Jump to content


Photo

Flashing Your X2lite With Ozxchip Method


  • Please log in to reply
355 replies to this topic

#1 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 04:49 AM

Newer X2 chips come now come with a cromwell bios that does not require Ozxchip. Just follow these steps indicated by pdenton. (thanks pdenton)

QUOTE
if you have an xecutor 2.2 lite and are having problems getting cromwell to read your bios cd, i have help.

1) YOU DONT NEED THE OZXFLASH CD, JUST THE XECUTOR BIOS! (irc.easynews.com #xbins and jump on the ftp using their instructions. the dir on the ftp is /XBOX/bios/xecuter/xecuter2/MULTI )
2) dont use ultraiso and all that shit, its lame. i tried it and it didnt work. i have windows xp and used its integrated cd burning shit and it worked perfectly.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HOW TO MAKE THE BIOS CD
#1 - download the 4977 xecutor bios off the ftp site listed above and extract the files
#2 - off the same ftp site in the dir /XBOX/bios/xecuter/flashbios_cromwell get the file "xecuter_flashbios.zip" and extract the dummyfile.exe
#3 - get xecutor2 bios maker (x2bm) off this site (w00t for hosting it) and extract
#4 - load up x2bm and click import. you want the X2_4977.bin file in all four banks.
#5 - click save and save it as bios.bin; im fairly sure it automatically makes it a bin, so dont put a ".bin" in the file name.
#6 - have the dummyfile.exe make you a 100mb file and put it somewhere you can remember (desktop is fine  )
#7a - if you have windows xp just burn the 2 files using the integrated cd burning software. make sure you close the session or whatever.
#7b - if you dont have winxp (lamer), use nero. have it burn a data cd, no multisession, disc at once and finalize. i recommend burning at 4x


Once you have the cd burned, load up cromwell (make sure the chip is enabled, flash in unprotected and im not sure if bank makes a difference but i had it on bank2) and pop in the cd. it'll read it and should flash and turn off. if you're still having problems, it might be media. this truly does make a difference. i HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend verbatim cdrw's, preferrably 650mb and 4x. i had 4x tdk 700mb cdrws and they didnt read in my philips drive. hope this helps you guys. it took me 3 days and many many hours of reading forums and IRC to get mine to work.



``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````


If you're having trouble flashing your X2lite that came flashed with the Cromwell 1.8 bios, then PLEASE READ this and do not start anymore threads. Thanks!!!


Ok, here we go.

You'll know you installed your x2lite correctly when you boot up, and the DVD ROM ejects automatically and the LED flashes red once, then goes back to green. That's cromwell doing its thing.


First make sure you're using an RCA connecter. An RF, S-Video, or HDTV pack usually won't work with the Cromwell 1.8 bios. You'll get a blank screen with a slight wave.

*This is what an RCA connector looks like*

user posted image


You should now see the Linux dashboard. This is what follows:

1. Download the OZXchip file (Get It Here). It will let you flash your chip with any bios you choose.


Now burn the the OZxchip.iso image to a CD/RW in nero.

**note** Its already in an ISO form so you don't need to create an ISO

Follow these steps when burning an image with nero:

Open Nero, click on "File", scroll down to "burn Image...", then locate your "ozxflashcd.iso" and select that file and click open. Now select the lowest possible write speed(2x if possible) then select the "disk at once" write method, then click the "write" button and let nero do it's job.


Now mark the CD/RW as disk 1 and set it to the side.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


2. You'll need X2MB (Get It Here) also so you can save your bios image as a 1024 bios bin, instead of a 256 bios bin. The read me that comes with OZXchip says use 256 bios, but dis-regard this. It MUST BE A 1024 bin bios.

Now run X2MB and click the "Image Size" button, click the "import" button. A new window will open up, choose your up to date bios that you downloaded (try bios X2 4976.02 or X2 4976.02 Coloured). Continue to import the SAME bios to all four banks, until all banks are loaded with the bios. It should look like this when you start out:


user posted image


After you've imported the SAME bios to all banks, then click the save button, and save the bin as "bios.bin". It must be saved as "bios.bin"... all lowercase. If not... you're going nowhere. Now this bin should be a 1024k bios saved as "bios.bin".

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next download UltraISO here.

Now you'll need to create an ISO for your bios. To do this you'll need to add your "bios.bin" (the 1024k bios bin you created with X2BM) to the ISO you're going to create. You will also need a "fluffing" file. This adds size to the ISO so the Cromwell bios can mount it. So you'll need to ad a zip file to the ISO.

I used Nero.exe, and converted to zip form using winzip and added it to the ISO. So now you should have "bios.bin" and "Nero.zip" in your directory. NOTE.... The "bios.bin should be listed on top of the "Nero.zip". Click the "save" Icon, and save the ISO and save it as "biosflash.iso"

Now you have an ISO bios file.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Burn this image to a CD/RW with Nero using these steps:

Open Nero, click on "File", scroll down to "burn Image...", then locate your "biosflash.iso" and select that file and click open. Now select the lowest possible write speed(2x if possible) then select the "disk at once" write method, then click the "write" button and let nero do it's job.

Take the CD/RW out Label it as disk two.

----------------------------------------------------------

Your almost done now.

Boot your Xbox into the Cromwell 1.8 Linux dash. The DVD ROM should auto eject. Put in disk one. WAIT UNTIL IT SAYS "Please Insert CD" before you close the drive. Looks like this:(thanks chris76rs for the pics)

user posted image

The code should execute, just follow the on screen messages. The drive will open by itself prompting for the bios disk. Load disk 2 and let the drive close by its self. It will then proceed in flashing your chip.

user posted image

Remember the DVD ROM will open and close by itself during the process. Do not manually close or open the drive or you have to start over.

user posted image

user posted image

WHEW!!! DONE!!!

