Jump to content


Photo

Xbox Will Restart 3 Times Then Shut Off....


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2006 - 06:52 AM

Hello I have just purchased a broken xbox from another xbs member and the xbox will cycle power 3 times and then shut off. I believe its probably caused by a bad power supply , does anyone else have any suggestions?


Also had a 2.3b lite modchip installed that was taken out improperly...

#2 Jennekee

Jennekee

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Location:Stalingrad (Volgograd) Russia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2006 - 11:48 AM

Ok, its NOT a bad Power supply.
The EEPROM could be fried, and the Motherboard could be dead.
Check to make sure its wired right where the chip was removed.
If this doesnt fix it,
you need a new m/b

#3 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2006 - 06:27 PM

What wires should I look at?


Should I just clean up all the left over solder and try to restore back to stock?

and if that doesnt work should I try throwing a different mod-chip on there....its probably just the bios messed up or something due to the modchip being improperly taken out

#4 Son of None

Son of None

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 81 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2006 - 06:52 PM

If I Where you I'd clean all the solder up and run diognostics on the LPC to see if there is a broken trace, also check where the d0 was soldered to make sure its in good shape.

#5 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 January 2006 - 07:03 PM

A frag with no chip...d0...probably the prob (unless there are other ripped traces around the d0).

#6 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 January 2006 - 05:08 AM


Hey thanx for the response


Im still new to all the hardware/tech stuff


How would I check the D0 and see if its still good , and check for ripped traces?


Also if there is am I able to fix it or do I need to get another motherboard?


Again thanx and any help is appriciated!

#7 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 January 2006 - 09:02 AM

Any other tips so I can get everything I will need before the xbox arrives?

#8 godoprod

godoprod

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 January 2006 - 03:44 PM

I had the same problem when I installed my Xecuter 2.6 Lite, my problem was an old software on the chip, I had to program it and install the newest software, then it worked fine! biggrin.gif

#9 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 January 2006 - 08:49 PM

Thnx boss....is there anyway to program it other than buying a programmer? lol sorry I am very new to this

#10 puffdank

puffdank

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 January 2006 - 08:36 PM

Damn no other thoughts as to what could be causing this?

If not shipping out monday along w/ chip and a halo le controller for a working mobo to a cool member here




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users