Jump to content


Photo

Multiversion Compatible Tsop Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
246 replies to this topic

#1 Ant2483

Ant2483

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 04:17 AM

Currently most people are following the tutorials on the web site to create a multibios tsop by grounding points A18 & A19. But using this method you cant use the newest multiversion bios and I was unable to get it to work at all with a V1.1 box.

A much better way is to make a switch that switches from A19-->ground & A19-->vcc. This forces the box to only read from half the tsop at a time without comparing different parts of the tsop. The easiest way I have found to connect A19 to vcc is to use this point on the lpc:

user posted image
(pic is from the back of the mobo)

I would suggest flashing the bios for the first time without the switch installed first because once installed (like I said before) the xbox can only read or write to half at a time. Ground will be top half, VCC will be bottom half. But after the switch is fully working you can flash half of the bios at a time with evox. Just boot up the box and have a 512k size bios in c:bios and you can then flash half of your tsop at a time.

I have tried this on both a v1.0 and a v1.1 and both have worked fine just make sure you use the correct original bios for each. I also see no reason why this wouldnt work with a switch on both A18 and A19. Then you could switch to 4 different bios banks and could flash to each bank at a time.

Anyways I hope more people were interested in something like this besides myself.

#2 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 12:11 PM

can anyone verify this ?
I'll try this when I get home.

Edited by craigncheri, 24 April 2003 - 12:50 PM.


#3 Ant2483

Ant2483

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 01:03 PM

Believe me I have done it on both v1.0 and v1.1 and it works great. Give it a try.

#4 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 02:23 PM

great I'll try it tonight on a 1.1 and verify this.
i've tried many times doing a multibios setup switching a19 to ground but never switched it to +vcc also.




Edited by craigncheri, 24 April 2003 - 02:26 PM.


#5 Ant2483

Ant2483

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 03:15 PM

cool, be sure to post your results.

#6 Reefer

Reefer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 08:36 PM

just tried this out! Works like a charm! I now have the retail bios + x2 4976.02 on the TSOP smile.gif Great work mate! Big ups to you for solving this problem!

#7 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 09:13 PM

same results here with a 1.1 box
retail + retail + evox d6 + evox d6

works great, thanks for the info and figuring this out.


#8 Ant2483

Ant2483

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 24 April 2003 - 10:52 PM

Glad it worked out for you guys. This makes flashing the tsop just as good as a modchip in my opinion. Once you get this set up properly it would be very hard to completely fuck your tsop. Because if you only relash each half of the tsop at a time if the flash does fuck up you still have the other half to boot from. Then you can reflash the fucked up part. Even if you dont use xbox live this is still a great way to have a multibios tsop because it really is a lot safer to flash half of the tsop at a time.

#9 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 12:49 AM

yeah this works great and just like you said, I upgraded evox d6 to x2 4796.02 only on half the tsop, it flashed only that half leaving the other half alone.


#10 52volts

52volts

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 01:04 AM

Cool time for me to go and try this, I just traded my 1.0 with a bad tsop for a 1.1 smile.gif with a samsung biggrin.gif

Has anyone tried to use both the A18+A19 so the could have the orig+orig+evoxd6+x2. Or would this not work ?

Edited by 52volts, 25 April 2003 - 01:38 AM.


#11 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 11:09 AM

I havent tried that but it should work fine.
post your results
I would recomend first testing
x2+x2+evox d6+x2 4796

that way if the d6+x2 portion doesn't work you could still boot to the lower half the tsop and then fix the top half.

#12 Ant2483

Ant2483

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 02:23 PM

Yeah there is no reason why the 4 bank switch wouldnt work so just give it a try. I just didnt really have a need for that.

#13 52volts

52volts

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 08:45 PM

Damm I've been trying to flash the tsop with a multibios on this damm brand new v1.1 xbox for hours and it still wont work. I got so sick of aligning the chip I solder the damm baster, and it still don't work. I can flash the matrix in mode 4 to matrix_tsop flash bios, but when i reboot in mode 4 or 3 the xbox just boots 3 times and then goes off or stay on with blank screen. Ok Ive tried different d/l or the tsop flash bin and still no good, And I know my xbox boots fine without the chip and a orignal HD. It also boots fine with the evoxd6 color mod on the matrix. I now think the matrix is broken or something! any one had this problem ? I really want to get a multibios on a 1.1 cuz I have 3 v1.1 and only 1 matrix chip smile.gif

#14 xfire

xfire

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:26 PM

I would suggest that one install this switch prior to flashing. Flash half the bios with 007 hack (512k) and the other half stays retail. Perfect for XLIVE users. Would this work if one places a 4976.02 512k bios in the 007 gamesave area?

#15 craigncheri

craigncheri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:29 PM

you cant flash a 1.1's tsop using the matrix mod (only 1.0's)
you either need a 29 pin homebrew for a 1.1 or 007 + memory card hack.

both these have worked for me.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users