dashboard's actually less than 3 megabytes, so I wonder what else is on that chip.

View Post



on the xbox.com.au website there was an interview with the company that designed the xbox360 dashboard. they said, in the end it turned out to be like 14 megabytes but they had to make it under 4 megabytes or something. crazy

#12 MSi

MSi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 06 December 2005 - 01:00 AM

QUOTE(sick_mate_xbox @ Nov 24 2005, 02:47 AM) View Post

on the xbox.com.au website there was an interview with the company that designed the xbox360 dashboard. they said, in the end it turned out to be like 14 megabytes but they had to make it under 4 megabytes or something. crazy



well, if it HAD to be less than 4mb, there must be something else on that chip.. right?

#13 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 December 2005 - 02:42 AM

QUOTE(MSi @ Dec 5 2005, 06:07 PM) View Post

well, if it HAD to be less than 4mb, there must be something else on that chip.. right?

not necessarily, they might have just wanted to be certain to have a good amount of expansion space, part of the chip might also be a microcache for dashboard functions

#14 The_Truth

The_Truth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts

Posted 12 December 2005 - 02:17 AM

I agree that the nand chip is used to store the dash, but I dont believe MS would store the bios on the chip with the dash... too easy for them... the nand chip(if the 360 is designed correctly) is NOT a cache... the reason being... NAND chips have a limited number write/rewrite cycles so they are not used as a ram. also if "caching" a value... it would be on a ram chip since NAND has a very slow reaction time compared to ram. If they were storing a value, it's logical if it's a rarely changed variable (dashboard settings). lol, at least we know for SURE that the dash isnt on the HD. biggrin.gif

all of the above said, I believe that it starts its bios and runs self checks(unsure of what), then if everything is OK then it retrieves the dash from the NAND chip. Also, if the original dash was ~14 mb, and they "had" to cut it to 4, then there is something else on the chip or else they would not be worried about 10 more megabytes. even if the dash was 14mb, that leaves a total of 114mb of expansion room. why would MS want THAT much expansion room? They either have plans for some MAJOR software upgrade(but why would the cut the first dash down so drastically?), or their is something else stored on the chip.

#15 Darren101

Darren101

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2005 - 12:05 PM

So, anybody know if this chip is encrypted, because if the dash is on it, we might be able to replace it.
That is if M$ have overlooked executable signing, because of all of the other security features.....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users