• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 stlbadger

stlbadger

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 05:56 AM

ok, im a noob here so bare with me. about a year ago, a heavy object fell on my xbox on the hard drive side of the box. (its a halo xbox if that matters at all) so, i power on my box, on the MS dash, when i go to my memory or my music, i get the error message 21. and then, i go to my xbox live dash, and enter my friends list, the same thing happens. but, i can still play games. i think i have to get a new hard drive. i dont know. HELP!

#2 Cappi

Cappi

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Interests:Modding the crap out of xbox's
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 February 2006 - 06:06 AM

Sounds like your hd is on its way out (same thing happened to me but it was a controller that fell onto the hd). Buy a new one and install it before it completley goes out. Softmod it and back up the c/e partitions and eeprom, then use xboxhdm to format, buld, then lock the hd. Usually an error 21 means a missing or corrupted dash file, but since your box isnt modded I would think it was the hd going, and since a heavy object fell on it. If you want I can softmod it and install a new hard drive for a good price. pm me if your interested.

Edited by Cappi, 20 February 2006 - 06:11 AM.

#3 stlbadger

stlbadger

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 06:10 AM

whats c/e partitions and eeprom? like i said im a noob. sorry. how am i supposed to back the stuff up if i cant install evox and get my IP to FTP?

#4 Cappi

Cappi

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 06:12 AM

You must first softmod your xbox, to gain ftp access

Edited by Cappi, 20 February 2006 - 06:12 AM.

#5 stlbadger

stlbadger

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 06:15 AM