Jump to content


Photo

Buying Windows Media Center


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:05 AM

I really want to stream video's and watch live tv from my Xbox 360 but I dont have Windows Media Center. I had a Windows Media Center PC a month ago but I returned it to get my gaming PC. I remembered it having a cable connector or whatever you call it on the back. Now if I go buy the operating system how am I going to watch live tv? Do I need to buy a cable outlet kind of thing for my computer?

#2 Achtung

Achtung

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 596 posts

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:12 AM

You need to have TV-in on your video card.

#3 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:17 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I only got two of those monitor ports and an s video port. So I need to buy a new video card?

#4 webslinginwr22

webslinginwr22

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:23 AM

or you could buy a pci tv tuner card. ati makes pretty good ones.

#5 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:27 AM

http://www.futuresho...31&catid=10524#

This right?

#6 yaazz

yaazz

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:32 AM

http://www.ncix.com/...ct_id=111106402

tuner card, 38 bucks

#7 Master X

Master X

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,010 posts
  • Location:Look Behind You
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 05:47 AM

QUOTE(yaazz @ Jan 20 2006, 01:39 AM) View Post

Woah thanks.

#8 Torx-T3D

Torx-T3D

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 110 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 10:56 AM

can you dual boot mce and XP? have your normal video card installed ALONG with the tv tuner card??

#9 tommiwan

tommiwan

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:KC
  • Interests:Halo, Bioshock, Crackdown
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 January 2006 - 03:38 PM

There wouldn't be any good reasons to dual boot those two OS's. MC is essentially XP pro with the media center functionality. I just switched from xp pro to mc and it is working great so far.

#10 pellinore

pellinore

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2006 - 08:17 PM

Are you even able to purchase MCE or do you have to buy a computer with it installed.

#11 RogueStorm

RogueStorm

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 21 January 2006 - 05:36 AM

QUOTE(pellinore @ Jan 20 2006, 01:24 PM) View Post

Are you even able to purchase MCE or do you have to buy a computer with it installed.


You can purchase an OEM copy like I did last week. It installed fine with the exception of it stuttering and locking up when playing live video. Turned out to be my dual core Athlon X2 3800+ needing a driver from AMD.

Anyway, I recommend doing some research and getting a card that is recommended by MS. I purchased a Hauppauge PVR-150 PCI card and it works great. I wish I had gotten the PVR-500 that has dual tuners, but it works great alongside my wife's TiVO that she took over and won't give back now.

#12 lcapitan

lcapitan

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Location:Jersey Baby!
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2006 - 06:54 AM

I have it, but I didn't buy it. "WINK" wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif

#13 Junglist_Refugee

Junglist_Refugee

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 81 posts
  • Location:Cork, Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 January 2006 - 12:49 PM

make sure the TV card you buy is compatible with
WIndows Medis Center, not of them are, escpically
the cheap & nasty ones.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users