Jump to content


Photo

Using Xbmc As Dashboard


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Vastlee

Vastlee

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 26 January 2006 - 03:31 PM

Right now I'm using the latest EvolutionX dashboard, my friend says that you can use the latest XBMC as your dashboard as it will do everything you need it too including the Xored training manager. Anyway, I have access to ftp the stuff over, I'm just afraid if I overwrite my current dashboard it won't boot. Do I need to just rename the default.xbe to xboxdash.xbe or evoxdash.xbe? Or is it more complicated than that? TIA

#2 C o s m o

C o s m o

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arlington, Tejas
  • Interests:The Shocker, mudbutt, luge lessons, buggery.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 January 2006 - 03:32 PM

Link in my sig tells how to do it beerchug.gif

#3 Vastlee

Vastlee

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 26 January 2006 - 04:12 PM

Ok, got XBMC as my dashboard, but IGR is now gone, apparently that was built in to the evox bios I have in it. Now XBMC says I have a SmartXX modchip, so I went and got the latest SmartXX bios, but I don't know how to load it. Can anyone make a suggestion?

#4 C o s m o

C o s m o

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arlington, Tejas
  • Interests:The Shocker, mudbutt, luge lessons, buggery.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 January 2006 - 04:18 PM

You mean SmartXX OS?
I would just use a BIOS with IGR support.

#5 Vastlee

Vastlee

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 26 January 2006 - 04:35 PM

Umm... I'm a newb sorry. XBMC says I have a SmartX modchip. What bios should I load to have IGR and how do I go about loading a new bios?

#6 _iffy

_iffy

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:burlington ontario Best Country: Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 January 2006 - 05:49 PM

you don't have a smartxx chip.
xbmc only recognises 3 or 4 chip types. when it see's yours it compares it to those 4.

right thumb click -> menu -> system info -> hardware
it will scan and it will tell you what flash rom you have (eg: sst 490020A)
thats your chip

edit: DON'T use a smartx bios you don't have smartx chip.

Edited by _iffy, 26 January 2006 - 05:52 PM.


#7 Vastlee

Vastlee

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 26 January 2006 - 08:44 PM

Ok ran a bios check and it says LPC based (SST 49LF020) So does this help? Any idea what bios I should get to have my IGR back? And again, once I get said bios, how do I load it? Thanks for your help so far by the way.

#8 _iffy

_iffy

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Location:burlington ontario Best Country: Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 January 2006 - 09:55 PM

i think this is your chip >picture<
the SST 49LF020 matches what's on the chip. (thats your flash rom)
that chip has a 256k bank so get a 256 bios. with EVtool/XBtoo/X2ool or whatever set IGR to more compatible, not quick.

you can flash with evolutionX dashboard.
you can load evolutionX with xbmc, just go through files and select evoxdash.xbe or whatever you named it after you switched dashboards.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users