Jump to content


Photo

What Is The Max Hd Upgrade Size Before Corruption Starts?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 novakpower

novakpower

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 07 December 2005 - 06:22 PM

I remember reading on the boards about seven months ago about corrupting files if the harddrive partition exceeded a certain size. I want to upgrade to a 320gb, and I thought I read I could go up to a 400gb without troubles when setting it up to F&G. Is this correct? Thanks.

#2 xalvalt

xalvalt

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Location:Madison, SD
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:07 PM

Oh, I think it's 2TB now, well that's the max. Not sure if that size has corruption problems or not. 320gb you'll be ok.

#3 BigSteel

BigSteel

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,103 posts
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:10 PM

My understanding is that any partition over 250GB will start to become corrupt. So, using F&G on a 400GB should be no problem.

#4 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:15 PM

You can have partitions up to 2TB without corruption, but ONLY if you format with 64k clusters instead of 32k.

#5 novakpower

novakpower

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 December 2005 - 06:34 AM

QUOTE(deadparrot @ Dec 7 2005, 12:22 PM) View Post

You can have partitions up to 2TB without corruption, but ONLY if you format with 64k clusters instead of 32k.


Thanks for the information. I assume there is a special format program to do the 64k cluster partition format? I remember reading about this to, but was fairly untested at the time. Do the drives formatted to 64k run well with most xbox apps and games?

#6 slingshot2170

slingshot2170

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Mountains
  • Interests:Biology, chemistry, science, electrical engineering
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 December 2005 - 06:54 AM

As far as I know, all of the current HDD formatters only use 32k clusters. You should be fine with a 400 GB drive formatted into an F and G. Hitachi has a 500 GB hard drive out, which is the largest commercially available and probably the max you could do with 32k clusters. I'm not sure if there are any Xbox apps which allow you to format into 64k clusters. It could be that the FatX system isn't compatible with this at all. But you should be fine with the 400 GB drive.

#7 Pikkon

Pikkon

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:女の子-音楽-ゲーム
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2005 - 08:25 AM

There are apps to format a HDD to 64k clusters.Its the best way to avoid corruption.

#8 The Zep Man

The Zep Man

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,833 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 December 2005 - 10:55 AM

I thought that the default partition-limit for FATX was 252 (or 256?) GB. Anything more would corrupt it.

@Pikkon
What Xbox-application can format Xbox FATX-partitions with 64k clusters and is this by default supported on every BIOS? uhh.gif

#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,741 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 08 December 2005 - 05:19 PM

id like to clear a few things up in here

QUOTE
My understanding is that any partition over 250GB will start to become corrupt. So, using F&G on a 400GB should be no problem.

partitions over 256gb become corrupt

QUOTE
You can have partitions up to 2TB without corruption, but ONLY if you format with 64k clusters instead of 32k.

32k cluster partitions get corrupt at 512gb, 64k will corrupt at 1024gb (1tb) there is currently no app to format with 64k clusters (not needed since there are no HDs that big yet)

QUOTE
What Xbox-application can format Xbox FATX-partitions with 64k clusters and is this by default supported on every BIOS?

xbpartitioner will automatically use 32k clusters on any partition it formats over 256gb
i believe your bios must be set to look at the HD partition table ("ignore HD partition table" box in xbtool is unchecked)



320gb and 400gb drives are fine using normal F+G partitioning (no special actions or apps needed) or using when xbpartioner to format large F

#10 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2005 - 06:20 PM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Dec 8 2005, 02:26 PM) View Post

32k cluster partitions get corrupt at 512gb, 64k will corrupt at 1024gb (1tb) there is currently no app to format with 64k clusters (not needed since there are no HDs that big yet)


I've been lied to! Damn. I'll remember this then.


#11 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,741 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 08 December 2005 - 06:45 PM

QUOTE(deadparrot @ Dec 8 2005, 11:27 AM) View Post

I've been lied to! Damn. I'll remember this then.

heh, theres alot of information flaoting around about this, problem is alot of it is wrong

the xbox default is 16k clusters, this causes data to corrupt at 256gb on a single partition, you cna format with 32k clusters to increase partition size to 512gb, theoretically you can use 64k clusters to go to 1024gb and 128k to put a full 2tb on a single partition

of course with each of these the minimum filesize is increases to the cluster size, resulting in more slack, by 64k and 128k it might not be worth it (although 64k would ne necessary if an IDE drive larger than 1tb is ever released)

#12 novakpower

novakpower

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 December 2005 - 06:13 AM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Dec 8 2005, 11:52 AM) View Post

heh, theres alot of information flaoting around about this, problem is alot of it is wrong

the xbox default is 16k clusters, this causes data to corrupt at 256gb on a single partition, you cna format with 32k clusters to increase partition size to 512gb, theoretically you can use 64k clusters to go to 1024gb and 128k to put a full 2tb on a single partition

of course with each of these the minimum filesize is increases to the cluster size, resulting in more slack, by 64k and 128k it might not be worth it (although 64k would ne necessary if an IDE drive larger than 1tb is ever released)


Thanks for the info Vader. How compatible are the 32k cluster sizes when using xbox apps and games?

#13 xboxgamer733

xboxgamer733

    X-S Moderating Team

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2005 - 06:27 AM

Applications and games will be 100% compatible with the 32 KB clusters. To them, cluster size doesn't matter at all.

#14 PIRATA!

PIRATA!

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 March 2006 - 05:22 PM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Dec 8 2005, 06:26 PM) View Post

id like to clear a few things up in here
partitions over 256gb become corrupt
32k cluster partitions get corrupt at 512gb, 64k will corrupt at 1024gb (1tb) there is currently no app to format with 64k clusters (not needed since there are no HDs that big yet)
xbpartitioner will automatically use 32k clusters on any partition it formats over 256gb
i believe your bios must be set to look at the HD partition table ("ignore HD partition table" box in xbtool is unchecked)
320gb and 400gb drives are fine using normal F+G partitioning (no special actions or apps needed) or using when xbpartioner to format large F


Here is the answer I was looking for.

I have to place a WD 320Gb hdd in my XBox 1.1.

How must I act to format it?? Must I format the complete hdd with the EvolutionX build in action for formatting drives and AFTER IT go to format ONLY the F partition with Xboxpartitioner, OR must I partition ALL the hdd using Xbpartitioner??

In case I have to partition ALL the drive using Xbpartitioner, can I manage to give to C, E, X, Y and Z some dimensions I prefere, or MUST they be big as the EvolutionX build in action formats it???

In case I MUST leave them as big as they are, should I format them ONLY to give them a 32k cluster partition or even here MUST I leave them as they are???

PLEASE let me know because I am waiting you guys for formatting. smile.gif

#15 Necrophiliac

Necrophiliac

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 March 2006 - 10:04 PM

Damn, I just modded my parents xbox using an X3 and a 320WD HDD. When formatting I set it to "Give all to F and no G" or something like that. Is there a way to take some of the empty space in F and make a G partition out of it without formatting the whole thing?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users