Jump to content


Photo

XBConnect running on WinXP 64


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 January 2006 - 06:06 AM

XBConnect running on WinXP 64-- Posted by XanTium on January 4 00:06 EST
From xbconnect.com:


The first 64 bit compatible tunnel is finally a reality. I have just finished playing my first game of Halo on XBConnect(info) and WinXP x64. Performance is what I expected and it runs real nice. While still alpha, I will be releasing this version to all XBC Pro users and any x64 user out there. Drop me an email at tod -AT- xbconnect.com and I'll get you in the queue.



#2 Laney0069

Laney0069

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 January 2006 - 07:30 AM

Sorry. How do find out if my Win XP Pro is x64?
Thanks

#3 troyBORG

troyBORG

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 January 2006 - 08:29 AM

If you don't know if you have a 64bit edition. Then I'm gonna guess you don't have it.

First thing is you have to have a 64bit processor.


"windows 64 bit still has many driver issues and only very few people are using it as there main OS.
you will see next to no system proformace improvment,unless you will be using 64bit versions of programs,which are quite rare.
and you will not be able to install many older programs as they have 16 bit installers."

So I don't think you have to worry.


I bought a Petium 4. So I still have to run 32bit :'(

#4 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,995 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 04 January 2006 - 10:19 AM

Cool, great for systems that have more than 4GB ram (wish I had 4GB ram).

I'm on x64 my self on my laptop and can say it's better than xp-32 (as x64 is based on 2003), I dual boot but I'm lucky as my laptop has all the right drivers for x64 even the wireless.

I have noticed faster rendering making fractals because I tried it on 32Bit and 64Bit and rendering is so much faster.

Is XBConnect x64 a 64bit exe or will it reside in the (x86) program files folder?

Amd64 rock with XP x64 cool.gif edit you can only get x64 via OEM so most of you wont have it. And Some Pentium4's are 64bit with the EMT64 extension.

Edited by bucko, 04 January 2006 - 10:21 AM.


#5 Takenover83

Takenover83

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis, IN USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2006 - 11:59 PM

The queue must be pretty long, ive been waiting all day for it to be emailed. sleeping.gif

#6 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 January 2006 - 01:52 AM

QUOTE
The first 64 bit compatible tunnel is finally a reality.
Well, what a bunch of crap! KaiD have been 64Bit compatible for quite a while now.

#7 Takenover83

Takenover83

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis, IN USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2006 - 02:51 AM

I wonder if it's pure x64 coded, or if it just runs on winxp64. I dont think KAI has a pure x64 release for winxp64, atleast I dont see it in the download section. I run KAI off my router, so thats of little concern to me. tongue.gif


#8 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 January 2006 - 03:12 AM

That's correct, Takenover83. There isn't a Kai (windows) client with 64Bit support.

But KaiD still supports and have supported 64Bit for ages.

Edited by DOS4GW, 05 January 2006 - 03:13 AM.


#9 Takenover83

Takenover83

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 137 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis, IN USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 January 2006 - 01:50 AM

This was finally emailed to me, it's not pure x64 sleep.gif

False claims I guess.....

#10 Bio}{azard

Bio}{azard

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 06 January 2006 - 01:57 AM

Isnt Kaid the router firmware thing? Does that qualify for x64 XP support?

Kai doesnt run on Win XP x64. XBC does. I think that qualifies as XP x64 support.

Edited by Bio}{azard, 06 January 2006 - 01:58 AM.


#11 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 January 2006 - 05:01 PM

KaiD is not the same as KaiStation even though KaiD is used by KaiStation. KaiD is not dependant on KaiStation.

So no, KaiD is not the same as "the router firmware thing".
I'm not talking about Windows XP64 support, I'm talking about;
QUOTE(xbconnect.com)
The first 64 bit compatible tunnel is finally a reality.
Which simply isn't true.

#12 TheMuffinMan

TheMuffinMan

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,639 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 11 January 2006 - 04:36 PM

Well aren't you a little douchey mc doucher


QUOTE
The first 64 bit Windows compatible tunnel is finally a reality.



There you go, are you happy? It's quite obvious of what they meant chief, I'm surprised you're even still worrying about news that was posted what? 7 days ago and is long gone off the front page of XS. When Xlink has a full 64bit version that runs in Windows then by all means claim you have one. It's quite big news for XBC, so when you announce you've got a version that works in windows x64 then you cna get a front page announcenment as well. rolleyes.gif I think you're posting out of jealousy than anything else.

#13 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 11 January 2006 - 05:51 PM

I'm sticking to the facts. And to respond in a "proper" way like you; I think you post out of ignorance more than anything else.

#14 TheMuffinMan

TheMuffinMan

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,639 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:06 PM

woot ignorance!


XBC is fully 64 bit compatible as a windows application, and you have to admit to that, Kai as a firmware or KaiD are not a full windows based application that work IN windows 64 bit.

#15 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 12 January 2006 - 05:43 PM

http://www.meanmf.com/kai-64.gif

hmm .. thats a pic of kaid running in x64 .. so ya .. also i would have to think the only reason XBC has this 64 bit version is because winpcap released a beta 64 bit version, kai doesn't use winpcap anymore ..




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users