Hal2000

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:00 PM

Ok, I am complete newbie, having bought a modified Xbox from a friend of mine. The Xbox came with EvolutionX as well as several other front ends. I am using the Xecuter mod chip.

I would like to use Xbox Live. However, my version of EvolutionX does not have the command/ability to lock the hard drive. BUT, one of the other dashboards that came with the system does. I believe the name of teh dashboard is called AVALAUNCH or something like that.

My question is: If I lock my hard drive, does the system boot to the MS dashboard? And if it does, how do I go about getting back to my Avalaunch dashboard so that I can unlock my hard drive?

Thanks.

#2 slimgrip

slimgrip

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,306 posts
  • Interests:NorthWest UK's Premiere 360 Modding Service
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:18 PM

If you wanna use xbox live lock the HDD

When you boot with chip enabled it will boot to evox/avalaunch etc irrespective of hdd being locked or not!
To play xbox live boot to m$ dashboard with chip disabled

Slim

#3 RLLMoFP

RLLMoFP

X-S Senior Member

• XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:19 PM

You can lock your hard drive and still be able to use the home-brew applications, Evox, Avalaunch, XBMC and so on. Only the Stock MS Bios cares whether the drive is locked or not.

It all depends on the way your C drive is setup, but if you lock the drive and disable the mod (via what ever means your chip allows) boot the stock bios and see what dashboard comes up.

Edited by RLLMoFP, 11 January 2006 - 09:21 PM.

#4 Jrgong420

Jrgong420

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:25 PM