Jump to content


Photo

Hardrive Lock/unlock


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:10 PM

Whats the actual difference when a hardrive is locked and when one is unlocked, what is actually noticable? If its locked can you still put files and such on and off it?

#2 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:15 PM

If your mod is on, there is no noticeable difference. If you never plan on disabling your mod, you may as well leave it unlocked in case your mobo craps out.

However, if you intend to play on Live or are considering disabling your mod for whatever reason, you should lock your HDD. Disabling your mod makes the OEM BIOS active. This BIOS will not read your drive unless it is locked. When the drive is locked, it will read everything normally except for the F partition, which will not by recognized. When your drive is locked, you should also maintain the xboxdash/evoxdash filename scheme.

#3 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:24 PM

Whats A mobo ?? Motherboard?

#4 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:28 PM

Heh, yeah. Sorry, I use these abbreviations without even thinking about it.

Note to self: no abbreviations in the Newbie Chat forum.

#5 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:45 PM

So if i Lock my hardrive can I still do the same things with the modchip even if my hardrive was unlocked? LIke what would I lose if I locked my hardrive?

#6 silentkiller

silentkiller

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Location:Chantilly, VA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:48 PM

nothing if the mod is on

if the mod is off, the xbox won't recognize it

Edited by silentkiller, 25 April 2003 - 09:49 PM.


#7 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:52 PM

why wouldnt everyone lock there hardrive then?

#8 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE (silentkiller @ Apr 25 2003, 05:48 PM)
nothing if the mod is on

if the mod is off, the xbox won't recognize it

If the mod is off, the Xbox WILL recognize a locked HDD and ONLY a locked HDD.

#9 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 09:55 PM

QUOTE (NightStalker778987 @ Apr 25 2003, 05:52 PM)
why wouldnt everyone lock there hardrive then?

1) Not every HDD can be locked.
2) It can only be unlocked from that Xbox (generally)
3) It won't function properly in a PC while locked
4) Some people are just lazy...

#10 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:02 PM

Aight So if I wanna play life I have to Lock my hardrive, but even with it locked I can still run the evox dash?

#11 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:06 PM

Correct. You could be sitting there with the mod on, running your EvoX dash, and playing all of your 120GB of backups one moment. You could disable your mod the cycle your power, and the next moment you'd be sitting at the MS dash, apparently with an 8GB hard drive, and no F drive.

Bear in mind you need the right configuration for this, which is still simple. I don't want you think it's all automatic when locking the HD.

#12 NightStalker778987

NightStalker778987

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:12 PM

So when my hardrive is locked will my Modchip still big up the F partition?? Casue isn't that the partition where you put all ur files?

#13 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:16 PM

Yes, this partition will only be visible when the mod chip is on. The hard drive itself is unaffected and you will not lose any data when you disable the mod chip and can no longer see the drive.

#14 ryb2001

ryb2001

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:17 PM

and on a related note im thinkin of buying a 80gb or 120gb hard drive soon and i wanted to know how exactly do you "lock" a hard drive, is it like this as default or not? is it just a switch or..........

you get my point..

#15 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 April 2003 - 10:24 PM

Aftermarket hard drives are unlocked by default. They can be locked by software. I would highly recommend ConfigMagic for this task.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users