Jump to content


Photo

Is This A Good Hdtv


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 linkpwns

linkpwns

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:35 PM

HDTV

#2 Mjkthirdeye

Mjkthirdeye

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location:Slipping back into the gap again.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:38 PM

It seems to be getting pretty good reviews, Go for it. It's not that expensive.

#3 linkpwns

linkpwns

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:39 PM

i was wondering if u can actually put HD components into it, because it says info not available


#4 Mjkthirdeye

Mjkthirdeye

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location:Slipping back into the gap again.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:40 PM

The Highlights section says:


27" flat screen: The stylish flat screen increases the viewing angle and minimizes distortion and glare for a great picture from anywhere in the room.

HDTV monitor: Just connect an optional HD receiver to experience the brilliant clarity and detail of high-definition programming.

Improved picture: The 4-line digital comb filter, velocity scan modulation and Dynamic Focus features combine to deliver a perfect picture every time.

A/V versatility: S-video and component video inputs help deliver the best possible picture from DVD players, satellite receivers and other home theater components.

Enhanced audio: MTS stereo delivers 16 watts of sound for soundtracks that are as crisp and clear as the picture. Bass and treble controls make it simple to tailor the sound to your liking.

So I assume it does

#5 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:41 PM

that doesnt look like its widescreen... which is a big factor for me

#6 lileclerc20

lileclerc20

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Location:mo where
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:42 PM

Thats a nice tv for only $399.00 ... if you are going to buy one... i'd recocmend you get a widscreen HDTV.. ours is a square like that one.. and it has two black bars going across it..

but any way that would work and its nice cool.gif

#7 linkpwns

linkpwns

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:43 PM

It has no hdmi imputs, but it sounds to me like a good TV, and it has free shipping, im gonna order it, and go hunting for hd cables...also is a a crt tv....its flat-screen, but that doesnt tell me much...widescreen will have to wait...

#8 tommiwan

tommiwan

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:KC
  • Interests:Halo, Bioshock, Crackdown
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:44 PM

I don't know how they can call it HD. It only has S-Video input and that is not considered HD (I don't believe it can carry an HD signal). On most tv's today HD signal is carried using component, DVI, or HDMI cables.

I'll bet it's an EDTV which does 480P. (just a guess though)

Edit: if you go to the accesories tab it lists component cables, does that mean it has a component input? this is the problem, I would not be able to buy a tv offline without being able to see it in action.

Edited by tommiwan, 17 January 2006 - 10:48 PM.


#9 Mjkthirdeye

Mjkthirdeye

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location:Slipping back into the gap again.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:46 PM

QUOTE(Mjkthirdeye @ Jan 17 2006, 03:47 PM) View Post

A/V versatility: S-video and component video inputs help deliver the best possible picture from DVD players, satellite receivers and other home theater components.

Ehem biggrin.gif

#10 adfinder23

adfinder23

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:46 PM

Doesn't HDTV have to be widescreen?

edit: Just noticed it was a monitor and not a tv, so I guess that might explain that.

Edited by adfinder23, 17 January 2006 - 10:47 PM.


#11 linkpwns

linkpwns

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:46 PM

heres the other tvs ive been lookin at, theyre refurbished which makes me hesitant, but i believe its hdtv because it has the component imputs...anyways heres the other tvs...

Toshiba...

Philips...

#12 Mjkthirdeye

Mjkthirdeye

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location:Slipping back into the gap again.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:48 PM

QUOTE(adfinder23 @ Jan 17 2006, 03:53 PM) View Post

Doesn't HDTV have to be widescreen?

No, It will just have the horizontal bars across the screen when in a widescreen resolution

#13 lileclerc20

lileclerc20

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Location:mo where
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:48 PM

WAIT!!!!!!!! Dont buy it....

you need an HD Receiver wich means you have to spend another $250.00 for that to get hi def on that televison.. i googled it and that tv only has the red white and yellow plugs..

its not "HD ready" hi def tvs say that it should say that! ohmy.gif


Edited by lileclerc20, 17 January 2006 - 10:50 PM.


#14 linkpwns

linkpwns

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 January 2006 - 10:50 PM

I didnt yet, its an hd monitor and im pretty sure that hd monitor and hd ready is the same thing...right?

#15 deadparrot

deadparrot

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2006 - 11:00 PM

No, as stated previously, you will have to buy an external box to be able to utilize the hi-def features.

If you want a nice plasma/HDTV, get a Pioneer PDP436XDE or similar in their range. Amazing picture on those.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users