Jump to content


Photo

EEPROM on Xbox 360 and xexdump utility


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#16 ShadowElitePro

ShadowElitePro

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Interests:Halo 3 <br />Football<br />Airsoft<br />Xbox 360
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 02:59 AM

I say good work to all whos tring hard to do this. I hope it works. If it works this would be huge.

#17 Shutdown[Swe]

Shutdown[Swe]

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Location:SWEDEN!!
  • Interests:Xbox Xbox Xbox Xbox<br />
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 03:49 AM

yea, somewhere to donate would be a good progress for hackers to get the needed equipment, ..

But stil we arent sure who is gonna fix it. and maybe we donate ALOT of xxxx$ to someone and he didnt hack it and someone else gets to hack it with no donated money for it. Still the first guy deservse some money but not 4digit cash ^^

#18 cjack

cjack

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 02:08 PM

Mmmhhh, just buyed a second x360 to make some experiments and in this one there isn't the eeprom near the CPU!!! You can see the empty space here:

IPB Image

The console WITHOUT the eeprom is a "Premium", the one WITH the eeprom is a "Core".
No vital data inside this eeprom for me ;-)

#19 Trex666

Trex666

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Computers, Trance/Gothic/Metal music, Linux, XBMC, Blackbox, Last.fm, Foobar, UIX, XDSL, Xecuter
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 02:14 PM

I assume that the core system has the dashboard stored there, while the premium would have it stored on the hard drive? Or would M$ be too lazy to do that?

#20 oskie

oskie

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 03:42 PM

Interesting discovery! No, this chip does not hold the dashboard software. It only has room for 2048 bits of data. It has been speculated that this chip holds system-specific permanent data (serialnumber, region etc). It is quite possible the premium edition keeps this data on the hard drive instead.

Oskar


#21 Trex666

Trex666

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Computers, Trance/Gothic/Metal music, Linux, XBMC, Blackbox, Last.fm, Foobar, UIX, XDSL, Xecuter
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 03:54 PM

I dont think it would be approperate keeping the info on the hard drive, isnt it possible to put the hard drive in other peoples 360's? to share stuff?
What if I brought a hard drive for the core system what would happen then?
or I some how broke the hard drive, does that mean the Premium isnt going to work anymore since its missing the data?
huh.gif

Edited by Trex666, 04 December 2005 - 03:56 PM.


#22 cjack

cjack

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 04:12 PM

Just finished an experiment with my two x360.....
I have desoldered the tsop of my two x360 and inverted ;D
Tsop of Premium soldered on Core console .... NO GO. Ring of light blinked red ... black screen.
Just resoldered the tsops in correct consoles....everything ok, consoles works fine.
Now i'll try to desolder the eeprom to see if console will power on normally :-)

#23 cjack

cjack

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 05:48 PM

Some other interesting findings:

1)Just desoldered the eeprom from my x360 core and......ehehehehhe....the console works fine without the eeprom too!!!!! Dashboard version and Kernel versions (backup version too) are the same of when there was the eeprom.... Everything works fine, games boots without problems....xbox live too......

2)I have swapped the dvd players just for fun and ..... the games won't boot....x360 tell you "To play this disc, put it in an xbox 360 console". So I think that x360 have some kind of segnature of his dvd player and won't boot games without it!

Photos of my adventures with x360 here: http://www.darkmoon....x360_photos.htm
More exps to come ;D

#24 JoHnnyTK36

JoHnnyTK36

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, TX
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 06:22 PM

Great work.

Glad to see more getting done than talking. Planning and discussing is always good but the only way to really know is just to do it.

#25 zilli0n

zilli0n

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 December 2005 - 06:27 PM

You have got some guts.... Nice work

#26 BlueCELL

BlueCELL

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 December 2005 - 06:40 PM

The data in teh TSOP is encrypted with a key that comes from the CPU. Each CPU has a different key, this is why the xbox wouldnt boot when you swapped them.

But yes, do you have big cahunas (spelt right??)

BlueCELL

#27 cjack

cjack

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 06:54 PM

Cahunas? I'm from Italy, this word is not an italian one :-)
But yes, seems that every xbox have a different encryption key for the Tsop. Swapping tsop also no x360 logo...only a black screen and red blink....ah dvd tray worked fine....

#28 Jonlisle81

Jonlisle81

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 December 2005 - 07:03 PM

Great work cjack! It's nice to see someone dive right in and get cracking. Especially when they have pics for those of us who aren't as brave. Come to think of it... I don't even have a 360. sad.gif and .... you.... have... . .. two. *sniff* *sniff* waaaaaaaahhhhhh

Anyway, keep up the great work! smile.gif

#29 scooby_dooby

scooby_dooby

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 590 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 07:11 PM

QUOTE(cjack @ Dec 4 2005, 07:01 PM) View Post

Cahunas? I'm from Italy, this word is not an italian one :-)
But yes, seems that every xbox have a different encryption key for the Tsop. Swapping tsop also no x360 logo...only a black screen and red blink....ah dvd tray worked fine....


Big Cahones! (caa-hone-ays)

Means you got big balls...

Good work man, I wouldn't trust myself to do that shit

Edited by scooby_dooby, 04 December 2005 - 07:12 PM.


#30 cjack

cjack

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 07:17 PM

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Hope to see more experiments from other people and cracking teams ;-)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users