Jump to content


Photo

Data Corruption On Large Hdds, How Common Is It?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 johnronin

johnronin

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 21 November 2005 - 10:36 AM

i've had a 250 gb wd hdd in my xbox for over a year now filled up to the brim and have never had any data corruption problems or any problems whatsoever ,..with only an F partition no G...but now i put a dual hdd mod and have a 320wd hdd in there too,and formatted only with F partition also....my question is how many people have really experienced this data corruption i 've read about and at what point...should i format the 320 with a G partition......what happens if i switch to the 250 with only F and i have bios that are for F and G... will i lose any data after the 137gb mark?

Edited by johnronin, 21 November 2005 - 10:37 AM.


#2 00g

00g

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:P.V.B. Fla
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 November 2005 - 07:52 PM

I put a 300gb in a good friend of mine's box. He's got around 80 games or so on it, which makes it damn near full.

His box is still running strong.

I also put a 300gb in another friends Xbox yesterday.

EDIT: both of these setups are using F: get's all, no G:.

Edited by 00g, 21 November 2005 - 07:52 PM.


#3 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 November 2005 - 08:02 PM

Corruption tends to occur when a single partition is >256gb when formatted with 32k clusters. If you format with 64k clusters, you can have partitions up to 2 TB without corruption, I believe.

#4 blue bandicoot

blue bandicoot

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,283 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 November 2005 - 03:36 AM

i have a 250 in my box for about a year, lots of games loading/deleting, no problems yet.

#5 sick_mate_xbox

sick_mate_xbox

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts
  • Location:Darwin, Australia
  • Interests:-Skateboarding<br />-My VT Commodore<br />-Xbox Modding<br />-Rachael :)<br />-Snakes
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 November 2005 - 03:41 AM

my western digital has been going strong for a while now biggrin.gif

#6 Heet

Heet

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location:Gainesville, FL
  • Interests:Pina coladas and getting caught in the rain. Disk space.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 November 2005 - 04:58 AM

Ive always just formatted an F partitian and never had any problems. Even with a 500GB drive.

#7 johnronin

johnronin

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 22 November 2005 - 11:42 AM

i figured not alot of people would have problems......cause i've never actually read about someONEs data being corrupted.....just read from people that its a possibility....i just keep mine the way they are F : takes rest of drive on both hdds.....thanks

#8 Jenners9

Jenners9

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 474 posts

Posted 22 November 2005 - 07:23 PM

I've experienced some partial corruption on my 200gb seagate which is being used on my pc now. It started out ok, but when I started filling it up to 3/4 capacity I started getting errors on my box. Now on my pc I get wierd errors. Firstly if I connect it internally, XP will set it in PIO mode which is SLOWWW. So I use it in my firewire external box. Secondly, again if I fill it 3/4 capacity it will say "delayed write failed" But as soon as i free up the space it works perfectly. I can't figure out what causing it, I even tried diagnostics etc.. nothing wrong.. Only thing I haven't done is a low level format which is going to take a full day. I'll probably do it when I go on vacation or something since I use my pc for my ebay business. But anyways just want to let you guys know about this corruption I think I'm getting. But I do have another 250gb maxtor 16mb HD comming in tomorrow hopefully before thanksgiving. Gonna have it softmodded and start from there and see if any problems will occur.

#9 blakholephysics

blakholephysics

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 October 2006 - 12:45 AM

I have had a large amount of data corruption with my 300gb.

Apparently there is not data corruption until you pass the 256gb line and then it tends to corrupt anything new put in. This is a pretty serious issue if you don't have backup copies of your files and especially if you play games. (read/wright with games kills save files)

My copy of Halo 2 was corrupted and had to recopy if from the dvd.

As they said you just need to reformat the drive using 64kb cluster sizes, but this might be a problem if data preservation is an issue (since most people don't have a spare 300gb's around.

So if you buy a big hard drive you had better format it the right way. Data corruption is a nightmare.

#10 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 October 2006 - 12:50 AM

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

this thread is about a YEAR OLD. wink.gif

pretty sure they got it sorted out by now......

#11 blakholephysics

blakholephysics

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 October 2006 - 12:52 AM

oh yeah.. didn't really see the date there.

btw it's 32kb clusters not 64

#12 00g

00g

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:P.V.B. Fla
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 October 2006 - 01:13 AM

QUOTE(00g @ Nov 21 2005, 12:59 PM) View Post

I put a 300gb in a good friend of mine's box. He's got around 80 games or so on it, which makes it damn near full.

His box is still running strong.

I also put a 300gb in another friends Xbox yesterday.

EDIT: both of these setups are using F: get's all, no G:.

I'll go ahead and quote myself here, and say I was wrong.

Friend #1's Xbox came back to me. He reached the end of his HDD and the F: became corrupt.

I had to put a G: partition on there as well.

...I don't know who the 2nd 300gb HDD was.

#13 ScooterMagruder

ScooterMagruder

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 October 2006 - 12:32 AM

OK... does any know for sure how to prevent data corruption?

#14 Zebes

Zebes

    X-S Expert

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Oroville, CA
  • Interests:Xbox modding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 October 2006 - 12:56 AM

format the f/g drives with 32kb clusters

that will pretty much take care of any corrupion that would be caused by the drive being to big

people have to remember, this isn't the only way that data becomes corrupt though

#15 blackdiamond

blackdiamond

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Location:Chatsworth
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 October 2006 - 12:59 AM

QUOTE(ScooterMagruder @ Oct 27 2006, 01:39 AM) View Post

OK... does any know for sure how to prevent data corruption?


I learned it this way:
1) partition and format using evox (or whatever you wish). use any partition scheme you like.
2) any partition that is larger than 256GB has to be formatted with 32k clusters (using xbpartitioner),
the other partitions (<256GB) can just stay the way they are (probably 16k clusters).

My 400GB has been running great with this method, and no corruption.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users