-Punchy ph34r.gif


***EDIT***

If you're having problems with your DVD drive reading the CD/RW you may want to try this as a last resort. Thanks XDAWG!

QUOTE

First off Props to tester123 for this tutorial but for those who could not get it here is some help Ok here is what I had to do to get it to work. You will need a (pc) cd or dvd drive and follow this tutorial.

http://www.xbox-scen...es/swap-dvd.php

I tried for 3 days with several different types of media and got nowhere some people got better drives or their lens reads better that is why they are getting it to work and others are not. If you follow that tutorial you should get it to work mine did first time. On a side note you dont even need the power splitter to flash the bios just hook a (pc) cd or dvd drive up to the xbox ide cable and use the hard drive power supply you dont need the hard drive to flash the chip so you can use its power supply but you will need the power splitter to install evox because then of course you will need your hard drive. hope this helps out.

XDAWG

Edited by tester123, 30 July 2003 - 03:29 AM.


#2 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 01:35 PM

Some people might still need help...bump laugh.gif

#3 bigrig

bigrig

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 64 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 01:42 PM

Yeah, thanks for the write-up, Punchy.

Now, the x2lite has a Bios select switch, what do you need to do to run 2 different bioses?

Thanks!

#4 vdude

vdude

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 03:05 PM

im getting this message when i insert the ozxflash cd.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
loading linuxboot.cfg from CDROM_Unable to find it,halting

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

has anyone else had this problem?
any ideas?

#5 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 04:09 PM

Are you using nero to burn the image?

Try using a different CD/RW.

#6 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 04:23 PM

QUOTE (bigrig @ Apr 21 2003, 02:42 PM)
Yeah, thanks for the write-up, Punchy.

Now, the x2lite has a Bios select switch, what do you need to do to run 2 different bioses?

Thanks!

Once you get your chip flashed, you can install EvoX and flash the chip from there with any bios's you want. I hope that answers your question

#7 bigrig

bigrig

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 64 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 05:41 PM

QUOTE (tester123 @ Apr 21 2003, 05:23 PM)
Once you get your chip flashed, you can install EvoX and flash the chip from there with any bios's you want. I hope that answers your question

Well, no, I'm asking how to use the multi-bios functionality of the x2lite.

In your instructions, you say "Continue to import the SAME bios to the other banks until they're all loaded with the same bios.", but then in your image, the top 2 banks are 4976.02, and the bottom two banks have EvoX D.6. Is this how it should be done to have 2 different bioses?

Maybe I should just get the X2BM software first, it probably covers this.

#8 vdude

vdude

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 06:03 PM

[QUOTE] Are you using nero to burn the image?

yes im using nero.

udf/iso (udf 2.01)
no multisession
disc at once
finalize cd
burning at 4x
added some files to make it around 500mb

using fujifilm cd-rw
thomson drive, i can play music off the fujifilm cd-rw, so im guessing it should work.

would u be able to tell me the exact steps when using nero, thet would help alot smile.gif

#9 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 06:35 PM

QUOTE


yes im using nero.

udf/iso (udf 2.01)
no multisession
disc at once
finalize cd
burning at 4x
added some files to make it around 500mb

using fujifilm cd-rw
thomson drive, i can play music off the fujifilm cd-rw, so im guessing it should work.

would u be able to tell me the exact steps when using nero, thet would help alot smile.gif



Open Nero, click on "File", scroll down to "burn Image...", then locate your "ozxflashcd.iso" and select that file and click open. Now select the lowest possible write speed(2x if possible) then select the "disk at once" write method, then click the "write" button and let nero do it's job. Hope this helps.




-Punchy

Edited by tester123, 21 April 2003 - 06:48 PM.


#10 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 06:45 PM

QUOTE (bigrig @ Apr 21 2003, 06:41 PM)
QUOTE (tester123 @ Apr 21 2003, 05:23 PM)
Once you get your chip flashed, you can install EvoX and flash the chip from there with any bios's you want. I hope that answers your question

Well, no, I'm asking how to use the multi-bios functionality of the x2lite.

In your instructions, you say "Continue to import the SAME bios to the other banks until they're all loaded with the same bios.", but then in your image, the top 2 banks are 4976.02, and the bottom two banks have EvoX D.6. Is this how it should be done to have 2 different bioses?

Maybe I should just get the X2BM software first, it probably covers this.

I was using that image as an example... that's what it should look LIKE when all banks are filled. Why don't you test it and see. Try both ways... using all the same BIOS's or different ones. After all that's what this hobby is all about... testing. smile.gif


This tutorial is to get you up a running, that's all. Once you get your chip flashed with a different bios(using this method) you can install EvoX... where you can EASILY flash the chip with ANY COMBINATION OF BIOS's you want. I hope this helps.

-Punchy

Edited by tester123, 21 April 2003 - 06:50 PM.


#11 vdude

vdude

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 06:46 PM

it works!



thanks tester123 biggrin.gif

#12 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 21 April 2003 - 06:51 PM

QUOTE (vdude @ Apr 21 2003, 07:46 PM)
it works!



thanks tester123 biggrin.gif

You're welcome vdude... anytime. biggrin.gif

#13 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 22 April 2003 - 12:46 AM

I see people starting new threads about this again...bump. laugh.gif

#14 tester123

tester123

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Location:DFW

Posted 22 April 2003 - 02:25 PM

GRRRR... still starting new threads about this... bump.

#15 Eternal-X

Eternal-X

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 22 April 2003 - 03:10 PM

Hey PunchDave seems to have found you on this site, keep up the good work. I'm going to have to send you a pic of a HDD mod I have planned for the future, its going to look sweet.

Eternal-X




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users