Jump to content


Photo

Triple Bios?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 _Prude_

_Prude_

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 February 2006 - 11:39 PM

Can I make my TSOP (xbox 1.0) to have 3 bioses on it (1x512 and 2x256)? I looked for some tutorials about it, but i found only 2 or 4 way split... So maybe its impossible? tongue.gif

#2 _Prude_

_Prude_

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 February 2006 - 11:40 PM

Can I make my TSOP (xbox 1.0) to have 3 bioses on it (1x512 and 2x256)? I looked for some tutorials about it, but i found only 2 or 4 way split... So maybe its impossible? tongue.gif

EDIT: sorry for double post :x

Edited by _Prude_, 04 February 2006 - 11:41 PM.


#3 Dreamcazman

Dreamcazman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,174 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 February 2006 - 12:58 AM

No you can't have a 3 way bios, it's either 2x521k or 4x256k.

You can have 3 hacked bios' plus the original if you want sleep.gif

#4 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 05 February 2006 - 02:04 AM

technically you could get 256+256+512 with a center off switch, but doing that would give you a frag in several switch positions so it wouldnt be a "clean" 3-way split

#5 Allegro1

Allegro1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 208 posts

Posted 06 February 2006 - 07:13 PM

You actually CAN run 2x256k + 1x512k BIOS's this way:

1 DPDT switch, call this SW1
1 SPDT switch or a second DPDT switch, just use one pole, call this SW2

SW1:
Common1 goes to A19
one side goes to Vcc, the other goes to GND

Common2 goes to A18
one side floats, the other side goes to the common of SW2

SW2:
one side of the switch goes to Vcc, the other goes to GND, the common is the one attached to SW1

This way, when SW1 switches A19 to Vcc, A18 floats and can do whatever the cpu calls out and you have a 512k BIOS.

When SW1 is grounded, A18 will either be driven to Vcc or GND depending on SW2 to swich either of the 256k BIOS's.

This way, there are no illegal states, and so long as you print up a legend and tape it to the box, you'll know what you are doing.

Good luck.



#6 sowa99

sowa99

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 February 2006 - 12:14 PM

QUOTE(Allegro1 @ Feb 6 2006, 07:20 PM) View Post

You actually CAN run 2x256k + 1x512k BIOS's this way:

1 DPDT switch, call this SW1
1 SPDT switch or a second DPDT switch, just use one pole, call this SW2

SW1:
Common1 goes to A19
one side goes to Vcc, the other goes to GND

Common2 goes to A18
one side floats, the other side goes to the common of SW2

SW2:
one side of the switch goes to Vcc, the other goes to GND, the common is the one attached to SW1

This way, when SW1 switches A19 to Vcc, A18 floats and can do whatever the cpu calls out and you have a 512k BIOS.

When SW1 is grounded, A18 will either be driven to Vcc or GND depending on SW2 to swich either of the 256k BIOS's.

This way, there are no illegal states, and so long as you print up a legend and tape it to the box, you'll know what you are doing.

Good luck.

Anybody can confirm that working fine?

Sorry for that but I have one broken xbox via tsop flash smile.gif

Edited by sowa99, 21 February 2006 - 12:16 PM.


#7 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 21 February 2006 - 06:16 PM

QUOTE(sowa99 @ Feb 21 2006, 05:21 AM) View Post

Anybody can confirm that working fine?

Sorry for that but I have one broken xbox via tsop flash smile.gif

i looked it over a few times and drew out a diagram, i cant see any reason why it wouldnt work

nice job

#8 sowa99

sowa99

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2006 - 11:13 PM

thanks for answer happy.gif

#9 cmiz

cmiz

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 03 March 2006 - 09:52 AM

yeah, i've done it before. it's kind of a hackish setup, but if it's what you're looking for then it'll get the job done...

it's essentially like doing a 4-way split but having the ability to disconnect either a18 or a19 completely which makes it a 2-way (512) split. i think my setup was slightly different than sowa99's, but the premise works.

Edited by cmiz, 03 March 2006 - 09:57 AM.


#10 _Prude_

_Prude_

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 March 2006 - 06:24 PM

I can`t flash the 512kb bank with 512 bios, it crashes in the middle of flashing blink.gif It goes only with 256kb. Everything is soldered as it should be... uhmm So I have now triple bios with 3 256 bioses dry.gif

What`s wrong? huh.gif






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users