Jump to content


Photo

Matched Parts (cpu W Tsop And/or Gpu?)


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ukanndewit

ukanndewit

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 December 2005 - 05:57 AM

I read that people have tried moving TSOP from one 360 to another, and the 360 does not boot. Has anyone tried moving the TSOP along with the CPU? Should be possible to figure out the parts that have to matched for a system to boot.

I heard about fuses they can blow in the CPU, I don't know if this is possible on the GPU chip.

Don't know what tools you need to cleanly pull or plug a CPU/GPU. Anyone ever done this?


#2 PCBUILDERCHRIS

PCBUILDERCHRIS

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:HOUSTON TX
  • Interests:COMPUTER BUILDING<br />XBOX HACKING<br />HATING ON OTHERS<br />BEING MEAN AND NOT WANTING TO
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 December 2005 - 03:48 PM

i wish someone could make a homemade cpu socket if this was the case you know just for easy removal and replacement

#3 MaTiAz

MaTiAz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Interests:Xbox hardware, hacking, technical stuff
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 12:51 AM

Hot-air rework stations are needed, and they're waaaay too expensive for everyone to get them. And stick the cpu about 1 mm too far, and you're screwed wink.gif

#4 mksoftware

mksoftware

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 03:07 PM

QUOTE(MaTiAz @ Dec 28 2005, 12:58 AM) View Post

Hot-air rework stations are needed, and they're waaaay too expensive for everyone to get them. And stick the cpu about 1 mm too far, and you're screwed wink.gif


If he wants he can try it of course, but I'm not going to do anything like that tongue.gif

#5 cobra2002

cobra2002

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:UK, Grimsby
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 06:12 PM

QUOTE(MaTiAz @ Dec 28 2005, 01:58 AM) View Post

Hot-air rework stations are needed, and they're waaaay too expensive for everyone to get them. And stick the cpu about 1 mm too far, and you're screwed wink.gif


Not just an hot air rework station, you would need a special adapter to be able to remove bga chips ( ball grid array, I think)
I have been using an hot air rework station for a few years now, for replacing TSOPS etc, this takes time to master, but as you have access to the legs on the chip it fairly easy, and any cheap rework station would do the job.
But the CPU is BGA like I mentioned above, and all the connections are under the chip itself, this makes them impossible to get to without specialist adaptors etc, and in my opinion, very hard to remove for the average joe blogs who only plays around with electronics as an hobby.
They are fitted by using tiny balls of solder, between the chip and the mainboard, which are both heated to a high enough temperature to melt the solder.

Rick

P.S The above info is from memory, so if im wrong in anyway, please correct me, so I can also learn like everyone else.

#6 MaTiAz

MaTiAz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Interests:Xbox hardware, hacking, technical stuff
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE(cobra2002 @ Dec 28 2005, 07:19 PM) View Post

Not just an hot air rework station, you would need a special adapter to be able to remove bga chips ( ball grid array, I think)
I have been using an hot air rework station for a few years now, for replacing TSOPS etc, this takes time to master, but as you have access to the legs on the chip it fairly easy, and any cheap rework station would do the job.
But the CPU is BGA like I mentioned above, and all the connections are under the chip itself, this makes them impossible to get to without specialist adaptors etc, and in my opinion, very hard to remove for the average joe blogs who only plays around with electronics as an hobby.
They are fitted by using tiny balls of solder, between the chip and the mainboard, which are both heated to a high enough temperature to melt the solder.

Rick

P.S The above info is from memory, so if im wrong in anyway, please correct me, so I can also learn like everyone else.

Actually, I heard that you can remove BGA packages by microwaving the PCB, so it heats up and the solder melts biggrin.gif

#7 cobra2002

cobra2002

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:UK, Grimsby
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 10:00 PM

QUOTE(MaTiAz @ Dec 28 2005, 11:01 PM) View Post

Actually, I heard that you can remove BGA packages by microwaving the PCB, so it heats up and the solder melts biggrin.gif


Thanks for that extra bit of info m8, I just tried it, but the flames and sparks have just welded the microwave door shut, should I have removed the heatsink first ? uhh.gif

Edited by cobra2002, 28 December 2005 - 10:01 PM.


#8 MaTiAz

MaTiAz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Interests:Xbox hardware, hacking, technical stuff
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 10:07 PM

QUOTE(cobra2002 @ Dec 28 2005, 11:07 PM) View Post

Thanks for that extra bit of info m8, I just tried it, but the flames and sparks have just welded the microwave door shut, should I have removed the heatsink first ? uhh.gif

http://wiki.xda-deve...ame=WallabyJTAG
Have a look at that, there they microwave a PocketPC mobo and take the CPU off biggrin.gif

#9 cobra2002

cobra2002

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:UK, Grimsby
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2005 - 11:02 PM

QUOTE(MaTiAz @ Dec 28 2005, 11:14 PM) View Post

http://wiki.xda-deve...ame=WallabyJTAG
Have a look at that, there they microwave a PocketPC mobo and take the CPU off biggrin.gif


Great, I guess I did it wrong then smile.gif ya could of told me that I had to use a combi oven.

I finally managed to get my board out of the microwave, and all seemed ok, but now I have to restart my microwave every 5 mins, it keeps displaying a blue screen of death, and telling me to contact my vendor smile.gif

#10 mirx999

mirx999

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts

Posted 29 December 2005 - 09:31 PM

check your jumpers and your FSB multiplier.

#11 MaTiAz

MaTiAz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Interests:Xbox hardware, hacking, technical stuff
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 December 2005 - 06:24 PM

QUOTE(mirx999 @ Dec 29 2005, 10:38 PM) View Post

check your jumpers and your FSB multiplier.

Yeah and make sure that the BIOS is correct version for your owen and REMEMBER that there has to be enough RAM for it to fry anything ^^

#12 networkBoy

networkBoy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,916 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 January 2006 - 01:05 AM

QUOTE(cobra2002 @ Dec 28 2005, 06:19 PM) View Post

Not just an hot air rework station, you would need a special adapter to be able to remove bga chips ( ball grid array, I think)
I have been using an hot air rework station for a few years now, for replacing TSOPS etc, this takes time to master, but as you have access to the legs on the chip it fairly easy, and any cheap rework station would do the job.
But the CPU is BGA like I mentioned above, and all the connections are under the chip itself, this makes them impossible to get to without specialist adaptors etc, and in my opinion, very hard to remove for the average joe blogs who only plays around with electronics as an hobby.
They are fitted by using tiny balls of solder, between the chip and the mainboard, which are both heated to a high enough temperature to melt the solder.

Rick

P.S The above info is from memory, so if im wrong in anyway, please correct me, so I can also learn like everyone else.

You are quite correct. I use a DRS-24 for BGA re-work, (should say used, as I don't work there anymore).
-nB

#13 leopan13

leopan13

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 December 2011 - 08:23 AM

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users